We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great destination in Santo Domingo”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Barcelo Santo Domingo
Ranked #11 of 80 Hotels in Santo Domingo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 9, 2013

I booked the Hotel Magna 365 (formerly the Hotel Meliá), because I love the Malecon of Santo Domingo, however after the first night I switched to this hotel because it is quieter. The hotel was nice and the staff is very friendly. The rooms were recently remodeled and the rooms are very comfortable. If you want to travel on the subway, just around the corner is the train station, and, finally wants to see a play or concert, the National Theatre is less than 200 meters from the hotel. The pool is quite good and it's nice Disco..

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Freape
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarceloSantoDomingo, Director of Sales at Barcelo Santo Domingo, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2013

Dear Traveler:

Thank you so much for visiting Barceló Santo Domingo and writing this kind review for us.

We appreciate your comment since it allows us to improve and to better serve our guests every day. Our staff works hard to reach our guest's expectations and it is greatly appreciated when it's recognized.

Please feel free to contact us if you need any assistance with your future reservations.

We hope to see you again.

Kindly,

Katiuska Mendez

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,581)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

430 - 436 of 1,581 reviews

Reviewed May 2, 2013

Last year, the renovation looked brand new. This year, the Caribbean mentality (build it but don’t maintain it) is starting to show. It’s the little things… a broken and missing button from the shower control… a malfunctioning plug in the sink… carpet that has started to buckle. Still… it seems to be one of the better hotels in Santo Domingo. The beds are very comfortable and the service is excellent.

So, we continue to recommend this hotel.

FYI – The breakfast buffet is good (and can be "included" with certain rates)… go for the crepes. The lunch buffet can be not so appetizing. Dinner is worse… order off the menu and try the “gourmet chicken”.

Re: The Taxis... negotiate the rate before you get in. Should be 200 pesos wherever.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barrett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarceloSantoDomingo, Director of Sales at Barcelo Santo Domingo, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2013

Dear Mr. Barrett:

Thank you for choosing Barceló Santo Domingo, and most of all, for taking the time to write this review.

Please accept our apologies for the terrible experiences you experienced at one of our restaurant. Being our goal to exceed each customer´s experience I have also distributed these comments to the corresponding departments.

Even though there are things that escape our hands we go ahead and try monitor them as well preventing all our guests of any situation that could affect their stay.
I hope you could give us a second chance so we can prove these changes have indeed been implemented.

Best regards,

Katiuska Mendez

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2013

The pros: what most others said - the rooms and facilities are excellent and if I were only to rate the hotel on these factors, it would get 4 or 5 stars.

However, I found the staff and location to be drawbacks. Unless you have a car, you're stuck with taxis. At Barcelo, they seemed to have a flat rate of $10 to anywhere in SD. It adds up. Compare that to 200 pesos for Dominicans, about half the price. There's virtually nothing in walking distance. Don't get me started about the taxis. They charge several dollars more, sometimes double, outside hotels and to tourists.

I found the staff to be standoffish and not altogether helpful, though that doesn't apply to everyone. I ended up leaving after 1 night and going elsewhere. I left something in my room and it was the most incredible nightmare getting it back.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jook_savages
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarceloSantoDomingo, Director of Sales at Barcelo Santo Domingo, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2013

Dear Traveler,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write this review. Here at Baceló Santo Domingo it is tremendly important to know what our guests think and feel regarding their experience, so we can improve on both services and facilities.

First, we apologize for all the inconvenience this may have caused you. We will also take into consideration to give proper follow up on the staff attitude as we make sure to live up to our five star standards. These comments will be distributed to the corresponding departments for constant follow up.

Regarding the taxi fare, unfortunately it is not related directly with the hotel, although it is one of the facilities we offer to our customers safely.

Once again I apologize and invite you and your family to try our facilties once more and enjoy what Barceló its truly about.

Kindly,

Katiuska Mendez

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2013

price-quality, very good!

I spend only staying one night. When I arrived at room, I noticed that he had no towels needed. I called the reservation girl (Carol Medina) and said I needed a few things for the room, she politely respond immediately and it was a night excellent.

I liked the hotel location and service.

Room Tip: - If you do not like smoke, you can clarify that NOT placed in this area. - The rooms on the higher...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katherine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarceloSantoDomingo, Director of Sales at Barcelo Santo Domingo, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2013

Dear Katherine,

Thank you so much for visiting Barceló Santo Domingo and writing this kind review for us.

Our hotel staff works hard to reach our guest's expectations and it is greatly appreciated when it's recognized.

Please feel free to contact us if you need any assistance with your future reservations.

We hope to see you again.

Kindly,

Katiuska Mendez

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

The Barcelo Santo Domingo is a solid hotel in Santo Domingo. I ended up there after covering the earthquake in Haiti for 9 days in January 2010. This place felt like heaven at the time. It has all the amenities you are looking when you travel on business and is comfortable and friendly. If you are looking for a more interesting place to stay, check out both Sofitel hotels in the Old Town of Santo Domingo. They are much more charming.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeancosme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarceloSantoDomingo, Director Comercial at Barcelo Santo Domingo, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2013

Dear Jean,

Thank you so much for visiting Barceló Santo Domingo and writing this kind review for us.

Our staff works hard to reach our guest's expectations and it is greatly appreciated when it's recognized.

Please feel free to contact us if you need any assistance with your future reservations.

We hope to see you again.

Kindly,

Katiuska Mendez

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2013

We recently stayed at this hotel during a business trip. The staff was very nice, the hotel was in a busy location and this made it noisy but due to the number of meeting we needed to attend the location was excellent. The pool was nice but odd hours. Closed at 6 pm. The workout area was lacking and not open until 7 am. The restaurante was good but a little slow. The breakfast buffet was very good but a little pricey-$16/person. Would stay again.

Room Tip: We got a great price with travelocity for the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank idahojeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarceloSantoDomingo, Director Comercial at Barcelo Santo Domingo, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2013

Dear Traveler,

I would like to thank you for choosing Barceló Santo Domingo as your business option.

It is important for us to know each and every of our guests experience so we can work on improving our services. I want to apologize for the situations that caused a negative reflection on your stay.

Your highlights and comments on both our positive and weaker areas help us improve greatly by adressing each and every cons separately. Regarding the pool the schedule has been extended accordingly to the season.

I want to personally extend an invitation to you to come back and try our facilities once more.

Regards,

Katiuska Mendez

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

I have stayed for 11 nights and I have learnt to like this hotel ...after an initial bad impression!
It is comfortable and friendly, although with some notable inconsistencies in quality.....The rooms are big and spacious, the beds are very comfortable and the bathroom is great. Love the "rain" shower. However, the furniture and fittings are very tired ... with very visible signs of wear and tear. The windows really need checking over for noise reduction ... I had to change the first room where the street noise was unbearable......
The swimming pool area is great - although being a business visitor would appreciate extending hours until dark , not only 6pm. But perfect for weekends. However, the gym is a "no go" area .... very old, aging equipment and with a general air of decay and lack of cleanliness (it´s the first gym I have ever seen with carpet on the floor !!!) This definitely needs sorting out!!
Club Premium is what makes the difference for me : as a business traveller with extended stays it is great to have this area where you can spend some of your spare time, have a drink, connect to internet, and not have to sit in your room.
Breakfast buffet is very extensive and good quality ....but some of the foods get a little past their best after sitting on the hot plate for a couple of hours. Perhaps it would be better to prepare less quantity at at once and re-plenish as needed. One thing to definitely improve is the marmalades and fruit jams ...if you like some on your toast , you can forget it. All you can get is a spoonfull of a non-descript brightly coloured sugar spread....... It should be easy to provide some small jars of fruit jams.
On my next long stay in Santo Domingo I will be staying here.

Room Tip: Choose Club Premium if you can afford it, and avoid rooms facing the main road (27 Sept Av) - loads...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jose S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarceloSantoDomingo, Director of Sales at Barcelo Santo Domingo, responded to this reviewResponded March 1, 2013

Dear traveler,

Thank you for choosing Barcelo Santo Domingo and for taking the time to write this interesting review.

It has come a long way since the times of Restaurante Lina, the Gran Hotel Lina. Even though our facilities have been refurbished, we try our best to maintain a higher standard of services and quality in our property.

It is always interesting to hear all the suggestions that our guests have, so we can continue improving things to better serve you. All this to create value during the vacations experience of our guests, both business and leisure travelers.

Thanks again for your kind comments, and we will take note of all this.

Best regards,

Katiuska Mendez

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santo Domingo
1.1 mi away
Radisson Hotel Santo Domingo
Radisson Hotel Santo Domingo
#12 of 80 in Santo Domingo
732 reviews
1.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Santo Domingo
Crowne Plaza Santo Domingo
#8 of 80 in Santo Domingo
998 reviews
2 mi away
W&P Santo Domingo
W&P Santo Domingo
#20 of 80 in Santo Domingo
309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Sheraton Santo Domingo Hotel
Sheraton Santo Domingo Hotel
#5 of 80 in Santo Domingo
1,883 reviews
99.6 mi away
Melia Caribe Tropical
97.9 mi away
Paradisus Punta Cana Resort
Paradisus Punta Cana Resort
#25 of 113 in Punta Cana
13,434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barcelo Santo Domingo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelo Santo Domingo

Address: Avda. Maximo Gomez 53 | esq Avda. 27 Febrero, Santo Domingo 10203, Dominican Republic (Formerly Barcelo Lina)
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Santo Domingo Province > Santo Domingo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Casino Hotel in Santo Domingo
#13 Business Hotel in Santo Domingo
Price Range: $106 - $217 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Barcelo Santo Domingo 3.5*
Number of rooms: 216
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Barcelo, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Barcelo Santo Domingo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Santo Domingo Hotel Santo Domingo
Barcelo Hotel Lina
Hotel Lina Santo Domingo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing