We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extra Ordinary location”

El Meson De La Cava
Ranked #3 of 603 Restaurants in Santo Domingo
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $35
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Romantic, Large groups, Scenic view, Business meetings, Bar scene, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Validated Parking, Waitstaff
Description: Open since 1967, built inside a quaint natural cave, acclaimed by the New York Times as a landmark of the city of Santo Domingo. An eclectic cuisines characterize by fusions of local and Spanish dishes. Recently opened and outdoor terrace with a unique wood fire exterior kitchen, from where chefs interact with clients. The terrace has its own menu with a very excellent relation of value/quality. A recently installed elevator connects the lobby to some forty feet down to both the restaurant and the outside terrace. The terrace temperature is kept comfortable through the means of a misting system which adapts perfectly to the lush tropical garden. Live music is played every night from tuesday to friday. No cover charge.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
130 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Extra Ordinary location”
Reviewed January 3, 2013

We were invited by a dominican friend to this special location. The place was amazing, the food & wine was good and the service was good as well. Nice and extra ordinary experience.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Orly C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

797 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    455
    227
    65
    29
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Antwerp
Level Contributor
157 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Nice location, bad food”
Reviewed January 1, 2013

The fact the I gave it 2 stars is due to the fact that we were seated outside, in the nice garden. That was the only good thing. The food was just bad. As starter we had a risotto which was so heavily overcooked. The fact that it was new year's eve and probably quite busy can not be a pretext for such a bad risotto. The main dish had meat and lobster. Same remark for the lobster: heavily overcooked. As drinks we had ordered sangria. But after a while we discovered the smell of rum. In fact it was rum punch what they had served us. Probably because it was cheaper for them to make.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank edhimal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Natick, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Very cool place”
Reviewed December 27, 2012

This restaurant is built inside a cave. Easily the coolest setting for a restaurant. It makes for a very interesting experience when you're sitting an eating inside a cave. Their outdoor area is also very beautiful.
The food was good (not over-the-top good, but good). A bit pricey for the DR, but by Boston standards, it was ok (especially considering the setting). The staff were also very nice, and gave us a short tour of the place (definitely ask for one).

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank idin55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DFW
Level Contributor
176 reviews
113 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Beautiful setting!”
Reviewed December 4, 2012

We were taken to this restaurant for lunch as part of a tour. Our menu items were limited because we were with a large group. The steak was a little tough, but the food was all tasty and the serving sizes good (not too much, not too little). We didn't see prices because our meals were prepaid by the tour company. The setting was awesome and fun because it was different. Service was very good.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SusanDFW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michdartrey
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Exquisite atmosphere”
Reviewed November 17, 2012

Food choices were sufficient, excellent quality and quantity, but extremely high priced. We enjoyed the inner cavern's privacy for our party of 8, and they seated 2 with us but not in our party nearby easily, pleasantly.

Coolish--women will want a sweater in the evenings. Several atmospheres as you walk down steps--limiting for some of our elderly friends who chose for that reason not to go along. Not difficult to access or go up and down, however.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank michdartrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Meson De La Cava also viewed

Santo Domingo, Santo Domingo Province
Santo Domingo, Santo Domingo Province
 
Santo Domingo, Santo Domingo Province
Santo Domingo, Santo Domingo Province
 
Santo Domingo, Santo Domingo Province
Santo Domingo, Santo Domingo Province
 

Been to El Meson De La Cava? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing