We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Boutique Hotel Palacio
Ranked #14 of 79 Hotels in Santo Domingo
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Wonderful stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2013

Stayed at this hotel on September 20th, and we were treated like royalty. The front desk was very hrlpful, whether looking for a restaurant, church, or the bus terminus. It is ideally located in the Colonial Zone, in the tourtist area, which is full of history. Would recommend this hotel to all.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sylvio D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joachim W, Manager at Boutique Hotel Palacio, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Dear guest;

Thank you for your nice review. We do our best to satisfy our guests and it is even better if we exceed their expectations. Hope to welcome you soon again,

Rosemary de Leon E.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

669 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    349
    227
    69
    19
    5
See reviews for
119
282
93
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Daytona Beach, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2013

As a middle of the road traveler looking for the best deal WITH amenities, this is it!
From the moment I walked through the door, I knew this place was special. The interior courtyards are spellbinding. Our room was large with great AC and the bath was updated in marble and had plenty of hot water. Just outside our door was a "living room" with It's own library. Fascinating portraits of early explorers grace all the walls.

The free breakfast buffet from 7 - 10 was never-ending, with special orders at no extra cost.
After an easy walk to all the local attractions (including the malecon) it was great to come home and lay out by the roof top pool.

Some of the front desk seemed a little less used to travelers questions and needs, but it was made up by the security guys who always had an answer and a smile!

I am going back in February!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank muddcat2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joachim W, Manager at Boutique Hotel Palacio, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for such a lovely review of the hotel, we feel very satisfied with our work when we receive such feedback. we are pleased that you felt good in our hotel and can not wait to see you again here to continue offering our best service.

Best regards,

Rosemary de Leon E.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013

We stayed at Boutique Hotel Palacio twice, the night of our arrival and night before our departure. Location is great, 1 block from primary pedestrian street in the Colonial Zone. Secure parking was included for our rental car. Rooftop pool was a pleasant surprise. Close to restaurants and nightlife. We had one issue: we booked on Hotels.com and were supposed to get free breakfast. No issue 1st stay, but on 2nd stay they charged us separately for breakfast. I disputed the charge at the front desk, but they still charged me. I had planned on emailing the manager when I got home, but by the time I got home I had an email from the manager apologizing and offering a refund. They mailed me a check for a refund! Great service by the front desk clerk to be proactive and take it up with the manager.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KIPWINDIES
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joachim W, Manager at Boutique Hotel Palacio, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Dear guest:

We appreciate your taking the time to write to us.
We feel satisfied that you calificate to us as Charming hotel and to highlight a few feature like the Rooftop pool was a pleasant surprise for you.
Finally we pleased have read about your good experience and we invite you to coming back again for the next visit planned to Santo Domingo.

Best regards,

Rosemary de Leon E.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013

Comfortable rooms, clean facilities with amenities such as indoor gym; pool & Jacuzzi. Excellent location, in the heart of Santo Domingo. Walk-in distance from historic points of interest, market place, pubs & restaurants.
The hotel staff is friendly and professional, and will make sure you have a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ELI B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joachim W, Manager at Boutique Hotel Palacio, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Dear guest:

Thank for taking your precious time to comment about our hotel.
We are very pleased that you feel good in our hotel, we feel proud of our effort to maintain quality in our services and facilities.
We are waiting for your next visit to Santo Domingo to continue as usual, provides a good service.

Best Regards

Rosemary de Leon E.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ELK GROVE
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2013

The hotel has large rooms, and a nice breakfast. The hotel is in the colonial area, and faces ugly buildings, with no ocean view. At night security padlocks the front door to keep street people out. The hotel is a long walk to the malecon. The reception staff are friendly, but not very competent when it comes to checking out with a credit card. The staff uses old credit card machines, and you need to double check your bill. For just about the same amount of money you can stay at the Hotel Napolitano with an ocean view.

Room Tip: No ocean views...Try the Hotel Napolitano, which is close with an ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lawrence C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joachim W, Manager at Boutique Hotel Palacio, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Dear Guest:

Thank you for the review about our hotel and voicing your opinion. At Hotel Palacio, we believe that such reviews are an excellent way to avoid misunderstandings.

We understand that everybody has different tastes for hotel locations, however, we wish to emphasize that our hotel is located in the heart of the old buildings in the Colonial city. This location is also the centre for all sorts of entertainment such as pubs, bars, lounges, restaurants and of course, many historically significant buildings and places from the new world.

The Malecon does have many new high rise hotels, discotheques and casinos. But being far away from the major tourist attractions of the historic colonial city you may have to spend quite a lot on expensive taxis. Most of the clients we get stay with us exclusively to see the old Colonial city.

As for your remarks about the old credit card machines, there are only two service providers who work for all the banks and provide these machines. They are certainly new, but sometimes they have their moments and get frozen. We understand that you were in a hurry and were upset that we asked you for a moment longer. We assure you that there was no overcharging, on the contrary, the machine was not charging your extra expenses while we tried to charge again. In fact, we decided not to charge your extra charges to avoid more delay for you.

However we are glad to hear that you reviewed our property as nice hotel. We once again thank you for staying with us.

Best regards,

Rosemary de Leon E.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2013

We arrived for a long Labor Day weekend, frazzled from 20 hours of air travel to a muggy evening in Santo Domingo. The moment we entered the Hotel at 11pm we were greeted like old friends and treated like Pashas during our 4-night stay. We opted for a '3 Crown' room which was quite roomy and cooled before our arrival, a much-appreciated amenity. The cost for a double was about $120/night and a great value in our opinion.
The tranquil location in the Historic and Picturesque Zona Colonial was perfect as a staging spot to the key points of interest, the oldest structures in the New World, shopping, dining, people watching options.
I found the included breakfast in a shaded and scenic patio excellent, with options tasty and varied and the chef offering to make special orders. The hotel has a number of indoor and out options for quiet reflection in shady and well-appointed nooks and arbors and a small but private pool on the roof for sun worshiping or a quick dip. The bathroom and shower was large, very modern and hot water was immediate at all times.
The staff was helpful in negotiating to reduce cab fares, confirming other travel arrangements. If we return to Santo Domingo, this will be our headquarters again.

Room Tip: Ours, 142 was near-perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank norm159
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joachim W, Manager at Boutique Hotel Palacio, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear guest:

Thank you very much for taking your time to comment us.
We like to read about our guest the wonderful experience they had.
Our staff will feel gratefull knowing you had a memorable stay and you share it.
We hope to be the opcion for your next visit to Santo Domingo.

Warming regards,

Rosemary de Leon E.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puerto Plata, Dominican Republic
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2013

I stayed in this hotel before, it was comfortable and somewhat austere. This time the service was awful, prices had been increased, and contrary to the majority of Santo Domingo hotels, breakfast was not free anymore. I arrived at the desk, was surprised by the new prices, I had seen lower prices on Internet, the receptionist assured me the prices were the same than on the Internet. First lie!! I took the room anyway because I had an urgent appointment. I wanted to check the prices on Internet, but the Wifi was not functionning, pages were not loading. I told to the receptionist. They sent somebody to "fix" it, when I came back same thing, 5 minutes to load a page, finally I got the price on Internet, it was much lower. They told me it was because the taxes were not added. I checked it. Second lie!! They told me the Internet had been checked and was working perfectly. Third lie!! I did quit with the Internet access problem after they told me that anyway they were not charging for it! They wanted me to show them the prices on Internet. It seems they don't know how to access Priceline! When I left I finally showed them the prices on my laptop. They need all the help they can get! Then they told me you cannot get those prices if you reserve the same day. Fourth lie!! I checked it afterward. The air conditioning in the room was too cold, the control did not work. The only way was to shut it taking out the card next to the door, but this shuts also all the electricity in the room. No TV, no telephone, etc. Finally They accepted to reduce th price, because they were other customers at the desk when I was leaving and I was going to make a scandal What an aweul experience.

Dominican are generally very friendly and amiable, not at the Palacio. the receptionists don't seem to know the meaning of the word courtesy, never say thank you, and keep a very unfriendly face most of the time. They did not even say a word when I left after paying my bil, like I did not existed. I live in this country, it was the first time I was treated like this by dominicans.

NOT RECOMMENDED!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joachim W, Manager at Boutique Hotel Palacio, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Dear Guest:

This is the Manager of Hotel Palacio responding to your review. During your stay, I was informed by two of my front desk employees that you did not accept your room rate and you had Internet connectivity issues.

Let me address the issue of room rates first. Apart from the fact that the room rates keep increasing from time to time, there is also the factor of currency conversion from USD to RDS. As you are living in the RD, you would have naturally calculated the room rate in RDS and it would have seemed a little expensive when there was an increase in the value of USD.

You may find special offers on websites such as Google, Pricelines etc. The discounted rates on these sites are managed by the online agencies with our acceptance. These rates are most certainly not made available to walk-in guests which is the normal business practice of any hotel. Please note that the discounted rates made available by the online agencies are subject to several factors such as early bookings and prepaid bookings that are usually non-refundable. As for the front desk employees’ response to your request for reduction in room rate, she was merely discharging his duty by following the rates available on our website as she is not authorised to offer any discounts to customers. I would also like to add that if you wanted a room at a lower cost, there were other rooms available at cheaper rates.

Secondly, as for the Internet connectivity, our several attempts to show to you that the Internet was working properly failed because you refused to let us enter your room. In fact, at one such instant, I was personally outside your door, along with my technician, to be 100 % sure that you get the best service and yet did not get a chance to show you on a laptop that the Internet was working fine.
For future bookings, please check out the various websites to find specials.

Finally we hope you'll visit again.

Best regards,

Joachim Wagner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santo Domingo hotels
Zona Colonial
Hodelpa Nicolas de Ovando
Hodelpa Nicolas de Ovando
#12 of 79 in Santo Domingo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 758 reviews
Crowne Plaza Santo Domingo
#8 of 79 in Santo Domingo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 857 reviews
Zona Colonial
El Beaterio Casa Museo
El Beaterio Casa Museo
#11 of 79 in Santo Domingo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Radisson Hotel Santo Domingo
#15 of 79 in Santo Domingo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 553 reviews
Billini Hotel
#19 of 79 in Santo Domingo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boutique Hotel Palacio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boutique Hotel Palacio

Property: Boutique Hotel Palacio
Address: Calle Duarte 106 | Colonial City, Santo Domingo 10211, Dominican Republic
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Santo Domingo Province > Santo Domingo
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Santo Domingo
#7 Best Value Hotel in Santo Domingo
#9 Family Hotel in Santo Domingo
#17 Business Hotel in Santo Domingo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Boutique Hotel Palacio 3.5*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Palacio, located only two blocks from the Cathedral Primada of America and right in the center of all historical and cultural attractions of the first city ever built in the New World. The monuments, museums, classical and modern art exhibits and concerts will add interest to your stay in this magical city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Boutique Hotel Palacio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palacio Hotel Santo Domingo
Palacio Santo Domingo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing