We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice well situated place but service could be better”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Villa Colonial
Ranked #16 of 79 Hotels in Santo Domingo
Certificate of Excellence
Hannut, Belgium
Level Contributor
128 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Nice well situated place but service could be better”
Reviewed March 21, 2012

We stayed in 2 BB's in Santo Domingo and this one is a nice casa. Lot of space in the rooms, fridge, quiet with a small swimming pool.
When we visited the owner was not in and the service was a little bit approximative. All the time, we had the impression that any request was too much. We were almost the only customers but when we asked to see a certain number of rooms, that was difficult. We had only one towel in the bathroom and we had to ask a second one. We noticed that the room close to the reception desk is in fact used all the time by the people from the reception desk to watch TV if it is not occupied...Happy we did not have that one.
Breakfast is not good. A not enough baked croissant. The second they of our stay, we had even to insist for breakfast as the employee did not go to the bakery and apparently preferred not going....but finally did.

Room Tip: Not all rooms seem equal, so try to visit first. More humid downstairs and try to avoid the one clo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Orlando01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramon T, Gerente at Hotel Villa Colonial, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
We apologize for all the inconveniences. Management has changed. We invite you to try again the hotel if you are around in Santo Domingo.

Best Regards,
Ramon T
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    165
    45
    4
    4
    4
See reviews for
31
93
24
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2010

Please excuse me for my bad english as it is not my native language.
After checking fodor´s and Trip advisor me and my wife made a dicision to stay at this hotel from 21 july until 6 august to explore the colonial zone and also to celebrate the merenque festival which is a week long event held every year at the end of july.
We arrived at wednesday in the late evening and where welcomed by an young haitian man who said he was the night security.After paying him in cash 1152 us dollars (they do not take creditcard) he showed us the room.
The next morning we had our continental breakfast. We asked the person who made the breakfast where the owned is to meet him. She said he is living upstairs but do not talk to his guests. Later we asked here to tell the camarera do clean the room after 11.00 because we wanted to take another rest, she told us no problem because she is also the cleaning person. During our conversation an male person passed us without saying hello our goodmorning.She point us out that he is the boss/owner.I walked to him and proposed myself to him as the person that had emailcontact with him and asked for the proof of payment for the 16 days i paid the night before.He told me to go and get it by the person i paid too.
The next day our air conditioning was not working and we told that to the haitian fellow who open and close the entrance door because we do not get our own key to entrance the hotel.luckly we had an ceiling fan.Nothing happens after two days we decide to move to an other room.There the airco was working okay but the ceiling fan was broken.We asked the haitian fellow to make it but he say the boss do not want to.I asked to speak the owner but he did not wanted to talk to me, i asked the fellow why the owner does not talk to his clients he said the boss talk to nobody only via him our the camarera.
That day we went to explore the colonial zone and came back late afternoon.There was no toiletpaper put in the bathroom so i called for the camarera but she was already gone home so i asked another haitian fellow who replaced the other fellow for an roll of toiletpaper he said the owner has the key from the pantry and we have to waid until he come back.This happens many times.I then went to a colmado, which is a litle shop and bought some.
The next day i went to the room where the owner lived and knock on the door to talk to him but no one reply.I then heard from the haitian fellow that he went to an near town to pick up his young boyfriend ofcourse leaving no key from the pantry behind.
The next day we going to the town and i see the owner with a young guy entering the hotel and went to talk to him but he quickly ran into his room.Then we decided to leave the hotel and asked our money back but the haitian fellow said you are free to leave but will not get any money back this was direct order from the owner.So we had to stay hoping for the best.The following day we had an excursion planned and already paid for of the colonial zone and los tres ojos. We asked for an wake up call at 09.00 to have breakfast and then joint the excursion at 10.00. We wake up at 10.00 and asked the fellow why he did not wake us he said OOhhhh i see you come late yesterday and i think you go sleep late late............
Everyday we leave the hotel the haitian asked us when we come back and if we stay long time in town probaly then he could sleep because some times we have to wait a long time before he opens the door as we have no key for entrance.
They also sniff the room when we are not there because whe put somethings and see that the are put elsewhere and thats in the evening when there is no camarera working.Some days we go for diner in town and stay for one our and leave the airco on to return to a cold room when we come back after diner the airco is put out by the haitian fellow order from the owner they say.
Anyway we can continue for long time about this so called hotel.
We will not recomment this place to our friends or enemies.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank baroe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramon T, Gerente at Hotel Villa Colonial, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
We apologize for all the inconveniences. Management has changed. We invite you to try again the hotel if you are around.

Best Regards,
Ramon T
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 11, 2010

I stayed just for one night, it was great. The house has a beautiful terrace just on face of the pool, my room was nice and clean, and the breakfast excellent, very very French. They could do better with the service, but it’s ok. I definitely would go again.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RomerFrance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramon T, Gerente at Hotel Villa Colonial, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
We apologize for all the inconveniences. Management has changed. We invite you to try again the hotel if you are around.

Best Regards,
Ramon T
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santo Domingo hotels
Boutique Hotel Palacio
#15 of 79 in Santo Domingo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 673 reviews
Zona Colonial
Hodelpa Nicolas de Ovando
Hodelpa Nicolas de Ovando
#14 of 79 in Santo Domingo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 770 reviews
Crowne Plaza Santo Domingo
#8 of 79 in Santo Domingo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 880 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Zona Colonial
El Beaterio Casa Museo
El Beaterio Casa Museo
#12 of 79 in Santo Domingo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
Billini Hotel
#19 of 79 in Santo Domingo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 218 reviews
Casa Naemie
#20 of 79 in Santo Domingo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Colonial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Colonial

Property: Hotel Villa Colonial
Address: Calle Sanchez No.157 | Zona Colonial, Santo Domingo 0432, Dominican Republic
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Santo Domingo Province > Santo Domingo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 79 Hotels in Santo Domingo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Villa Colonial 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Villa Colonial it's an Art Deco house from 1920's, with the most beautiful and original tiles from that time. The place is reserved for those who are seeking comfort and relaxation in the heart of the Colonial Zone in Santo Domingo, America's first city. We offer you an unique stay in our elegant rooms, all equipped with Cable TV, Air Conditioning, Safe Box, Small Fridge, Spacious and comfortable bathrooms. In our backyard, we have splendid tropical trees and a small pool to enjoy a refreshing swim. In the terrace, right in front of the pool, you can try our delicious continental breakfast, served with the best local products and the best customer service that you can get. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Villa Colonial reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing