We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not a real Mexican restaurant”
Review of El Agave

El Agave
Ranked #130 of 619 Restaurants in Santo Domingo
Price range: $1 - $15
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Restaurante de autentica variada comida mexicana y excelentes margaritas
dom. rep.
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“not a real Mexican restaurant”
Reviewed June 6, 2013

menu very limited in Mexican dishes. service quick in the restarunt in Lope de Vega. food very ordinary without the normal dishes that accompany a Mexican dinner. perhaps if one has never eaten Tex Mex food or food in Mexico they might like it. however, in my opinion, an ordinary cafe with ordinary food that charges as if it were something special. would not return.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank volney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    51
    19
    16
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“In love with this place!!”
Reviewed April 21, 2013 via mobile

Delicious FOOD!! fabulous AMBIENCE! AMAZING SERVICE! FOOD PRICE IS OK!
the lemon margaritas are super yummy! im sooooo coming back!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PMTravel13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
2 reviews
“Great fresh Mex. Food”
Reviewed March 17, 2013

My husband and I went here for a late dinner and it was so delicious. We ordered their frozen strawberry and mango margaritas, and they were the best margaritas we have ever had. Most servers speak English, which was a great plus! The atmosphere was great. We sat outside! The food was fantastic. We ordered the enchiladas verdes and the burrito. Both AMAZING! We ate at the one on Av. Sarasota! Beautiful restaurant with a parking lot, along with valet parking!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jessica F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic
Level 6 Contributor
208 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“the decadence of the cantina”
Reviewed January 3, 2013

The Agave was without doubt the best mexican cantina in Santo Domingo. Her excellence Margarita de Tamarindo is really an "ambrosea" also his tampico Steak has the real taste from Mexican. But Lately some wrong is happening, most of the familiar hostess are out, and his nice atmosphere is dying. I hope La Cantina rebirth again and we continue having his excellece Taco Pastor and all his reall Mexican Dishes.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank berry1961_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitchener, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
89 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“La Cantina”
Reviewed November 20, 2012

Very good Mexican cuisine in Ciudad Colonial within a couple of blocks of the pedestrian street in Santo Domingo. Paco Gonzales was very helpful in recommending an excellent meal.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Max8219
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Agave also viewed

Santo Domingo, Santo Domingo Province
Santo Domingo, Santo Domingo Province
 
Santo Domingo, Santo Domingo Province
Santo Domingo, Santo Domingo Province
 

Been to El Agave? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing