We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great deal, lovely hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Boutique Hotel Palacio

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Boutique Hotel Palacio
Ranked #9 of 79 Hotels in Santo Domingo
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great deal, lovely hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed just one night here on our way back through Santo Domingo. A friend recommended it and we booked it the same day we arrived. It was a great deal. Our room was right off the main floor patio/restaurant which was convenient for us. We had dinner there and breakfast the next day was WONDERFUL and included. I thought the room we had (which was the cheapest one available) was fantastic - double sinks, large shower and a spacious room!!! The staff was very friendly and helpful - even helping my boyfriend change our flat tire the next day. I will definitely stay here again when in the capital. The restaurant menu had food for all appetites - my boyfriend is Dominican so he was thrilled to get his rice and beans and I was happy to have some pasta! :)

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KatyBell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joachim W, Manager at Boutique Hotel Palacio, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your comment, is very satisfying to know that your visit was memorable for you, thank you for appreciating our work.
we wait to see you again here to continue offering our best service.
Best Regards,

Rosemary de Leon E.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

601 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    321
    201
    59
    16
    4
See reviews for
106
254
84
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

For our Honeymoon in the Dominican Republic my husband and I enjoyed a night at Hotel Palacio while exploring Santo Domingo! In the middle of the hustle of the busy city this quaint and beautiful hotel is the perfect hidden gem! We were a little scared to venture out at night so we were very pleased to have an amazing meal from their small restaurant! We had the pleasure of direct service from the hotel Chef Rodrigo. His food was amazing and we are positive we will see him on the travel and/or cooking channel any day now! We sat out in the courtyard and went through 2 bottles of wine for over 2 hours enjoying the hotel's atmosphere and savoring Rodrigo's amazing cooking! The room was clean modern and bed was very comfortable! 5 stars in my book! Staff was extremely friendly and delightful! We will be back!

Room Tip: All the rooms are great but suggest getting a room away from the street because it can get noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KariTay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joachim W, Manager at Boutique Hotel Palacio, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for such a lovely review of the hotel, we feel very satisfied with our work, when we receive such feedback. we are pleased that you felt good in our hotel .
we can not wait to see you again here to continue offering our best service.

Best regards,

Rosemary de Leon E.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitchener, Canada
Level Contributor
78 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

This hotel is perfect from the house keeping staff, front desk, breakfast, to the owners. It is located just off the conde pedesterian street with all it's restaurants and historic area's. I walked the complete area without any concerns for safety.

Room Tip: Rooms on the second floor such as 140 have a large interior patio
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Max8219
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joachim W, Manager at Boutique Hotel Palacio, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much, the reception staff, all our estaff and our manager is very happy for your comment, thank you for appreciating our work.

Best Regards,

Rosemary de Leon E.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ny, ny
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

lovely hotel, clean rooms, good food, friendly staff, great location. nice rooftop pool with great views. stayed 3 nights with a group of friends for a wedding and we all had a great time. highly recommend for a trip to santo domingo.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank toaster724
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joachim W, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Boutique Hotel Palacio, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking your time to write a hotel review, we are very pleased with our effort to maintain our quality of service because our reward will always be the fact that you leave happy and want to return.

Best Regards,

Bianka Cruz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012 via mobile

This is a beautiful property. I only stayed one night and did not take complete advantage of the facility but had an extremely comfortable stay (great hot shower!), staff was friendly, and the included breakfast was good.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank islandgirl094
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joachim W, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Boutique Hotel Palacio, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking your time to write a hotel review, we are very pleased with our effort to maintain our quality of service because our reward will always be the fact that you leave happy and want to return.

Best Regards,

Bianka Cruz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Palm Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Beautiful hotel in the heart of the Colonial Zone. Excellent rates, good food, and a friendly and courteous staff that goes out of their way to make sure you hav an enjoyable stay. I am definitely going back!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank timothy d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joachim W, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Boutique Hotel Palacio, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Dear Guests,

Thank you very much for such a lovely review of the hotel, we feel very satisfied with our work, when we receive such feedback. we are pleased that you felt good in our hotel .

we can not wait to see you again here to continue offering our best service.

Best regards,

Bianka Cruz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

I have traveled widely and this is the best reception staff encountered. My spotlight is on Ruth, Bianka and Rosemary who arranged for taxi's, negotiated fares, gave drivers precise directions and a host of requests for me without hesitation and always with a smile. Charming owners and a helpful staff greet you daily with a smile and hello. Great nearby restaurant recommendations.
This boutique hotel in the heart of the zona colonial has character, charm and historic pedigree. Further this hotel does NOT suffer by comparison to the Nicolas de Ovando, it is better!! Its the small bar, courtyards and other nook and crannies. Even the best properties have developmental needs and here it is housekeeping which could move from very good to excellent with closer inspection of subtleties. Breakfast can be made to order and is very good. I missed oatmeal!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ray122569
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joachim W, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Boutique Hotel Palacio, responded to this review, October 14, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much, the reception staff, all our estaff and our manager is very happy for your comment, thank you for appreciating our work.
As you highlight,
Hotel Palacio was a property of Buenaventura Beaz, who was President of the Dominican Republic several times during the 20th century. This ex-palace now features 44 luxurios rooms that have been rebuilt for the first time (1990-1992) and tastefully decorated, to offer all our guests a pleasant stay at the Dominican Republic.

thatnks again we are waiting on your next visit, to make you feel good as usual.


Best regards,


Bianka Cruz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santo Domingo hotels
Zona Colonial
Hodelpa Nicolas de Ovando
Hodelpa Nicolas de Ovando
#12 of 79 in Santo Domingo
4.5 of 5 stars 690 reviews
Zona Colonial
El Beaterio Casa Museo
El Beaterio Casa Museo
#11 of 79 in Santo Domingo
4.5 of 5 stars 240 reviews
Zona Colonial
Hotel Conde de Penalba
Hotel Conde de Penalba
#21 of 79 in Santo Domingo
4.0 of 5 stars 137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
JW Marriott Hotel Santo Domingo
#1 of 79 in Santo Domingo
5.0 of 5 stars 685 reviews
Billini Hotel
#16 of 79 in Santo Domingo
4.5 of 5 stars 175 reviews
Crowne Plaza Santo Domingo
#8 of 79 in Santo Domingo
4.5 of 5 stars 697 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boutique Hotel Palacio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boutique Hotel Palacio

Property: Boutique Hotel Palacio
Address: Calle Duarte 106 | Colonial City, Santo Domingo 10211, Dominican Republic
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Santo Domingo Province > Santo Domingo
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Santo Domingo
#7 Best Value Hotel in Santo Domingo
#9 Family Hotel in Santo Domingo
#17 Business Hotel in Santo Domingo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Boutique Hotel Palacio 3.5*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Palacio, located only two blocks from the Cathedral Primada of America and right in the center of all historical and cultural attractions of the first city ever built in the New World. The monuments, museums, classical and modern art exhibits and concerts will add interest to your stay in this magical city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Boutique Hotel Palacio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palacio Hotel Santo Domingo
Palacio Santo Domingo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing