We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a truly welcoming place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Villa Colonial
Ranked #15 of 78 Hotels in Santo Domingo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 2, 2014

I would not want to write a review which sounds so good that people might actually think it's a scam, but there is no other option to describe the great experience we had. The place is cosy, modern and authentic all at once. While this boutique hotel itself has a great ambiance, clean, stylish and well kept rooms, very pleasant pool and the outdoor area, the feeling of piece in the middle of all the activity in SD, the staff is what makes the real difference. As mentioned by other reviewers, hotel manager (Ramon) as well as the rest of the team went out of their way to make sure we have the best experience. You should definitely trust the recommendations given by Ramon - he will ensure you experience the absolute best SD has to offer. Enjoy! I wish I could go back soon!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Yaelyael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (230)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Villa Colonial
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

81 - 87 of 230 reviews

Reviewed March 27, 2014

Tried something new booking here and it ended up changing my entire perspective on boutique hotels. Was only supposed to stay one night but extended for three. This is an excellent property with exemplary staff. Value for money is excellent. And somehow quiet in a generally busy area!? You will be at peace the moment you walk through the door. Extraordinarily convenient to tourist area and even has parking which is normally a hassle in Colonial Zone. Was in town solo on business but imagine this would be a great place for couples. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Ground floor was very quiet.
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2hardtoplease
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2014

Colonial Villa was a beautiful little villa right in the heart of SD. The price can not be beat and the staff was exceptional. They ensured that we had everything we needed and went out of their way to take care of us. Perfect place for couples, families or solo travelers alike. We will definitely be going here again!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mtndoc4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2014

I love the staff we showed up late and they still were able to cater to us and were very pleasant - Billy and the owner Ramon were exceptional and the location is the best !!! right around the corner from the main street with a nice option of vendors - the cathedrals - parking was not a problem - byob and ice - very cozy and set apart i couldn't believe how nice and inexpensive the hotel room was for showing up so late on a saturday night !

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mrs u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2014

This is perhaps the best hotel I ever stayed in. Very convenient location, clean, extremely friendly and helpful stuff, and very reasonable price.

I stayed in Villa Colonial for 5 nights (first booked for 2 nights, then extended for 4 more, then had to leave a day earlier - they accommodated me with no problem). When I wanted to spend a day outside of the city, the hotel manager suggested a few possible day trips, and then on my request called Rancho Baiguate in Jarabacoia, scheduled rafting and horse riding excursions for me, and gave me very detailed instructions how to get there.

Also they gave me excellent suggestions for restaurants. Every time I followed their advice, I got into very good places. And every time I disregarded their advice and chose something on my own, it was not that good. So by the end I knew their suggestions are worth listening to.

Location of the hotel is just right for a sightseeing tourist - in the middle of the colonial zone. Rooms are clean, common areas are well decorated, there is a small pool which I used a lot.

The wifi signal was very weak in my room, and when I mentioned this to the hotel manager, he told me he is already aware of the problem and they will be replacing the entire wifi setup soon. Other than that, I have nothing to suggest to them on the improvement side. The hotel is just right for a quick tourist stay in Santo Domingo.

If I need to go to Santo Domingo again, I am very likely to use this hotel again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank DenisGurchenkov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2014

I can't say enough about the service provided by Ramon and his staff, made to feel very welcome
and full of advice about the city and the Dominican Republic.
Excellent value in a convenient location to explore colonial Santo Domingo, all the attractions are within walking distance. The pool and courtyard offer a relaxing atmosphere after trecking around the city.
Many thanks for a pleasant stay.
Sharon
,

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sharon_pretty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2014

We unfortunately had to cancel our reservation at the last minute. The terms of our reservation
would have had us pay for one night. Ramon most graciously would have none of that and gave us a full refund. He was most courteous to deal with and speaks excellent English.
Even though we were unable to stay there I would highly recommend this hotel.
Michael Keen

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank MKeen2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santo Domingo hotels
Boutique Hotel Palacio
#14 of 78 in Santo Domingo
698 reviews
Zona Colonial
El Beaterio Casa Museo
El Beaterio Casa Museo
#16 of 78 in Santo Domingo
273 reviews
Billini Hotel
#19 of 78 in Santo Domingo
231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Zona Colonial
Hodelpa Nicolas de Ovando
Hodelpa Nicolas de Ovando
#12 of 78 in Santo Domingo
811 reviews
Zona Colonial
Hotel Conde de Penalba
Hotel Conde de Penalba
#22 of 78 in Santo Domingo
171 reviews
Crowne Plaza Santo Domingo
#9 of 78 in Santo Domingo
969 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Colonial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Colonial

Address: Calle Sanchez No.157 | Zona Colonial, Santo Domingo 0432, Dominican Republic
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Santo Domingo Province > Santo Domingo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 78 Hotels in Santo Domingo
Price Range: $98 - $134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Villa Colonial 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Villa Colonial it's an Art Deco house from 1920's, with the most beautiful and original tiles from that time. The place is reserved for those who are seeking comfort and relaxation in the heart of the Colonial Zone in Santo Domingo, America's first city. We offer you an unique stay in our elegant rooms, all equipped with Cable TV, Air Conditioning, Safe Box, Small Fridge, Spacious and comfortable bathrooms. In our backyard, we have splendid tropical trees and a small pool to enjoy a refreshing swim. In the terrace, right in front of the pool, you can try our delicious continental breakfast, served with the best local products and the best customer service that you can get. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel Villa Colonial reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing