We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Secret garden oasis in the city! Perfect for families and singles alike.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Villa Colonial
Ranked #14 of 80 Hotels in Santo Domingo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 8, 2014

This is a wonderful little secret garden oasis hotel right in the colonial city! It is an amazing surprise when you step off the street into this beautiful small hotel. It is peaceful and calm, has a great little sitting area and garden, and the pool is perfect. The rooms are tastefully adorned in colonial style with all of the modern amenities. Ramon and his team make you feel as if you are family friends and cater to your every need. We stayed for ten days while waiting for our apartment to be ready, and they welcomed our two year old with open arms, even when he jumped on the couches and messed up the cushions every day. :) It is super quiet and truly a refuge from the busyness of the city, but also close to all the action if you want it. It is two blocks walk to El Conde, where you can roam the street vendors, get good local food, and see the historical sites, all within an easy walking radius. Felt very safe, even at night, and staff extremely attentive and helpful. Has a nice breakfast area where you can also sit and eat take-out for other meals, play games, check email, etc. It is sooooo much nicer than a large hotel. It's more like a boutique hotel, but at an affordable price. Truly a hidden gem and secret garden oasis! Don't look further. Stay here!

Room Tip: The rooms on the first floor are nice for families because easy access to the garden and pool. Ask f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Desiree S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (236)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

96 - 102 of 236 reviews

Reviewed February 6, 2014

We stayed for two nights and had a really pleasant stay. The hotel is very well located minutes walk from the main shopping street and the main attractions in the Zona Colonial. The room is simple yet has a colonial feel to it and reminded me of an actual colonial house I stayed in the Cuban town of Trinidad, it was quiet too as it was located at the rear of the hotel overlooking the garden.The bed was comfy and had cool white cotton sheets. The shower was hot and powerful and the towels were fresh and soft. The outdoor pool was perfect for cooling off in the afternoon heat of the day. Ramon, the manager and his staff were very friendly and were glad to help us with any questions we had. Altogether, I would happily recommend this Hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PlentyOToole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2014

I love this hotel. Stayed for 7 days on the second floor in room 11 with a bath and hot water! Very safe place, I just left my door and windows wide open. The manager even brought up breakfast to our room. It has airco and a big ceiling fan, so it is nice and cool and night. During the day you can cool of in the garden pool. The interior is tasteful decorated, with everywhere new furniture from Bali (Indonesia). It comes with breakfast included (fruit platter, coffee, eggs, bread and jam). So paying $85 a night including all taxes is good value for money. Tip: take cash dollars with you, for the manager can give you a discount on the room rate, since the banks charge such large commissions on card payments. Villa Colonial is situated in the colonial part of town, a 5 minutes walk to all the colonial highlights and the busy shopping street Conde.

Room Tip: First floor rooms have a high colonial ceilings and adjacent the garden. Second floor is nice and qu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank poalaerds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramon T, Gerente at Hotel Villa Colonial, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2014

Dear Peter,

Thank you for reviewing us and for sharing your experience with other travelers.

We're happy that you liked everything in our place. We thank again for choosing Hotel Villa Colonial.

We look forward to see you again!

Best regards,
Ramon Tejada
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2014

Small and lovely hotel, right in the Zona Colonial. I loved everything about this hotel. The place is so well maintained and decorated with taste, you immediately fall in love.
The staff at the reception are very welcoming, speak french, english and spanish and are always there to help you. They can suggest good restaurants in the neighbourhood, call you taxis (with better prices than the ones you find in the street), and inform you about activities to do around!
I am a very picky person regarding cleanliness in hotels, and Hotel Villa Colonial was an example of cleanliness. Not only is it very clean, but the details put in every room and all over the place are simply remarkables and make you feel at home!
The rooms on the first floor have very high ceilings and four-poster beds. Every rooms are decorated soberly, with good taste.
The small pool is perfect after long walks in the Zona Colonial and the breakfast included is complete and delicious.
I would go back without hesitation!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Noe2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramon T, Manager at Hotel Villa Colonial, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2014

Dear Costumer,

Thank you for reviewing us and for sharing your experience with other travelers.

We are constantly working on make you feel like home. It was pleasure to have you here.

Our staff is really glad about everything you said about the cleanliness, which is very important in the Hotels business. And again thank you, for choosing Hotel Villa Colonial.

We look forward to see you again!

Best regards,
Ramon Tejada
Manager
Hotel Villa Colonial

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2012

We stayed in 2 BB's in Santo Domingo and this one is a nice casa. Lot of space in the rooms, fridge, quiet with a small swimming pool.
When we visited the owner was not in and the service was a little bit approximative. All the time, we had the impression that any request was too much. We were almost the only customers but when we asked to see a certain number of rooms, that was difficult. We had only one towel in the bathroom and we had to ask a second one. We noticed that the room close to the reception desk is in fact used all the time by the people from the reception desk to watch TV if it is not occupied...Happy we did not have that one.
Breakfast is not good. A not enough baked croissant. The second they of our stay, we had even to insist for breakfast as the employee did not go to the bakery and apparently preferred not going....but finally did.

Room Tip: Not all rooms seem equal, so try to visit first. More humid downstairs and try to avoid the one clo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Orlando01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramon T, Gerente at Hotel Villa Colonial, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2013

We apologize for all the inconveniences. Management has changed. We invite you to try again the hotel if you are around in Santo Domingo.

Best Regards,
Ramon T
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2010

Please excuse me for my bad english as it is not my native language.
After checking fodor´s and Trip advisor me and my wife made a dicision to stay at this hotel from 21 july until 6 august to explore the colonial zone and also to celebrate the merenque festival which is a week long event held every year at the end of july.
We arrived at wednesday in the late evening and where welcomed by an young haitian man who said he was the night security.After paying him in cash 1152 us dollars (they do not take creditcard) he showed us the room.
The next morning we had our continental breakfast. We asked the person who made the breakfast where the owned is to meet him. She said he is living upstairs but do not talk to his guests. Later we asked here to tell the camarera do clean the room after 11.00 because we wanted to take another rest, she told us no problem because she is also the cleaning person. During our conversation an male person passed us without saying hello our goodmorning.She point us out that he is the boss/owner.I walked to him and proposed myself to him as the person that had emailcontact with him and asked for the proof of payment for the 16 days i paid the night before.He told me to go and get it by the person i paid too.
The next day our air conditioning was not working and we told that to the haitian fellow who open and close the entrance door because we do not get our own key to entrance the hotel.luckly we had an ceiling fan.Nothing happens after two days we decide to move to an other room.There the airco was working okay but the ceiling fan was broken.We asked the haitian fellow to make it but he say the boss do not want to.I asked to speak the owner but he did not wanted to talk to me, i asked the fellow why the owner does not talk to his clients he said the boss talk to nobody only via him our the camarera.
That day we went to explore the colonial zone and came back late afternoon.There was no toiletpaper put in the bathroom so i called for the camarera but she was already gone home so i asked another haitian fellow who replaced the other fellow for an roll of toiletpaper he said the owner has the key from the pantry and we have to waid until he come back.This happens many times.I then went to a colmado, which is a litle shop and bought some.
The next day i went to the room where the owner lived and knock on the door to talk to him but no one reply.I then heard from the haitian fellow that he went to an near town to pick up his young boyfriend ofcourse leaving no key from the pantry behind.
The next day we going to the town and i see the owner with a young guy entering the hotel and went to talk to him but he quickly ran into his room.Then we decided to leave the hotel and asked our money back but the haitian fellow said you are free to leave but will not get any money back this was direct order from the owner.So we had to stay hoping for the best.The following day we had an excursion planned and already paid for of the colonial zone and los tres ojos. We asked for an wake up call at 09.00 to have breakfast and then joint the excursion at 10.00. We wake up at 10.00 and asked the fellow why he did not wake us he said OOhhhh i see you come late yesterday and i think you go sleep late late............
Everyday we leave the hotel the haitian asked us when we come back and if we stay long time in town probaly then he could sleep because some times we have to wait a long time before he opens the door as we have no key for entrance.
They also sniff the room when we are not there because whe put somethings and see that the are put elsewhere and thats in the evening when there is no camarera working.Some days we go for diner in town and stay for one our and leave the airco on to return to a cold room when we come back after diner the airco is put out by the haitian fellow order from the owner they say.
Anyway we can continue for long time about this so called hotel.
We will not recomment this place to our friends or enemies.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank baroe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramon T, Gerente at Hotel Villa Colonial, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2013

We apologize for all the inconveniences. Management has changed. We invite you to try again the hotel if you are around.

Best Regards,
Ramon T
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2010

I stayed just for one night, it was great. The house has a beautiful terrace just on face of the pool, my room was nice and clean, and the breakfast excellent, very very French. They could do better with the service, but it’s ok. I definitely would go again.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RomerFrance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramon T, Gerente at Hotel Villa Colonial, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2013

We apologize for all the inconveniences. Management has changed. We invite you to try again the hotel if you are around.

Best Regards,
Ramon T
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santo Domingo hotels
Boutique Hotel Palacio
#16 of 80 in Santo Domingo
713 reviews
Zona Colonial
El Beaterio Casa Museo
El Beaterio Casa Museo
#15 of 80 in Santo Domingo
281 reviews
Zona Colonial
Hodelpa Nicolas de Ovando
Hodelpa Nicolas de Ovando
#13 of 80 in Santo Domingo
841 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Zona Colonial
Hotel Conde de Penalba
Hotel Conde de Penalba
#23 of 80 in Santo Domingo
173 reviews
Billini Hotel
#19 of 80 in Santo Domingo
244 reviews
W&P Santo Domingo
#21 of 80 in Santo Domingo
309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Colonial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Colonial

Address: Calle Sanchez No.157 | Zona Colonial, Santo Domingo 0432, Dominican Republic
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Santo Domingo Province > Santo Domingo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 80 Hotels in Santo Domingo
Price Range: $108 - $150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Villa Colonial 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Villa Colonial it's an Art Deco house from 1920's, with the most beautiful and original tiles from that time. The place is reserved for those who are seeking comfort and relaxation in the heart of the Colonial Zone in Santo Domingo, America's first city. We offer you an unique stay in our elegant rooms, all equipped with Cable TV, Air Conditioning, Safe Box, Small Fridge, Spacious and comfortable bathrooms. In our backyard, we have splendid tropical trees and a small pool to enjoy a refreshing swim. In the terrace, right in front of the pool, you can try our delicious continental breakfast, served with the best local products and the best customer service that you can get. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire and Orbitz so you can book your Hotel Villa Colonial reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing