We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice and Cozy Hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Boutique Hotel Palacio
Ranked #14 of 79 Hotels in Santo Domingo
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Nice and Cozy Hotel!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2012

My husband and I stayed at this hotel from dec 28-jan 1 celebrating our anniversary. If u are looking for the hilton please go elsewhere. This hotel gives you a warm and welcoming feeling. We had a few problems- 1. Our jacuzzi was not working properly 2. Noise from the street 3. No wash cloths only hand towels. The staff was GREAT! We had a problem with noise the first night (side street there are apts across from hotel) and we wanted to change rooms and the overnight clerk had no clue what I was saying. My spanish is next to none so that was very frustrating. The next day was better. The hostess spoke with the person causing the noise and we did not have any problems the rest of our stay. Wow can we say customer satisfaction!!! Another hostess saw us in the city (off duty) recognized us and asked if we were ok and if we needed assistance with anything. They made our first stay in the DR an amazing one! Even if the city got overwhelming we knew we could retreat to the safe comfort zone aka hotel palacio. Food was ok. We had the senior suite so of course the room was lovely and spacious. Housekeeping was great nothing went missing and they cleaned promptly and efficiently. Give them a chance and you won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank babygirl715
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelPalacio0, Guest Relations Manager at Boutique Hotel Palacio, responded to this review, February 14, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for you comments ,about the noise, in santo domingo in christmas is a happy city so that no depend of us cause is uncontrollable hight decibels of noise to express our happiness.Our rooms are prepared against the noise, even so the noise comes in this time of the year.
We have wash cloths in all our superior rooms and suites so was a coincidence that you dont find it we apolize you for all inconvenience and thank you for you other good coments that make us proud of keep our service and makes us continue to grow
we are glad you become part of our guests.... we are waiting on your next visit to Santo Domingo to follow as usual providing you a good service.


Best regards,

Bianka Cruz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

669 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    349
    227
    69
    19
    5
See reviews for
119
282
93
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2012

Everytime I go to the Dominican Republic I stay at Hotel Palacio. It's a very convinient hotel in the Colonial Zone, close to everything. The staff is very friendly and professional. I go to DR every year and stay at this hotel... I really recommend it.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank antifaz144
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelPalacio0, Guest Relations Manager at Boutique Hotel Palacio, responded to this review, February 14, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for you comments , we are glad you become part of our guests.... we are waiting on your next visit to Santo Domingo to follow as usual providing you a good service.

My best regards,

Bianka Cruz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dania Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2011

Although we were in Santo Domingo over the Easter holiday and many places were closed, we had an abolutely wonderful weekend there! Starting with Hotel Palacio..... We did our feeble-best with Spanish and they reciprocated with being warm and gracious hosts. The layout of the hotel provides wonderful little nooks that are charming and relaxing. The location is perfect - just a couple blocks from the main pedestrian street and maybe ten or so blocks from the restaurants on the malecon (which we found to be an easy & safe walk at night). .. Food ..... The food on the malecon was wonderful - Pat n' Palo exceeded our expectations for fresh seafood. And the little square at the river-side end of the pedestrian walkway had several fun places... a good breakfast joint on the western corner and a terrific bar/restaurant on the eastern corner that had awesome curry fish... and terrific wait-staff. .. If you have time, hire a driver and drive through the main part of town & see the government buildings - very, very nice! .. We would go back to Santo Domingo.... anytime, anyday, anyway! .. And would definitely return to Hotel Palacio---- Thank you!

Room Tip: Get the Senior Suite - TERRIFIC
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank C S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelPalacio0, Guest Relations Manager at Boutique Hotel Palacio, responded to this review, February 9, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for you comments , we are glad you become part of our guests.... we are waiting on your next visit to Santo Domingo to follow as usual providing you a good service.

My best regards,

Bianka Cruz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 24, 2011

We stayed at the Palacio on 12/21/11 during an overnight trip via rental car from Punta Cana. We selected the Palacio based on favorable reviews and were not disappointed. Great central location within easy walking distance of all the main points of interest made for a great home base and allowed easy explorations during our short stay. Also really appreciated the free off-street parking - one less thing to figure out after the crazy drive from PC. Also must mention the very friendly and helpful staff. Highly recomend!

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dheigel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macungie, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
92 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2011

Once again our stay at Hotel Palacio was like going home. ... The peaceful, restful courtyard is beyond compare. The staff is like family. Dona Carmen the Housekeeping Director is a consummate professional. Front desk Managers Rosemary, Bianca, and others are the sweetest, warmest people you could imagine. Julio the daytime 'jack-of-all-trades' front door person is fantastic. The kitchen staff warm and friendly. The owner George is hands-on and warm, and friendly. "Nana" (Evelyn) the night-time room service girl is as sweet as can be. PLEASE order room service from her (5:00 pm arrival), she works only for tips.

The hotel itself: This time around we stayed in room number #125. Clean, spacious, comfortable and a bargain at the price. The bathroom is huge with a great shower. The outside of the room patio area with, table and chairs is a great place for a cool drink or, morning coffee.

The rooftop pool is the only one of its kind in 'La Zona', and rarely used. All in all, this small, intimate hotel is a gem. An Oasis in an otherwise hectic area.

For more information, feel free to contact me.

Room Tip: There is a very small basic room on the 3rd floor right-rear that I do not recommend. The room itsel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ANTONIO L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelPalacio0, Guest Relations Manager at Boutique Hotel Palacio, responded to this review, February 9, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for you comments , we are glad you become part of our guests.... we are waiting on your next visit to Santo Domingo to follow as usual providing you a good service.

My best regards,

Bianka Cruz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2011

We stayed here on the last day of our travel, right before heading to the airport. I wish I would've known in advance how much we would've liked it. We would have stayed there more than one night. It was close to everything! We were just a block away from shopping, grocery store, restaurants, and a couple blocks away from Mercado Modelo, museums, and historic attractions. Honestly, the streets surrounding the Hotel were full of trash, but once you step foot inside the hotel you would never know it. The rooms and beds are so comfortable, the bathroom feels luxurious compared to many other hotels in the DR. The staff are very polite and helpful. Its probably the only hotel I was able to FULLY relax in.

More info not related to hotel:
P.S.-- Shopping advice- even though you get approached alot by aggressive vendors inside Mercado Modelo- you can get souvenirs for SO much cheaper. I wish I'd waited and bought alot of things there.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Teresa64151
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelPalacio0, Guest Relations Manager at Boutique Hotel Palacio, responded to this review, February 23, 2012
Dear Guests

Thank you very much for you comments ,we are very happy that you feel good in our hotel ,it makes us feel proud of our effort to maintain quality in our services and facilities, we are waiting on your next visit to Santo Domingo to follow as usual providing you a good service.

My best regards,

Bianka Cruz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
45 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2011

Stayed for 3 nights this past week and had lots of fun in Santo Domingo

Pros

Easy to get to; very nicely & conveniently located - two small blocks from Cathedral Santa Maria la Menor (first built church in the Americas & where Christopher Columbus' bones where said to be discovered); 5-10minute walking distance to major sites in the Colonial Zone. A grocery store located 50 yards away. Not expensive (about $105 USD per night w/ breakfast included); breakfast consists of buffet - cooks can make you eggs the way you want it; cereal; breads; hams; cheeses; orange juice, milk and fruit. Restaurant staff very friendly and polite. Rooms spacious, nice working AC, nice bathrooms w/ hot cold water.

Cons

Beds are kind of old as are sheets (although clean); small television; tiny safety box; old closets; saw a huge roach there!! front desk staff not friendly; front desk never had local currency to exchange (from USD to the Peso); elevator did not work (had to carry my bags up); WIFI is promised to work in rooms but this never happened - you had to go out & sit on the tables.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chango007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelPalacio0, Guest Relations Manager at Boutique Hotel Palacio, responded to this review, December 4, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thanks for your comments both positive and negative. so I can understand you chose one of the cheapest Rooms, which is the Travel Studio and actually some of it are with small television that we are changing.
Almario As you understand is a colonial style hotel and many of them are reply of imobilíario of colonial times and look old,
About the elevator we are sorry, can not justify but are mechanical devices that once may have failures.
In relation to receptionist we will like to know who is it was because in general our estaff is very nice to the guests, that could be a training and has not enough the necessary practice yet. for that we apologize for all the inconvenience, for you next visit to our hotel we want to offer you a standard room, superior room or a suite and we will give you a good price.

Best regards, and merry chritsmas!!

Bianka Cruz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santo Domingo hotels
Zona Colonial
Hodelpa Nicolas de Ovando
Hodelpa Nicolas de Ovando
#12 of 79 in Santo Domingo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 758 reviews
Crowne Plaza Santo Domingo
#8 of 79 in Santo Domingo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 857 reviews
Zona Colonial
El Beaterio Casa Museo
El Beaterio Casa Museo
#11 of 79 in Santo Domingo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Radisson Hotel Santo Domingo
#15 of 79 in Santo Domingo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 553 reviews
Billini Hotel
#19 of 79 in Santo Domingo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boutique Hotel Palacio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boutique Hotel Palacio

Property: Boutique Hotel Palacio
Address: Calle Duarte 106 | Colonial City, Santo Domingo 10211, Dominican Republic
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Santo Domingo Province > Santo Domingo
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Santo Domingo
#7 Best Value Hotel in Santo Domingo
#9 Family Hotel in Santo Domingo
#17 Business Hotel in Santo Domingo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Boutique Hotel Palacio 3.5*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Palacio, located only two blocks from the Cathedral Primada of America and right in the center of all historical and cultural attractions of the first city ever built in the New World. The monuments, museums, classical and modern art exhibits and concerts will add interest to your stay in this magical city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Boutique Hotel Palacio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palacio Hotel Santo Domingo
Palacio Santo Domingo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing