We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Incredible Hotel....we will always stay here!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Boutique Hotel Palacio

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Boutique Hotel Palacio
Ranked #12 of 79 Hotels in Santo Domingo
Certificate of Excellence
Ponce PR
Level Contributor
48 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Incredible Hotel....we will always stay here!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2011

Hotel Palacio is an incrediblly charming hotel! Just a short drive from the airport too! A little difficult to find if its your first time in the area...as Zona Colonial has lots of one way streets! Get yourself a good map of the streets and you'll do fine. We stayed our first night at Hotel Palacio, then travelled north to Samana, and stayed our last night back at Hotel Palacio! The rooms were spotless and wonderful! A totally refurbished hotel with lots of quaint interior "courtyard" in which to relax and enjoy. Wonderful breakfast! Can't beat the location! Hotel is within walking distance to all the wonderful historical sites in the Zona Colonial! Everything...restaurants...from Hard Rock Cafe to some very exquisite fine dining....vendors, shopping, historical plazas, wonderful parks, historical buildings and enourmous amounts of historical information and sites all within walking distance! Oh...and one thing that doesn't seem to be mentioned anywhere...China Town!! just two blocks away! The pool is located on the top of the building and they also have a gym and sauna! Just a great place to stay! We will definately stay here again when visiting the DR!!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a veranda.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PilarebPonce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelPalacio0, Guest Relations Manager at Boutique Hotel Palacio, responded to this review, July 26, 2011
Thanks for your comment, we are happy to have you as our guests and hope to see again to continue offering the best service and the conformity

Best Regards


Bianka Cruz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

657 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    343
    225
    66
    19
    4
See reviews for
118
277
91
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2011

The Hotel Palacio is beautiful, quiet oasis in the perfect location. The breakfast was the best I had on my trip, the pool was great, everything was perfect!

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mimi1791
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelPalacio0, Guest Relations Manager at Boutique Hotel Palacio, responded to this review, July 26, 2011
Thanks for your comment, we are happy to have you as our guests and hope to see again to continue offering the best service and the conformity

Best Regards


Bianka Cruz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ridgefield, New Jersey
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2011

very attentive service, wonderful, clean rooms right in the middle of tha zona colonial

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank calbokool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joachim W, Manager at Boutique Hotel Palacio, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Dear guest:

Thanks for your comment, we are glad to have you as our guests and hope to see you again to continue offering the best service.

Best Regards

Rosemary de Leon E.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruges, Belgium
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2011

I have been to this small hotel many times and I keep going back. It offers excellent value in the heart of Santo Domingo's old quarter.
It is located within walking distance of all sights in the Zona Colonial.
Rooms in this charming old colonial mansion are all somewhat different in shape, but all are spacious, beautifully decorated, with typical high ceilings and big chandeliers. Bathrooms are clean and spacious with big mirrors. Closets from sufficient to large. TV, free Wifi, A/C, minibar, table and desk.
Service at reception, from porters, cleaning ladies is very friendly and helpful.
Rooftop swimming pool is a plus as is the gym.
There is an indoor parking facility if you have a rental car which is handy (difficult to find parking space in the zona colonial) and safe (not advisable to leave a nice car outside at night).
Breakfast, included in the room price, is good although the breakfast room is a bit cramped. Alternatively you can have your breakfast outside in the beautiful patio but I found it often too hot there to enjoy.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bartolomeo1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2011

Although not much of a looker from the street, the hotel once inside was absolutely teeming with old-world charm. Our room, although up a slightly steep stairwell, was immaculate, the bathroom was surprisingly large, the A/C cold, and the location made walking to the historic sites very easy.

The only downside would be that the desk receptionist gave recommendations to restaurants that were probably over-priced and geared towards tourists. So if you want simple, cheap, authentic Dominican food don't go with what they tell you. Also, I believe I saw complimentary airport shuttle somewhere on a website when it was in fact $35 taxi ride to the airport. Other than that-- would definitely stay here again!

Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Niki W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2011

The Hotel Palacio was an excellent value for the price. The rooms are comfortable and clean, and the staff was professional and courteous. Beginning with a first class breakfast, a business traveler has the combined convenience of being centrally located to commercial areas, as well as being one block away from Calle Conde, a tourist destination in the Colonial District of Santo Domingo. There you will find shopping, restaurants and entertainment. The unique Spanish style inner courtyard, ample greenery, and many patio tables throughout the hotel, make this a most pleasant and unique place for the business traveler to choose as his base for business stays.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank alguibert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joachim W, Manager at Boutique Hotel Palacio, responded to this review, May 30, 2016
Dear guest:

Thank you so much for your wonderful review! We are so happy you enjoyed your stay. Our team will be so glad to know they made your visit special. It is truly our number one goal to ensure your satisfaction and we sincerely look forward to seeing you again when your travels bring you back to Santo Domingo!
Warm regards,

Rosemary de Leon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2011

I been visiting Santo Domingo for over 5 years and use to stay at another hotel until one visit I walked by this boutique hotel, Hotel Palacio, and discovered this hidden gem in the middle of Colonial Zone. It has become my new home for my visits to Santo Domingo. The spacious rooms (and bathroom) and the uniqueness of being in a colonial buiding is just a small part that makes this hotel worth it. The staff is nice and very helpful and the best secret is the hidden rooftop pool that you can't find in any other hotel in the Colonial Zone....and over the years I've tried about all the hotels in the area. This one is my favorite...I guess that's why I return about every 4/5months to get away from my busy NYC life!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rodhorton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelPalacio0, Guest Relations Manager at Boutique Hotel Palacio, responded to this review, May 18, 2011
We thank you for your comments glad you are part of our family guests. want to see you back soon.

Bianka Cruz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santo Domingo hotels
Zona Colonial
Hodelpa Nicolas de Ovando
Hodelpa Nicolas de Ovando
#11 of 79 in Santo Domingo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 750 reviews
Crowne Plaza Santo Domingo
#8 of 79 in Santo Domingo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 833 reviews
Radisson Hotel Santo Domingo
#15 of 79 in Santo Domingo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 540 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Zona Colonial
El Beaterio Casa Museo
El Beaterio Casa Museo
#13 of 79 in Santo Domingo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
Hotel Villa Colonial
#16 of 79 in Santo Domingo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boutique Hotel Palacio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boutique Hotel Palacio

Property: Boutique Hotel Palacio
Address: Calle Duarte 106 | Colonial City, Santo Domingo 10211, Dominican Republic
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Santo Domingo Province > Santo Domingo
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Santo Domingo
#7 Best Value Hotel in Santo Domingo
#9 Family Hotel in Santo Domingo
#17 Business Hotel in Santo Domingo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Boutique Hotel Palacio 3.5*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Palacio, located only two blocks from the Cathedral Primada of America and right in the center of all historical and cultural attractions of the first city ever built in the New World. The monuments, museums, classical and modern art exhibits and concerts will add interest to your stay in this magical city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Boutique Hotel Palacio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palacio Hotel Santo Domingo
Palacio Santo Domingo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing