We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good enough, not great...”

Aparthotel Condo-Parque & Venus Bar
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Aparthotel Condo-Parque & Venus Bar
Ranked #42 of 79 Hotels in Santo Domingo
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
121 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Good enough, not great...”
Reviewed January 8, 2013 via mobile

The room was not even close to being clean. You know there is a problem when the trash can in the room is full of food wrappers and empty bottles and there are crumbs on the bed.

But the location is good, service is excellent and friendly. Lockers in the room are small, enough for a purse but not for a backpack.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank c f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    14
    2
    3
    0
See reviews for
1
7
14
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jackson, Wyoming
Level Contributor
33 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2012

I found the amount of hotels in the Zona Colonial overwhelming. We tried this place for our first night in country because we would be out exploring anyway. We were impressed enough that we immediately booked a room for our last night in country as well. It is only a few blocks from the main Calle El Conde walking street and many of the historical sites. The street was pretty quiet late at night. Comfortable bed. Nice shower. We had a room with a little fridge. Plenty of storage shelves. The breakfast was better than most for free. Bread, ham, cheese, fruit, coffee and juice - although the second time around the breakfast was smaller for some reason. The bar prices were pretty high so we never had a drink there, but the open courtyard looked like a quaint place to do wifi and meet people. Overall I would say you get the same as all the other hotels, for half the price, as long as you aren't looking for anything fancy.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sunnylizard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
35 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed here two nights and really enjoyed it. The location is a short walk to lots of shops (calle el conde is best), the colonial sights, and the sea (the malecon is the sea wall). Right in the middle of lots to do. The accommodations are basic but comfortable, clean, and colorful. A nice hot shower, working A/C, and television with spanish channels. The only downside was our street-facing room got noisy early in the morning with lots of rush hour trucks, maybe get one that isn't right off the street. The owners were friendly and helpful when we needed directions or information. Eggs, toast, and ham are included in the morning in a sunny courtyard with a turtle pond. There's lots to see in the DR beyond Santo Domingo, but this is a good place to stay while you're there.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tr4velc4t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2012

Wifi Is on Ground-Floor where breakfast is served . You should ask for fruits and eggs if you wish them for Breakfast . They have a nice sunny roof-terrace . The owner Walter is friendly . Warm water is with Solar Energy , used it with care . We stayed 7 nights in room 31 . I have an hostel in Rio and my 2 advices will be to put Wifi in all rooms and plenty of fresh fruits for Breakfast . Walter , will you come to my Hostel , www.casa6ipanema.com ?
I will add , putting hooks and shelves .

Room Tip: I will ask for a room having a window to the patio , not the street ! Rooms 31 or 32 .
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank STEPHANE61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
179 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2011

I stayed there for 5 nights there and really enjoyed the hotel. Nothing fancy and over the top, but it meets your basic needs of a clean and comfortable bed and a clean shower. The room in which I stayed was very spacious. The air conditioning unit was a little quirky, but it was probably because I didn't know how to operate it. Simple and healthy breakfast. In general very quiet at night (since my room faced the back.) The hotel staff was very friendly and helpful, especially Altagarcia. She was simply a gem. The location is super convenient, walking distance to everything and everywhere...well, almost! I happily recommend it to anyone who wants to experience Santo Domingo's real life and not cooped up in a five-star hotel.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank beebahk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mainz
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2010

I spent three month during the summer of 2010 in Santo Domingo in this nice place.
All the guestes and the personell are quiet open minded, helpful and really friendly.
I used almost all types of rooms. The prices very really good, so that I can recommend this place also to students or internship members.
What I really want to emphasize is the cleanyness! I saw some hotels in Santo Domingo and Dominican Repúblic and this one was really the best! The location is really central to the most sights of city, so that you can reach a lot by foot. Very nice is also the breakfast which is included in the price and the 24/7 security lets you feel really comfortable.

So whenever you need a nice place, with nice people who are willed to help in anything and you want value for money this is the right place for you, I can recommend it to families as well as business travelers, singles and groups!

Thanks for the nice time there, I WILL COME BACK SOON!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank timm1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2009

I spent part of my holiday in this hotel right at the edge of the Zona Colonial.The rooms are O.K. and clean, the safety is also O.K. The hotel has an excellent location, the Colonial Zone is just around the corner. The owner is not always friendly and the service at the bar downstairs is very slow at times.
Some of the guests come up to the rooms accompanied by cheap and rude street prostitutes, at least when I was there it was like that.
Nevertheless I would recommend this small hotel to tourists who are not after much luxury. It is a decent place and you get a good value for your money.
At the bar downstairs you can meet some expatriates, mostly German or Swiss, who are regularly meeting there. They can give you some helpful advice.

  • Liked — The central location
  • Disliked — The oprostitutes going up to the rooms
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank Foxylady_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santo Domingo hotels
Gazcue
Green House Aparta Hotel
Green House Aparta Hotel
#40 of 79 in Santo Domingo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 13 reviews
Gazcue
Hotel La Danae
Hotel La Danae
#52 of 79 in Santo Domingo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 10 reviews
Hotel Monumental
#63 of 79 in Santo Domingo
3.0 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Maison Gautreaux
#67 of 79 in Santo Domingo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
Plaza De La Cultura
No photo provided
Carey House Hotel
#60 of 79 in Santo Domingo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 11 reviews
Hotel Discovery
#68 of 79 in Santo Domingo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aparthotel Condo-Parque & Venus Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aparthotel Condo-Parque & Venus Bar

Property: Aparthotel Condo-Parque & Venus Bar
Address: Calle Palo Hincado #165 | Zona Colonial, Santo Domingo 0100, Dominican Republic
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Santo Domingo Province > Santo Domingo > Zona Colonial
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 79 Hotels in Santo Domingo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Aparthotel Condo-Parque & Venus Bar 1.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your affordable stay in the zona colonial of santo domingo. Short walking distance to the seafront, historical sites, bars and restaurants with nightlife. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, HRS, Travelocity, Orbitz, HostelWorld, Hotels.com and Hotel.de so you can book your Aparthotel Condo-Parque & Venus Bar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing