We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mixed feelings.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Barcelo Santo Domingo
Ranked #11 of 76 Hotels in Santo Domingo
Certificate of Excellence
Nyack, New York
Level Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Mixed feelings.”
Reviewed September 12, 2013

I was at this hotel from 8/17/2013 to 8/24/2013 and it is sad that I could not give this hotel five stars, because the hotel in reality is beautiful, but management is very poor.I stayed on the 7th floor and paid for the Premium club access.The first five days were excellent I enjoyed the shower and the breakfast, they were great, and the room wasn't bad, but you can hear the noise of vehicles passing by an adjacent highway called 27 de Febrero. Everything was fine until Thursday when I went to get breakfast for my family at the "Premium Club" because my daughter was sick and and my wife decided to have breakfast in the room.When I was walking out of the "Premium Club" one of the waiters saw me carrying the breakfast for my wife and told me that guests were not allowed to take any utensils like plates and forks out of the "Premium Club" because they didn't have enough.She then made me promise that I would bring back the plates and the forks after I finish,which I agreed. When I got to the room I realized that I had forgotten the coffee for my wife, so I went right back to "Premium Club" to get the coffee.Once again the waiter came to me and asked me if I had brought the utensils back,That was so embarrassing, I felt like she was thinking that I was going to steal the plates or something. I explained the situation to the lady sitting at the desk by the entrance to the "Premium Club" and she said that the waiter was right, and that, was a policy of the hotel not to allow guests to remove utensils out of the "Premium Club". She assured me that the next day the would provide plastic utensils to address the problem,which they never did.The last day 8/24/2013 was a nightmare.We woke up without electricity and without water in the bathroom.We couldn't take a shower, we couldn't use the toilet,not even brush our teeth.We went to check out and we had to use the stairs to go down to the lobby because the elevator wasn't working .When I got to the reception for the check out I found mad people asking for a refund because of the situation.I was waiting for a partial refund or at least an incentive at the check out but that never happened. In USA when things like this happen, the customer is always compensated but I don't think that is the case at Barcelo Santo Domingo .It is sad because the hotel is in a good location ,has a beautiful facility, a very good breakfast and a very nice pool.But when management is poor, all those things don't count. I would think twice before I book at Barcelo Santo Domingo again.

Room Tip: Stay on the right side of the building that has view to the ocean and is quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rick W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarceloSantoDomingo, Director of Sales at Barcelo Santo Domingo, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Dear traveler,

Thank you for choosing Barcelo Santo Domingo for your vacations. And most of all, for taking the time to write this review.

Please accept our apologies for these inconveniences you go through. We have gone through your comments in order to correct mistakes like these from happening again. Being our goal to exceed each customer´s experience I have also distributed these comments to the corresponding departments. All this so we can elevate our product to all customers standards, including yourself.

Even though there are things that escape our hands we go ahead and try monitor them as well preventing all our guests of any situation that could affect their stay.

I hope you could give us a second chance so we can prove you that these changes have indeed been implemented.

Best regards,

Katiuska Mendez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,447 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    776
    363
    147
    88
    73
See reviews for
248
250
145
499
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Clara, California
1 review
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Thoroughly enjoyed my recent stay at Barcelo SD. The hotel is beautifully decorated and clean with panoramic city and ocean views. The bed and the pillows were very comfortable and the shower heads were amazing. It is centrally located within walking/jogging distance to the "malecon"- an ocean side street with restaurants, outdoor gym and scenic views. The best feature of all, however, was the staff. Everyone we encountered at the front desk, bellhop, room service and restaurants was professional and solicitous. The one person that stood out the most was Natasha Valdez in customer service. She was attentive and eager to please, she went out of her way to make sure that we were comfortable and that our expectations were surpassed. I will stay at this property again and highly recommend the hotel because of the personal service we received.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aaab B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarceloSantoDomingo, Director Comercial at Barcelo Santo Domingo, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear Traveler,

Thank you so much for visiting Barceló Santo Domingo and writing this kind review for us.

Our hotel staff works hard to reach our guest's expectations and it is greatly appreciated when it's recognized.

Please feel free to contact us if you need any assistance with your future reservations.

We hope to see you again.

Kindly,

Katiuska Mendez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2013

A landmark in Santo Domingo, an impressive building totally renewed and with a pleasant well equipped VIP floor with a roof jacuzzi, open bar with tapas and a large sitting area with wonderful views over the city. Private breakfast room and business center. A great solution for business travelers and also for those that just want to know the city in a relaxing atmosphere.
With a casino, several restaurants, SPA, swimming-pool, well equipped gymnasium, free wi-fi and 24 hours security makes it an intelligent option for a peaceful stay.

Room Tip: The VIP floor is the best option and largely justifies the cost. Corner suites are more silent altho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eupms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarceloSantoDomingo, Director Comercial at Barcelo Santo Domingo, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear Traveler,

Thank you so much for visiting Barceló Santo Domingo and writing this kind review for us.

Our hotel staff works hard to reach our guest's expectations and it is greatly appreciated when it's recognized.

Please feel free to contact us if you need any assistance with your future reservations.

We hope to see you again.

Kindly,

Katiuska Mendez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dominican Republic
Level Contributor
104 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2013

The hotel was fairly decent. I was expecting worse. The pool and pool area was very nice and my 2 and 10 year old enjoyed it a lot. The room itself was ok. The shower was especially nice. The room was a little noisy because of the traffic. The front desk didn't seem to know where attractions were or when they were open (something that I would expect for them to know at a hotel such as this). I asked a couple of different times. We did enjoy are stay and actually booked another night and I accidentally booked for that same night (it was already after 9 pm) I thought I was booking the next night. Expedia called the hotel and they wouldn't change it to the next night. They charged me the entire amount. Expedia stepped up and paid for the Courtyard Marriott down the street. I know by their legal small print they didn't have to move the reservation but C'mon. It was less than 5 minutes after I booked. A customer service oriented hotel would have stepped up here. They would rather have my $90 then to have me as a repeat customer. Because of this I will not be returning. To the Courtyard Marriott we go, quieter rooms, much better service, FREE wireless, and $10 for an AWESOME breakfast. It's a no brainer.

Room Tip: Your right on a very busy traffic intersection so it's noisy towards the roads.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dabyoung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarceloSantoDomingo, Director Comercial at Barcelo Santo Domingo, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear Traveler:

Thanks for your review about our Barceló Santo Domingo Hotel. First of all, we are really sorry for any inconvenience that you passed during your stay at our property and in the same way we want to say thanks for sharing your experiences with us.

We just take note of your comments and complaints in order to continue implementing chances and to improve the services and facilities that we offer, to better service. I would like to take this opportunity and apologize for these inconveniences.

Please give us the opportunity to change your first impression. Visit us again!

Best Regards,

Katiuska Mendez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belize City, Belize
Level Contributor
42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2013

I was at the Barcelo for one week in June 2013.

Not many English speakers, no free wifi (yuck), great food and rooms. The taxis were very, very expensive.....well Santa Domingo is an expensive city.

Reception desk makes we're often surly and seemed t b more polite to the white or Hispanic guests! Quite unfortunate.

Room Tip: Not much of a view so any room I guess.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Imaani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarceloSantoDomingo, Director of Sales at Barcelo Santo Domingo, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Dear Traveler:

Thank you so much for taking the time to post this review and for visiting our Barcelo Santo Domingo Hotel.

It is important for us to know our guests opinions and experiences in order to improve our services.

I just take notes of your comments and have passed to the responsible directors to avoid any recurrence of this situation with any other customer.

Please don´t hesitate to visit us again. We apologize for this inconvenience.

Best regards,

Katiuska Mendez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crawley, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 14, 2013

I had a late flight and when i arrived they could not find my room details for 45 minutes,
i phoned reception to ask what time breakfast finished they told me 12 when it finished at 11,
They said i needed to check in to another room for my second night so i was asked to leave my room at 12 and they said in will be 20 min for my next room which i was left waiting and chasing them until 4pm have just got in my room which is no different to the previous one. Totally wasted day!!!

Room Tip: dont book here unless you are in transit and just want to waste time!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scott N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarceloSantoDomingo, Director of Sales at Barcelo Santo Domingo, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Dear Mr. Scott

Thank you for choosing Barcelo Santo Domingo as your vacation option. As well as for taking part of your time to review us.

We want to apologize for any situation you may have gone through, as we understand how you must have felt. This inconvenience with your room is not a regular procedure of the hotel, and I have sent your comments to the responsible directors to prevent this situation from happening again.

Please let us change your perception, visiting us again.

Best regards,

Katiuska Mendez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2013 via mobile

I love stay at this place, i sure stay again when go back to DR. Nice facilitie, good food, wonderful rooms and bath.
Very clean the staff friendly and courteous. Nnnnnnnnnnnice me gusto mucho el hotel y la comida las atenciones y facilidades q tiene el hotel la ubicacion es envidiable.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank acordero1702
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarceloSantoDomingo, Director of Sales at Barcelo Santo Domingo, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Google Translation
Estimado Sr. Cordero:

Gracias por visitar nuestro hotel Barcelo Santo Domingo, pero sobre todo por tomar de su tiempo para escribirnos su comentario.

Trabajamos arduamente para que nuestros clientes se sientan satisfechos y complacidos con los servicios y las instalaciones ofrecidas, por lo que es de mucho orgullo saber que nuestros clientes perciben el esfuerzo realizado.

Muchas gracias por este comentario! No dude en contactarnos si necesita alguna asistencia para futuras reservas.

Saludos,

Katiuska Mendez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santo Domingo hotels
Crowne Plaza Santo Domingo
#8 of 76 in Santo Domingo
900 reviews
Dominican Fiesta Hotel & Casino
#18 of 76 in Santo Domingo
537 reviews
Radisson Hotel Santo Domingo
#12 of 76 in Santo Domingo
616 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gazcue
Courtyard Santo Domingo
Courtyard Santo Domingo
#5 of 76 in Santo Domingo
497 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barcelo Santo Domingo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelo Santo Domingo

Property: Barcelo Santo Domingo
Address: Avda. Maximo Gomez 53 | esq Avda. 27 Febrero, Santo Domingo 10203, Dominican Republic (Formerly Barcelo Lina)
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Santo Domingo Province > Santo Domingo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Casino Hotel in Santo Domingo
#13 Business Hotel in Santo Domingo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Barcelo Santo Domingo 3.5*
Number of rooms: 216
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Barcelo, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Barcelo Santo Domingo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Santo Domingo Hotel Santo Domingo
Barcelo Hotel Lina
Hotel Lina Santo Domingo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing