We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excelent”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sheraton Santo Domingo Hotel
Ranked #5 of 80 Hotels in Santo Domingo
Reviewed January 23, 2014

If possible stay at executive floors. Enjoy Agrahan Santanas's personal attencion at the lounge.
Great haphy hour 5-7pm. Great free lunch if you stay there.


Highly recommended. Small construccion going on, but you will not notice.

Room Tip: Soon to become a Sheraton Hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ciberteco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Magna H, Guest Relations Manager at Sheraton Santo Domingo Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 27, 2014

Dear Ciberteco,

Thank you for your comments about your recent visit to the hotel. We are proud to received them and know that your enjoyed the experience. The hotel is in the transition to become a Sheraton and we will keep working to exceed your expectations. We will look forward to have the opportunity to serve you again in the near future.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,860)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

965 - 971 of 1,860 reviews

Reviewed January 14, 2014

The hotel is currently going through an over hall so it's hard to rate. Construction aside... the breakfast buffet is phenomenal, gym very nice, pool area beautiful. Room was clean and spacious for 4 adults. Took advantage of the cappuccino maker at the front lobby, nice bonus. It's well located for sight seeing. Great restaurants in walking distance. Maribel De La Cruz is wonderful! She was a pleasure to have serving us! Really, the entire staff was a pleasure.

Room Tip: If you ask for a room overlooking the pool, you'll be sure to see the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Elizabeth P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Magna H, Guest Relations Manager at Sheraton Santo Domingo Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2014

Dear Elizabeth P,

Thank you for your review about your recent visit to our hotel. We are honored to know that you enjoyed the service given by our staff. We are finishing our process to become a Sheraton hotel shortly. It will be a pleasure to have another opportunity to serve again in the near future.

Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 25, 2013

Had a great time . Was there for six nights. Hotel was undergoing renovations but the staff made the best of the situation. Room was clean and we'll kept.
On first night originally given room on fifth floor. Requested higher floor and was moved with no problem. Food good. Only minor glitch was that I was charged for each device for wifi. But overall great and would return. Hope renovations finished in time!

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank duvort
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Magna H, Guest Relations Manager at Sheraton Santo Domingo Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 30, 2013

Dear duvort,

Thank you for your review about your visit to the hotel. It is great to know that you enjoyed the experience. We are doing our best to finish our process to become a Sheraton very soon and we hope to have the opportunity to keep serving you in the near future.

Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2013

I place 10-12 groups of people I host per year at this hotel and I get only great comments from everyone about the rooms, service (friendly and professional, the food, etc. Everything is done with quality. I have tried their food and it is delicious. Plus the hotel feels and is safe. Keep it up, you're doing an excellent job!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank marclaudi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Magna H, Guest Relations Manager at Sheraton Santo Domingo Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 30, 2013

Dear marclaudi,

Thank you for letting us know your comments about the service of the hotel. We are glad to see that our associates made a wonderful job with their service and it is important for us that our guests feel like at home. We hope to have the honor to serve you again in the near future.

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2013

I've been here about 4 times so far in the past 3 months and the staff at the hotel have been great to me! Even came to the rescue when I couldn't get my internet to connect, extremely professional and friendly! Two agents always stand out from the rest, Giselle and Masiel. It doesn't matter what time of the shift you call them you can rest assure that they will do their best to take care of you! Thank you Hotel Magna for the great stay and the great big comfortable rooms!
- John S.

Room Tip: All rooms have ocean view ;) enjoy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JaySua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Magna H, Guest Relations Manager at Sheraton Santo Domingo Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 10, 2013

Dear JaySua,

Thank you for letting us know your comments about your recent visit to our hotel. We are proud to know that our associates exceeded your expectations during your stay, specially at the Front Desk. It is always an honor to serve our clients and we hope we can have the opportunity to do our best to give you a wonderful experience during your trips to Santo Domingo.

Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2013

Liked this hotel, even during renovations. Location is good for business visit, about 45 minutes from the airport and on the edge of the center. View of the ocean is nice. Rooms & beds are spacious and comfortable. All solid international business level. Wifi was a bit tricky, but perhaps that was because of the work going on and made it work. Staff is friendly, breakfast ample. Dinner buffet was less good, but the restaurant had just changed over to a new location, so perhaps too early to tell. Would happily stay here again, Sheraton or not (and as a side note, even though I like Starbucks and one is coming, the local coffee is absolutely tasty!).

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank maurikei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Magna H, Guest Relations Manager at Sheraton Santo Domingo Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2013

Dear mbiz,

Thank you for write a review about your experience at the hotel. We are glad to know that we exceeded your expectations. Very soon the hotel will become a Sheraton with new facilities and services to offer to our guest . We hope to have the honor to serve you in your future trips to Santo Domingo.

Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2013

Nothing to write home about. Typical hotel and nothing out of the ordinary. I have stayed 3 times on business trips and unfortunately this time they were renovating the lobby as it has been taken over by Sheraton. Always get the feeling that they will be charging you for breathing. Staff is very courteous and helpful. Only had the buffet breakfast and it was well stock, specially with Dominican food.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank iberoguy01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Magna H, Guest Relations Manager at Sheraton Santo Domingo Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 28, 2013

Dear Iberoguy01,

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review about our hotel. We always look for exceed the expectations of our guest, our sincere apologies if you did not perceived it during your stay with us. The hotel is in the process to become a Sheraton very soon and all our associates will keep working hard to improve the experience of our guest in the hotel. We hope to have the privilege to serve you in the near future.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santo Domingo hotels
0.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Santo Domingo
Crowne Plaza Santo Domingo
#9 of 80 in Santo Domingo
979 reviews
0.1 mi away
Renaissance Santo Domingo Jaragua Hotel & Casino
2.9 mi away
JW Marriott Hotel Santo Domingo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Santo Domingo
1.1 mi away
Boutique Hotel Palacio
Boutique Hotel Palacio
#15 of 80 in Santo Domingo
708 reviews
0.9 mi away
Catalonia Santo Domingo
Catalonia Santo Domingo
#8 of 80 in Santo Domingo
512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Santo Domingo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Santo Domingo Hotel

Address: 365 George Washington Avenue, Santo Domingo I0205, Dominican Republic (Formerly Melia Santo Domingo)
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Santo Domingo Province > Santo Domingo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Santo Domingo
#2 Family Hotel in Santo Domingo
#3 Romantic Hotel in Santo Domingo
#5 Luxury Hotel in Santo Domingo
Price Range: $120 - $201 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Santo Domingo Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 245
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sheraton Santo Domingo Hotel is a world-class hotel in Santa Domingo, Dominican Republic set in the heart of the city and offering spectacular views of the Caribbean Sea. We are just two kilometers from the city center and 35 minutes from Las Américas International Airport. Our hotel features 245 rooms and suites with breathtaking ocean views, catering and function space for up to 1000 people, gym, casino and world-class dining with 24-hour room service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Sheraton Santo Domingo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Santo Domingo Hotel Santo Domingo
Santo Domingo Melia
Sol Melia Santo Domingo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing