We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Barcelo Santo Domingo
Ranked #11 of 80 Hotels in Santo Domingo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 14, 2012

Been visiting the Hotel since the old days when it was the LINA Hotel. Great location, very comfortable beds and spacious rooms.
Great value for price per night. The executive level personnel is properly oriented to service the customers.

Room Tip: Go to the executive floor for better service. Its worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julio G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarceloSantoDomingo, Director of Sales at Barcelo Santo Domingo, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2012

Dear Julio,

Thank you so much for taking the time to post this review!
It is important for us to know our guests opinions and experiences inorder to grow and improve our operations.

Please don´t hesitate to visit us again.

Best regards,

Katiuska Mendez

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,581)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

448 - 454 of 1,581 reviews

Reviewed October 27, 2012

Stayed here a couple of times on business. Hotel is trying to refurb and update, but constrained by the existing design of rooms. Small windows make the rooms dark and a little intimidating. The showers are great - but I would have liked the option of a bath. Executive lounge on top floor is good, with jacuzzi and chill area - and wide views over city. Swimming pool is huge, and great features - loungers in the water.
In summary, everything good except the rooms a little dated.

Room Tip: Ask for an inside room - street side is very noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarceloSantoDomingo, Director of Sales at Barcelo Santo Domingo, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2012

Dear Mr Stephen,

First of all thank you for visiting us at Barcelo Santo Domingo and contacting us with you review, as well as taking the time to write it.

We are happy to hear your kind comments!

We are specially glad you have noticed the renewals and general improvements on our facilities. As you said, we sometimes find ourselves, limited in these changes due to the main structure of the building, However in order to improve our guests experiences we do take suggestions such as yours, regarding the bathtubs, for future upgrades on our services.

The staff at Barcelo Santo Domingo works everyday on keeping our guests satisfied in both the executive floor and the rest of our rooms and restaurants.

Hopefully you will once again visit us.

Should you have any other comment, please don´t hesitate to let us know.

Best regards,

Katiuska Mendez

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2012

I stayed here in February and had a decent experience and decided to stay here again, but boy was I wrong in doing so. I should have just stayed somewhere else. I stayed here because of the decent location but totally not worth it. From the moment I checked in, it was a horror story. They kept my American License and claimed they gave it back and called me a liar. I had to wait to get a room even though check in time is at 3. I stayed on the 5th floor and in the middle of the night other guests where having a conversation right outside. I called the front desk and they didn't do anything to mediate the incident. I then needed towels as all the hotels in this country seem to have a towel deficiency problem. I had to call 3 times. I told them," you would think that if I call for a towel, it's because I need it now not tomorrow." Lastly, I was charged $8 US dollars for a bottle water. ARE YOU KIDDING ME???? It's amazing they do not charge you to breath there! The staff is rude and inadequate. I told one of them that if she doesn't like her job she should quit. Customer service is not their main goal. I will never stay here again. I am not a masochist.

Room Tip: Skip This Hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank yuyi23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarceloSantoDomingo, Director of Sales at Barcelo Santo Domingo, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2012

Dear traveller,

Thank you for contacting us with this inquiry.

First of all we would like to apologize for time in replying to your review.

We lament the experiences you had to go through during your stay at Barcelo Santo Domingo. We take into consideration all of our guest´s opinions and experiences as they help improve our services and facilties.

Having said this, we reassure you this feedback is taken seriously as a constructive opinion that allow us to detect errors and enhance our operations as well as other customer´s experiences.

Should you have any other comments please let us know.

Best regards,

Katiuska Mendez

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2012

very clean hotel with a good size casino, nice bars to relax in but the selling point of the barcelo is the rooms, one of the most comfortable beds i have ever been in and i didnt want to get out of the shower, amazing.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank veritasvosliberabit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarceloSantoDomingo, Director of Sales at Barcelo Santo Domingo, responded to this reviewResponded December 4, 2012

Dear Traveller,

Thank you for letting us know just how gratifying was your experience at Barceló Santo Domingo and for this kind review.

We invite you to repeat your stay with us.

Best regards,

Katiuska Mendez

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2012 via mobile

We have stayed at this hotel for years and it has really improved over time. The beds and linens are nice, big showers, the pool is lovely. The workout facilities have seen better days- I don't think they get used much. The breakfast buffet is large and yummy. The location is not really close to much if you are a tourist but if you need a place for a night or 2 it is nice.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jbeste
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarceloSantoDomingo, Director of Sales at Barcelo Santo Domingo, responded to this reviewResponded December 7, 2012

Dear Paul,

I would like to thank you for choosing Barceló Santo Domingo as you family vacation destination. At the same regretting taking so long to reply to your review, which we appreciate.

It is important for us to know each and every of our guests experience so we can work on improving our services. I want to apologize for the situations that caused a negative reflection on your stay.

Your highlights and comments on both our positive and strong areas, and the weaker ones, have helped us improve greatly by adressing each and every cons separately. While we watch out for our guests safety, we still understand guests may want to tour around Santo Domingo but always recommend them to call a taxi. Regarding the pool the schedule has been extended accordingly to the season.

I want to personally extend an invitation to you and your family to come back and try our facilities once more.

Kindly,

Katiuska Mendez

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

I had an overall good weekend at Barcelo in Santo Domingo. I would recommend this hotel.
The check in and check out was fast . The staff was mostly bilingual and very helpful. The room refrigerator was well stocked. The pool and pool bar was great!!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CarlCounts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarceloSantoDomingo, Director of Sales at Barcelo Santo Domingo, responded to this reviewResponded December 11, 2012

Dear Carl,

Thank you for choosing Barceló Santo Domingo as you vacation destination. I would also like express our gratitude for taking the time to write this review.

Do visit us again and relive the experience!

kindly,

Katiuska Mendez

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2012

Back again after they finished the renovations and I like it . I have no complaints at all and for the first time in all my trip's to DR I had a Damm good omelet. Check in was brisk at the premium club the room comfy and clean.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BigC_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarceloSantoDomingo, Director of Sales at Barcelo Santo Domingo, responded to this reviewResponded December 11, 2012

Dear traveler,

Thank you for taking part of your time to review Barceló Santo Domingo. We are happy to hear about your excellent experience with us.

Please feel free to come back again and taste our fab omelets once more, which you can enjoy with a wonderful view of Santo Domingo, if you are staying at our Club Premium.

Best of regards,

Katiuska Mendez

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santo Domingo
1.1 mi away
Radisson Hotel Santo Domingo
Radisson Hotel Santo Domingo
#12 of 80 in Santo Domingo
732 reviews
1.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Santo Domingo
Crowne Plaza Santo Domingo
#8 of 80 in Santo Domingo
998 reviews
2 mi away
W&P Santo Domingo
W&P Santo Domingo
#21 of 80 in Santo Domingo
309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Sheraton Santo Domingo Hotel
Sheraton Santo Domingo Hotel
#5 of 80 in Santo Domingo
1,883 reviews
99.6 mi away
Melia Caribe Tropical
97.9 mi away
Paradisus Punta Cana Resort
Paradisus Punta Cana Resort
#25 of 113 in Punta Cana
13,436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barcelo Santo Domingo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelo Santo Domingo

Address: Avda. Maximo Gomez 53 | esq Avda. 27 Febrero, Santo Domingo 10203, Dominican Republic (Formerly Barcelo Lina)
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Santo Domingo Province > Santo Domingo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Casino Hotel in Santo Domingo
#13 Business Hotel in Santo Domingo
Price Range: $106 - $217 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Barcelo Santo Domingo 3.5*
Number of rooms: 216
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Barcelo, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Barcelo Santo Domingo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Santo Domingo Hotel Santo Domingo
Barcelo Hotel Lina
Hotel Lina Santo Domingo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing