We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great hotel for santo domingo”
Review of Hostal Riazor

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hostal Riazor
Ranked #30 of 79 Hotels in Santo Domingo
SALT LAKE CITY
Level Contributor
206 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
“great hotel for santo domingo”
Reviewed April 10, 2014

If your plan is to stay i an off beat location but safe and secure in Santo Domingo then Hostal Riazor is the place, directly behind the Jaragua Hotel it is conveniently located so you have access to both the Melia and the Jaragua pools, Casinos and restaurants. Hostal Riazor is a very clean well equipped hotel. Beds are a bit small as they are twins and not really full size queen, flat screen Tv's and fridge in room with great AC. No smells or carpet floors so very clean. The hotel restaurant next door is great and has good food and safe clean service. Prices are very reasonable, this hotel charges a flat rate and tax included so no surprises at check out like the others where you get charged 10% service fee and another 18% government tax. Traffic on the Independencia avenue is a bit of a nightmare so noise can be an issue in room closer to the avenue, back rooms are better for sound. Friendly staff and free internet, in room internet is a bit weak but they have placed new boosters. Overall very satisfied, I stay there every month and have done so for years. great value.

Room Tip: choose high rooms towards the back, less noisy from the traffic on the main avenue in front
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DIDIERGOLF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    19
    10
    1
    1
See reviews for
3
7
6
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
puerto rico
Level Contributor
81 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2013 via mobile

We liked this clean, small hotel in Santo Domingo. It was nicely decorated, modern and new. Friendly, attentive staff. Great book if you are on a budget. Breakfast included! Located near everything. Behind hotel Jaragua. Will return on our next trip.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank annayblacky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pine Valley, California
Level Contributor
89 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2012 via mobile

This hotel appears to have a lot going for. The location is excellent and there is a nice restaurant next door under the same ownership. The rooms, although good-sized, are a bit dreary, even for a two star hotel. Unfortunately, the location is a double-edged sword: Right on Independence Ave., the noise from car alarms, honking cars and muffler-less motorcycles is a significant drawback. As if the street noise were not enough, during my stay I was awoken about midnight by the sound of a very loud domino game coming through my window, even though I was on the third floor. A call to the front desk brought no improvement. Two hours later, still unable to sleep due to the ongoing domino game, I got dressed and went down to the lobby to register my complaint again and to investigate. To my amazement and dismay, I discovered that the domino game was being played on the hotel's front patio, and that the owner-manager and his buddies were the domino players. Although it meant the inconvenience of finding another hotel, I checked out that day, cutting short my intended stay. Needless to say I will never return to the Hostal Riazor.

Stayed December 2011
Helpful?
3 Thank RogerDR26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SALT LAKE CITY
Level Contributor
206 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2012

Great little hotel, directly behind the jaragua so if you have meetings or playing tennis or staying at a nice pool just cross the street. Great pricing, clean and good service, restaurant next door is clean and good. safe part of town. internet access only on lobby as wireless does not reach most rooms.

Room Tip: all rooms are good, I have stayed there 10 times in the past year and the beds are all a bit hard bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DIDIERGOLF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bayahibe, Dominican Republic
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2008

A friend recommended this hotel.
We stayed at this hotel few times when we had to do some stuff in Santo Domingo. It's a small hotel, very clean, personal friendly and speaking English (that is not that common in all hotels in DR), price is good, so if you want to stay close to the Colonial Zone and don't want to pay the high price, this is a place to stay. It's about 10-15 min walking distance from Colonial.
The price is about $ 50 for double room, including the breakfast that is served at the next door restaurant and it's not that great. Usually they don't have too much to choose from. But across the street is a great bakery/deli/eatery - they have great stuff there and very good prices.
If you are coming by a car, sometimes might be a problem with parking, but we were lucky all the times we stayed there.
They suggest to make a reservation ahead of time, but we never did and got a room there - it gets busy most of the time, so I would to do the reservation.

  • Liked — Great location, close to the tourist atractions
  • Disliked — The breakfast, but didn't bother us at all
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
7 Thank demi56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santo Domingo hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Plaza Del Sol
Hotel Plaza Del Sol
#31 of 79 in Santo Domingo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 33 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hotel Real Bella Vista
Hotel Real Bella Vista
#47 of 79 in Santo Domingo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Napolitano
Hotel Napolitano
#28 of 79 in Santo Domingo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hotel Aladino
Hotel Aladino
#29 of 79 in Santo Domingo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
1.8 mi away
Casa Naemie
Casa Naemie
#20 of 79 in Santo Domingo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
1.0 mi away
Plaza Florida Suites
Plaza Florida Suites
#26 of 79 in Santo Domingo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Riazor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Riazor

Property: Hostal Riazor
Address: Av. Independencia No. 457, Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Santo Domingo Province > Santo Domingo > Plaza De La Cultura
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 79 Hotels in Santo Domingo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hostal Riazor 3.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com and Hotel.de so you can book your Hostal Riazor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal Riazor Hotel Santo Domingo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing