We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay and Food!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sheraton Santo Domingo Hotel
Ranked #6 of 80 Hotels in Santo Domingo
Reviewed March 2, 2014

We stayed at Hotel Magna 365 for 4 nights. Overall, the experience was very good! The hotel room was clean and had all the amenities we expected (comfy bed, cable TV, shower experience, views). The front desk folks are very helpful and show great client care attitude. The breakfast spread and the Italian food were excellent! The restaurant staff were excellent. They asked the kitchen staff to accommodate our dietary requirements. The exercise equipment in the fitness centre are new and great to use. The hotel location is great as well. The Independence Day parade was right in front of the hotel. The neighbourhood beside the hotel seemed safe and clean.

The renovation didn't bother us much. Once that's complete, the lobby and pool area experiences should be great.

We'd definitely recommend the hotel for people looking for accommodation in Santo Domingo!

Room Tip: Every room has ocean view. Higher the floor, the view is better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kiran M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Magna H, Guest Relations Manager at Sheraton Santo Domingo Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 3, 2014

Dear Kiran M,

Thank you for sharing your experience during your stay at our Hotel. It is great to know that you enjoyed our facilities as well as our service. We are becoming a Sheraton hotel very soon and it will be an honor to serve you in the near future.

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,916)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

996 - 1,002 of 1,916 reviews

Reviewed February 20, 2014

The Sheraton, formerly the Magna 365, is located on Avenida George Washington across from the Malecon ocean front overlooking the lighthouse at the mouth of the Sava River and ships that enter harbor. With spectacular views of the Caribbean Sea, it's just two kilometers from the old Colonial Zone and 35 minutes from Las Américas International Airport. The rooms all contain minibars and plasma televisions with cable programming, and video-game consoles. Wireless Internet access is extra unless the room is on one of the concierge floors. This completely renovated hotel sets a new high standard for Santo Domingo and Sr. Emil Perez, and the other managers, provide outstanding service.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SailorGene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Magna H, Guest Relations Manager at Sheraton Santo Domingo Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2014

Dear SailorGene,

We feel so grateful that you shared the experience of your stay with us; it is great to know that you had the opportunity to take advantage of our strategic location with spectacular ocean views and very close to our Colonial Zone and the International airport. As you know, we are becoming Sheraton very soon and we will have more facilities and services to offer to our guests. It was a pleasure for all our associates to serve you and be able to deliver a memorable stay at our Hotel. We hope to have you here again in the near future.

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2014

Even do some comments say they are under construction, when it will be finish this place will be even better. We had a very nice stay and it was great. Will definitely come back and will bring the family.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pascal M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Magna H, Guest Relations Manager at Sheraton Santo Domingo Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 15, 2014

Dear Pascal M,

Thank you for taking the time to write a comment about our Hotel. It is important for us to know that our associates did their best to make your stay memorable. We are becoming Sheraton very soon with more facilities and services to offer to our guests. We hope you give us the opportunity to keep serving you and your family in the near future.

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2014

If possible stay at executive floors. Enjoy Agrahan Santanas's personal attencion at the lounge.
Great haphy hour 5-7pm. Great free lunch if you stay there.


Highly recommended. Small construccion going on, but you will not notice.

Room Tip: Soon to become a Sheraton Hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ciberteco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Magna H, Guest Relations Manager at Sheraton Santo Domingo Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 27, 2014

Dear Ciberteco,

Thank you for your comments about your recent visit to the hotel. We are proud to received them and know that your enjoyed the experience. The hotel is in the transition to become a Sheraton and we will keep working to exceed your expectations. We will look forward to have the opportunity to serve you again in the near future.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2014

The hotel is currently going through an over hall so it's hard to rate. Construction aside... the breakfast buffet is phenomenal, gym very nice, pool area beautiful. Room was clean and spacious for 4 adults. Took advantage of the cappuccino maker at the front lobby, nice bonus. It's well located for sight seeing. Great restaurants in walking distance. Maribel De La Cruz is wonderful! She was a pleasure to have serving us! Really, the entire staff was a pleasure.

Room Tip: If you ask for a room overlooking the pool, you'll be sure to see the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Elizabeth P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Magna H, Guest Relations Manager at Sheraton Santo Domingo Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2014

Dear Elizabeth P,

Thank you for your review about your recent visit to our hotel. We are honored to know that you enjoyed the service given by our staff. We are finishing our process to become a Sheraton hotel shortly. It will be a pleasure to have another opportunity to serve again in the near future.

Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 25, 2013

Had a great time . Was there for six nights. Hotel was undergoing renovations but the staff made the best of the situation. Room was clean and we'll kept.
On first night originally given room on fifth floor. Requested higher floor and was moved with no problem. Food good. Only minor glitch was that I was charged for each device for wifi. But overall great and would return. Hope renovations finished in time!

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank duvort
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Magna H, Guest Relations Manager at Sheraton Santo Domingo Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 30, 2013

Dear duvort,

Thank you for your review about your visit to the hotel. It is great to know that you enjoyed the experience. We are doing our best to finish our process to become a Sheraton very soon and we hope to have the opportunity to keep serving you in the near future.

Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2013

I place 10-12 groups of people I host per year at this hotel and I get only great comments from everyone about the rooms, service (friendly and professional, the food, etc. Everything is done with quality. I have tried their food and it is delicious. Plus the hotel feels and is safe. Keep it up, you're doing an excellent job!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank marclaudi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Magna H, Guest Relations Manager at Sheraton Santo Domingo Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 30, 2013

Dear marclaudi,

Thank you for letting us know your comments about the service of the hotel. We are glad to see that our associates made a wonderful job with their service and it is important for us that our guests feel like at home. We hope to have the honor to serve you again in the near future.

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santo Domingo hotels
0.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Santo Domingo
Crowne Plaza Santo Domingo
#9 of 80 in Santo Domingo
1,027 reviews
0.1 mi away
Renaissance Santo Domingo Jaragua Hotel & Casino
2.9 mi away
JW Marriott Hotel Santo Domingo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Santo Domingo
0.9 mi away
Catalonia Santo Domingo
Catalonia Santo Domingo
#8 of 80 in Santo Domingo
555 reviews
2.3 mi away
Radisson Hotel Santo Domingo
Radisson Hotel Santo Domingo
#12 of 80 in Santo Domingo
741 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Santo Domingo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Santo Domingo Hotel

Address: 365 George Washington Avenue, Santo Domingo I0205, Dominican Republic (Formerly Melia Santo Domingo)
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Santo Domingo Province > Santo Domingo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Santo Domingo
#2 Family Hotel in Santo Domingo
#3 Romantic Hotel in Santo Domingo
#5 Luxury Hotel in Santo Domingo
Price Range: $116 - $196 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Santo Domingo Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 245
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sheraton Santo Domingo Hotel is a world-class hotel in Santa Domingo, Dominican Republic set in the heart of the city and offering spectacular views of the Caribbean Sea. We are just two kilometers from the city center and 35 minutes from Las Américas International Airport. Our hotel features 245 rooms and suites with breathtaking ocean views, catering and function space for up to 1000 people, gym, casino and world-class dining with 24-hour room service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Sheraton Santo Domingo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Santo Domingo Hotel Santo Domingo
Santo Domingo Melia
Sol Melia Santo Domingo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing