We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Too expensive for what they offer” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Barcelo Santo Domingo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Barcelo Santo Domingo
Ranked #14 of 79 Hotels in Santo Domingo
Certificate of Excellence
San Jose, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Too expensive for what they offer”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2014

We stayed in room 504 for 4 days, the pool to much noise that we could not take a nap or talking inside the room until 8pm,when the music stop. I love Swim but with that level of noise impossible
Staff very polite, but very few. The hotel conveniently located in Av Maximo Gomez against Metro Station.
The internet at $ 7 an hour never worked and waited two hours the employee came to help and not get.
The towels are a rare treasure, are not in the room, the second day we got them when ordered, the third day took three hours to bring clean towels.
Estuvimos en la habitacion 504 ,por 4 dias, la piscina hacia tanto ruido que no pudimos tomar una siesta o hablar dentro de la habitación hasta las 8 de la noche .Yo amo nadar pero con ese nivel de ruido imposible
Los empleados muy corteses, pero muy pocos . El hotel bien ubicado en la Av Maximo Gomez frente a la Estación del Metro.
El internet a $7 la hora nunca funciono y esperamos dos horas que el empleado llegara a ayudarnos y no llego.
Las toallas son un raro tesoro ,no estan en la habitacion, el segundo dia nos las dieron cuando las pedimos , el tercer dia tardaron tres horas en traer toallas limpias, después de varias llamadas.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Caminante1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarceloSantoDomingo, Director General at Barcelo Santo Domingo, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
Dear traveler:

Thank you very much for your comment.

We appreciate you choosing our hotel and mention the location.

We apologize for the inconvenience occurred with the internet service. Our IT team is making the necessary adjustments to improve this service.

As policy housekeeper, the rooms are delivered with all the lingerie established and should be changed daily, except that the clients don’t require. Anyway, we have informed all team housekeepers to prevent this situation from happening again to any customer.

We regret any inconvenience caused by the music of the pool. The one day activity is performed in this area is on Sunday with the celebration of "Chilling time". The music is kept at an appropriate level will not disturb our guests and ends at 6:00 pm.

We hope you will visit on another occasion to give a better impression of our hotel.

Best regards,

César Güílamo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,297 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    669
    330
    142
    85
    71
See reviews for
225
226
123
453
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bayonne, New Jersey
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2014

Is a very good hotel for the family, is in a great location in the middle of Santo Domingo city, the rooms are very comfortable and the service is excellent, and there are too many places to walk around, eat or shop.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank katherine d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarceloSantoDomingo, Director General at Barcelo Santo Domingo, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
Dear Ms. Katherine:

We appreciate your comment about our hotel.

We feel pleased that your stay was exceptional and the installations and the service offered make you feel satisfied.

Thank you for highlight our comfortable room, location and the excellent service we offer our guest. Thank’s for your recommendations.

We hope you can visit us again with your family.

Best regards,

César Güílamo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2014

I really love the modern look of Barcelo, from the start it was great experience. Check in was done quickly, Kiara and Jeimi made us feel pleased and welcome, they gave us a little tour of the place. The piano bar was really beautiful. One of the things that i like the most is that it was a really clean place, it looked like they clean every minute; from the lobby to the room everything was really organize. The room was great, comffy bed, and even the Wifi was pretty fast. I will definitely stay here again and recommended it to anyone that want to be in the city. Enjoy great great and get your shopping done @ Barcelo. Much Thanks to all the stuff :)

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jose G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarceloSantoDomingo, Director General at Barcelo Santo Domingo, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
Dear Mr. Jose:

Thank you for sharing your experience on this site.

It's a pleasure to know you had a wonderful experience in our hotel. We’re happy to know the remodeling was your liking and the service provided by our staff meet your expectation.

Thank you for highlight our cleanness, Piano Bar, the comfort in the room and the quickness wifi.

We will continue to strive for provide every time a quality service.

We hope to see you in your next visit to Santo Domingo City.

Best regards,

César Güílamo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2014

I litterally just left the Barcelo Sto Domngo today after a 5 nights stay, and i honestly have to say that i had a wonderful stay until the very end until it was time to check out.
The good
The hotel itself is a very appealing building on Maximo Gomez. The lobby is very nice and the employees are very corteous. When i first checked in i was given a room on the 4th floor that reeked of smoke, however they quickly moved me to a room on the 6th.
My room was huge with a view pf the pedestrian brige on max. Gomez. The bath room is very large as well and the maids did a very good job. No complaints there.

The bad
I have to be honest and say that i think the employee in this case was just doing his job.
Once, very late at night (2 am), as my gf and I were making our way back into the hotel after a night out, we were stopped in the lobby to verify that she in fact was included in the reservation. The employee in question was very nice and apologized when everything checked out, however i have to say it was somewhat uncomfortable...ill leave it up to you guyz to make your own conclusion, but it is something to keep in mind especially if ur gf is dominican looking.

The ugly
When it was time to check out, i was told that we had used $18 worth of snacks/drinks from the mini bar. Now let me start by saying that my gf and i were together 24/7 the entire stay and neither of us used ANYTHING from the bar. I actually made it a point to only get the room at booking, not even breakfast did i purchase to avoid this exact situation. At the bar i always used cash so that nothing would be charged to my room.
One of the employees brought 2 20 oz soft drinks bottles that were open, and a small box of cashew nuts that was also opened and supposedly were found in our room.
Couple of things: at check in NO ONE came into the room to do an inventory of what was in the mini bar, however at check out they said that we used those items. For all i know, these items could have been opened for quite some time and bo one bothered to do an inventory until i was checking out.
Now, i want to make something very clear, had my gf or i used these items i would have had no problem whatsoever to pay for them..it was $18....however this had nothing to do with the amount, i just will NOT pay for something i did not use.

Bottom line is eventually they did not charge me, however it was another very uncomfortable situation for someone who claimed to be a manager to be arguing with a client over $18. I honestly haf a great stay until this point, but my gf already said we are not going bk to the barcelo.
It is very unfortunate because the hotel itself is very nice, very close to everything (agora and sambil malls).
I just wished they had handled a few things differently

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 88carpediem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarceloSantoDomingo, Director General at Barcelo Santo Domingo, responded to this review, May 30, 2014
Dear Traveler:

Thank you for sharing your experience on this website.

Thank you for choosing our hotel on your visit to Santo Domingo.

Thank you for highlighting the location and decoration of the hotel. As well as the kindness of our team and the comfort of the rooms.

Our sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused to the early morning arrive with your partner and stopped you to check if she had reservations. This measure is a policy the security of the hotel to prevent unregistered persons access to the rooms.

We regret the incident at the checkout. It is a policy the room service reviewing the mini bars before customer arrival and departure. In your case, as you indicate, it was not until the time of checkout and we reviewed and detect the two open bottles of drinks and pack peanuts with the hole.

The people who helped him in this problem they decided not bill these charges due to how it happened and recognizing that all consumptions were paid in cash.

We hope to have the opportunity to visit us again to get a better impression.

To serve you,

César Güílamo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bronx, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014 via mobile

This hotel is not single traveler friendly... and forget about bring up a guest, they will charge you $30. The food is over priced, breakfast for 3 was $47. This is a hotel but there try to treat like a resort. I will not be staying there every again.

Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Twin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarceloSantoDomingo, Director General at Barcelo Santo Domingo, responded to this review, May 30, 2014
Dear Mr. Twin:

Thank you for sharing your opinion in this portal.

We apologize for the inconvenience caused during the days stay with us.

For safety for our guests the visits can only be received in public areas of the hotel, however, to access the rooms next to them should assume a charge.

We have different regimens which can be viewed in our website or your arrival. The breakfast buffet at our hotel is the most complete of the city. Anyway, we will take into account your comments and we will review these rates.

We hope to have the opportunity to visit us again to provide a better experience.

Best regards,

César Güílamo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cabarete
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014

We stayed at the Barcelo in April of this year. It is in a great location if you need to get things done in the city. It has been renovated and the inside is much more modern than the outside appearance. The shower in our room was fantastic and the beds were very comfortable. I will definitely stay here again on our next trip to the capital. My only complaint was that they did not include internet in the cost of the room I had to pay $12 extra for it. They did tell me though that if you book directly with them it is included. For me internet service is like hot water. It should always be included and never listed as an additional charge. That being said I will book directly next time to avoid the charge. Oh and the front desk staff was very polite and very helpful too.

Room Tip: Choose a room away from the parking lot and the highway if you can. For the most part it was quiet b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CabareteMassage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarceloSantoDomingo, Director General at Barcelo Santo Domingo, responded to this review, May 29, 2014
Dear Ms. Traveler:

Thank you for comment about our hotel.

It’s a pleasure to know that you feel satisfied with the recently renovation. Thank you for highlight our location and the comfortable room.

We will take in consideration your comment about the cost in the internet service for implement new strategy in the future.

We hope you can visit us again.

Best regards,

César Güílamo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbridge, Virginia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014

Soooo...I wasn't too sure how this trip to Santo Domingo was going to play out but I must admit we had a great time. This hotel despite some of the reviews was pretty nice. The decor in the entrance is beautiful and my room which was the master suite was also great. I would advise anyone looking to stay here to just go ahead and pick a room with the premium club level attached. This gives you access to a lounge that has free snacks, fruit, wine, beer, coffee & soda pretty much all day. This was definitely a plus and a money saver!!! We munched and mingled on the rooftop where there was a jacuzzi calling my name after the long day traveling. Also if you are planning on staying at a Barcelo hotel, sign up for the members program and when booking your trip there was a small discount. I am sure I could nit pick and find some things to complain about, but overall it was a nice place...definitely not a resort so going for the all inclusive option would be a waste. If I was in Santo Domingo again I would stay here!!! Brush up on your Spanish it will definitely help.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MsLea25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarceloSantoDomingo, Director General at Barcelo Santo Domingo, responded to this review, May 29, 2014
Dear Ms. Traveler:

Thank you for shared your opinion in this site.

Thank you for choosing our hotel in your visit to Santo Domingo.

We feel happy to know that you are pleased with the service and installations in our hotel. We appreciate that you highlight our decoration, comfort in the room and the Club Premium Service.

Thanks’ for recommend Club Premium floor to others travelers.

We hope to see you in your next trip.

Best regards,

César Güílamo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santo Domingo hotels
8.1 mi away
Radisson Hotel Santo Domingo
Radisson Hotel Santo Domingo
#15 of 79 in Santo Domingo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 538 reviews
10.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Santo Domingo
Crowne Plaza Santo Domingo
#8 of 79 in Santo Domingo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 833 reviews
7.7 mi away
JW Marriott Hotel Santo Domingo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 mi away
Dominican Fiesta Hotel & Casino
Dominican Fiesta Hotel & Casino
#18 of 79 in Santo Domingo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 509 reviews
8.6 mi away
BQ Santo Domingo by BQ Hotels
BQ Santo Domingo by BQ Hotels
#21 of 79 in Santo Domingo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
10.2 mi away
Renaissance Santo Domingo Jaragua Hotel & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barcelo Santo Domingo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelo Santo Domingo

Property: Barcelo Santo Domingo
Address: Maximo Gomez-Esq 27 de Febrero, Santo Domingo 1915, Dominican Republic (Formerly Barcelo Lina)
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Santo Domingo Province > Santo Domingo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Casino Hotel in Santo Domingo
#13 Business Hotel in Santo Domingo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Barcelo Santo Domingo 3.5*
Number of rooms: 217
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Barcelo, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Barcelo Santo Domingo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Santo Domingo Hotel Santo Domingo
Barcelo Hotel Lina
Hotel Lina Santo Domingo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing