We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Barcelo Santo Domingo
Ranked #11 of 80 Hotels in Santo Domingo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 19, 2012

I really enjoyed my stay at the Barcelo. Very nice clean hotel, reasonably priced. Clean, modern Taxis outside 24/7. They have a nice big pool and a little Piano Bar that was a good place to drink and watch sports. I would reccomend this to anybody. It was 2 blocks from the American Consulate were we walked, and a 10 dollar cab ride to the Baseball stadium were I saw 2 games. The stadium was also nice and I had 1rst row seats behind home plate for 15$.

Room Tip: The rooms on the upper floors have great views of the ocean or city!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ty b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarceloSantoDomingo, Director of Sales at Barcelo Santo Domingo, responded to this reviewResponded January 4, 2013

Dear traveler,

Thank you for choosing Barceló Santo Domingo as your vacation destination and gratitude for taking the time to write this pleasant review.

One of the goals we strive for, is creating a positive and enriching guest experience and I see yours has been great.

Our Piano Bar represents an exclusive space to relax and enjoy your stay leisurely and thanks to our location our guest are offered many opportunities to move around the Santo Domingo and attend local events.

All of us at Barceló Santo Domingo hope your repeat your visit.

Kind regards,

Katiuska Mendez

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,564)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

440 - 446 of 1,564 reviews

Reviewed December 6, 2012

I visit Santo Domingo at least four times a year and I have stayed at many different hotels around the city. However, The Barcelo Santo Domingo is the best yet. The food is still the best in the city and one of the best in the Country. The pool has the best layout ever, service is prompt and great, the staff is very curtious and now with the new addition of the japanese restaurant with the best Churrasco I ever tasted. Also the Piano Bar with every night live Music its the place to be. You get know lots of people locals and tourists every day. On my next visit I am down for Barcelo Santo Domingo

Room Tip: The premium and the business suites are outstanding, you get just the best, its a first class servic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rafael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarceloSantoDomingo, Director of Sales at Barcelo Santo Domingo, responded to this reviewResponded December 7, 2012

Dear Mr Rafael,

Thank you for choosing Barceló Santo Domingo and taking the time to write this kind review.

It is our goal to reach this level of satisfaction with all our guests, both guests and customers at our Piano Bar and restaurants.

We invite you to yet again visit us and relive this experience.

Kindly,

Katiuska Mendez

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2012

Please avoid this place at all cost,the rooms are equip with old stuff and the power goes out at any time unexpected.the location is in front of the Malcon a very nice looking area .As soon as you step out onto the side walk you be approach by thieves and beggers from all walks of life.This place is very dangerous especially if you are from USA.There's a place call the colonial zone or (ZONA COLONIAL ) Where all tourist go .While at the Colonial zone sight seeing is just fine till by accident you step out of bounds .(because there are'n't any signs )as soon as the locals realize that are out of bounds that's when you get robbed right in front of every body in broad day light...when I complained to the hotel they rudely said that if they had warned me ,I would leave and they didn't want that...guess what? I'm a American Dominican New Yorker

Room Tip: first floor rooms next to the exit
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PEDRO T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarceloSantoDomingo, Director of Sales at Barcelo Santo Domingo, responded to this reviewResponded December 10, 2012

Dear Mr Pedro,

Thank you for taking the time to review Barceló Santo Domingo. It is of great importance to know our guests experience in order to improve our services.

Our suites have all been renovated to cover each of today`s common needs, however this comment will be distributed to the corresponding area so we can check out what may have happened. As for the power it is an unfortunate issue that really escapes our hands. As a modern company what we do is provide a power alternative during these occasions, even so it takes a few seconds be activated. None of our current services or facilities is affected by this.

Barceló Santo Domingo is also conveniently located 15 minutes away from the Colonial Zone, not on Malecón Ave, which is closer, but at few blocks north. This fact may have caused certain confusion.

We advice all our guest to ride cabs for all their trips during their stay in Santo Domingo, I feel tremendously sorry for these experiences that unfortunately escape our hands.

I invite you to once more try our suites, services and remaining facilities and give Barceló Santo Domingo a second chance.

Kindly,

Katiuska Mendez

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2012

We stayed at this hotel from 11/23/12 - 11/26/12 for a wedding. The hotel is located right in the center of santo Domingo and looks a bit rough. When our family of 9 arrived we had a terrible experience with checking in. Took almost 2 hours before we all got rooms and we had made reservations 2-3 months ahead. All 5 Rooms were not ready, or they had wrong beds, and they had even cancelled 1 of our rooms which was truly upsetting. They didn't notify us ahead of the cancellation or anything and when they told us they didn't even offer other accommodations. It was like: sorry, We cancelled your room and now figure it out. The rooms weren't so bad, the carpets need replacing throughout the entire hotel I believe. Rooms were dusty. They would not provide washcloths so we ended up having to use the hand towels unfortunately. Hotel wreaks off mildew as soon as you walk into lobby. Restaurant food was terrible both the buffet and Japanese restaurant. The checkout process was also horrible. Took almost an hour to checkout. The checkout guy was doing other things like exchanging money. The staff didn't speak English which made it difficult for us to communicate problems or needs. The taxi fare through hotel is a rip off ($40 to airport) especially if you are not local. Suggest going out to the street and find your own taxi.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DP23MD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarceloSantoDomingo, Director Comercial at Barcelo Santo Domingo, responded to this reviewResponded November 30, 2012

Dear traveler,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write this review. Here at Baceló Santo Domingo it is tremendly important to know what our guests think and feel regarding their experience, for us to improve on both services and facilities.

First we apologize for there is no excuse to delivering your rooms so late. Sometimes the operation itself gets shaken due to facts we may not be able to handle. But with your contribution we will be overseeing that these things do not repeat themselves.

We will also take into consideration to give proper follow up on the room amenities and training of our staff as we make sure to live up to our five star standards. These comments will be distributed to the corresponding departments for constant follow up.

Regarding the taxi fare, we encourage our guests to book these supplements at the moment of reservation. Although other options may be available outside the property, the safety of Barceló Santo Domingo`s guests comes as first priority.

Once again I apologize and invite you and your family to try our facilties once more and enjoy what Barceló its truly about.

Kindly,

Katiuska Mendez

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2012 via mobile

The hotel is located in downtown Santo Domingo. The 'B' reaturant features very good food and specializes in tasty local seafood and is available 24/7. The restaurant is staffed by friendly and attentive personnel. The hotel lobby has plenty of comfy seating to conduct meetings and two sensible 'lap top set down' high tops to get work done. The rooms were $95 a night and well laid out with large work areas and a large modern bathroom. My personal favorite in any hotel is a sense that everything is clean and this hotel was clean. The bed linens were changed every day and were crisp. There were plenty of good reading lights and the AC was well designed. The hotel elevators require a key to operate and security was top shelf. The only downside is the front desk personel while very friendly and accommodating seems to struggle with inneficient and slow software resulting in slow check-in and check-out, but staying here is well worth it.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BobPhiladelphiaPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarceloSantoDomingo, Director of Sales at Barcelo Santo Domingo, responded to this reviewResponded December 4, 2012

Dear Bob,

Thank you so much for the time to write this review for Barceló Santo Domingo. It pleases all our staff to know we have provided the attention needed to reach their expectations.

At 24 hour B Delicious Restaurant we do not just give our best to provide new tastes to different palates, but also create an atmosphere where our guests feel at ease.
With our newly renovated suites it is precisely your experience we aim to provide to thousands of travellers who also choose Barceló Santo Domingo.

You comments regarding our services during check-in and check-out will be redistributed to the correct department so we can work on them.

Never the less we invite you to repeat your visit to our facilities.

Best of regards,

Katiuska Mendez

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2012

Been visiting the Hotel since the old days when it was the LINA Hotel. Great location, very comfortable beds and spacious rooms.
Great value for price per night. The executive level personnel is properly oriented to service the customers.

Room Tip: Go to the executive floor for better service. Its worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julio G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarceloSantoDomingo, Director of Sales at Barcelo Santo Domingo, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2012

Dear Julio,

Thank you so much for taking the time to post this review!
It is important for us to know our guests opinions and experiences inorder to grow and improve our operations.

Please don´t hesitate to visit us again.

Best regards,

Katiuska Mendez

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2012

Stayed here a couple of times on business. Hotel is trying to refurb and update, but constrained by the existing design of rooms. Small windows make the rooms dark and a little intimidating. The showers are great - but I would have liked the option of a bath. Executive lounge on top floor is good, with jacuzzi and chill area - and wide views over city. Swimming pool is huge, and great features - loungers in the water.
In summary, everything good except the rooms a little dated.

Room Tip: Ask for an inside room - street side is very noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarceloSantoDomingo, Director of Sales at Barcelo Santo Domingo, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2012

Dear Mr Stephen,

First of all thank you for visiting us at Barcelo Santo Domingo and contacting us with you review, as well as taking the time to write it.

We are happy to hear your kind comments!

We are specially glad you have noticed the renewals and general improvements on our facilities. As you said, we sometimes find ourselves, limited in these changes due to the main structure of the building, However in order to improve our guests experiences we do take suggestions such as yours, regarding the bathtubs, for future upgrades on our services.

The staff at Barcelo Santo Domingo works everyday on keeping our guests satisfied in both the executive floor and the rest of our rooms and restaurants.

Hopefully you will once again visit us.

Should you have any other comment, please don´t hesitate to let us know.

Best regards,

Katiuska Mendez

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santo Domingo hotels
1.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Santo Domingo
Crowne Plaza Santo Domingo
#9 of 80 in Santo Domingo
977 reviews
1.7 mi away
Boutique Hotel Palacio
Boutique Hotel Palacio
#15 of 80 in Santo Domingo
708 reviews
2 mi away
W&P Santo Domingo
W&P Santo Domingo
#21 of 80 in Santo Domingo
300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Radisson Hotel Santo Domingo
Radisson Hotel Santo Domingo
#12 of 80 in Santo Domingo
708 reviews
4.5 mi away
Dominican Fiesta Hotel & Casino
Dominican Fiesta Hotel & Casino
#19 of 80 in Santo Domingo
584 reviews
1.3 mi away
Sheraton Santo Domingo Hotel
Sheraton Santo Domingo Hotel
#5 of 80 in Santo Domingo
1,857 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barcelo Santo Domingo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelo Santo Domingo

Address: Avda. Maximo Gomez 53 | esq Avda. 27 Febrero, Santo Domingo 10203, Dominican Republic (Formerly Barcelo Lina)
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Santo Domingo Province > Santo Domingo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Casino Hotel in Santo Domingo
#7 Best Value Hotel in Santo Domingo
#13 Business Hotel in Santo Domingo
Price Range: $99 - $182 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Barcelo Santo Domingo 3.5*
Number of rooms: 216
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Barcelo, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Barcelo Santo Domingo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Santo Domingo Hotel Santo Domingo
Barcelo Hotel Lina
Hotel Lina Santo Domingo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing