We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“very interesting”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of El Limon

El Limon
Book In Advance
More Info
$93.99*
and up
Wilderness Day Trip from Samaná Including 4x4, Horseback Riding, and El Limón...
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“very interesting”
Reviewed October 4, 2013 via mobile

was taken to the ranch by truck was an interesting ride where we mounted our horses the ride down to the waterfall is very rough but very beautiful where u se pineapple coconut chocolate and advocadoes growing the waterfall is very beautiful the guides are absulutly great. and well worth the tip at the end areally good trip i will remember for ever

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank lyndavnolan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    119
    63
    44
    12
    11
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“tooooo expensive for the ride”
Reviewed September 23, 2013

first you will be invited upon your arrive to buy some local arts or tabaco,or rum, or what ever they can get you to buy, very very pushy and harrassing vendor, the take you for a ride in a horse but the part you dont know is the horse going on a small path very very unsafe, and muddy and the voluntier guide walks near you, the path is full down hills and pot holes, the horse has to balance during the ride down and very often slips, no recomendet to take your kids in this tour,ones the ride is done you will continiu walking down hill to the wather falls, the view is great and the water very refreshing after a long walk, the inconvinicen is the place is not to big to recive big crowds at once, try to enjoy the time there because thats it for the tour nothing else to do or see beside the waterfalls

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank flavio u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orangeville, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“El Limon Waterfalls”
Reviewed September 16, 2013

Visited the waterfall late Aug 2013 as it was advertised "the best attraction" in Samana. It was $85 pp. The trip is a short drive from the El Portillo hotel (30 min) and then it's a horseback ride on a rocky trail for about 1 hour to the actual waterfall. You can also get a cab from the hotel and walk the trail without a horse. The locals will try to sell their services to you, but it's really your choice.

The site is quite exotic and for nature lovers it is the real deal! Don't forget your swim suit and sunscreen as well as your hiking shoes...would not recommend flip-flops on this tour!!! Pack a backpack with snacks and juice or water for your own convenience.

You can take a dip in the lower fall, you can even try to get behind the fall, climb the rocks to get better pictures. The tour is usually busy, having at least 25 people. Overall is like a 4-5 hour trip or more.

What you need to know is that the tip for the guy who walks beside your horse is about $10-15 USD. We liked it!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Roxana S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best ever”
Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

I went horseback riding all the way to the waterfall. The views were amazing. Hiked down to the waterfall and was stunned by the beauty of it. Nature at its finest.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank EiiGhT2FouR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
74 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Amazing waterfall, please tip your horse guides well!!!!”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We stayed in Punta Cana and took the all-day Samana via plane excursion. We had an amazing time, but I am going to include some information and tips that I wish we had before venturing out.

First off, the Cessna ride to and from Punta Cana and Samana was a lot of fun and the pilot was great! When we arrived at the national airport near Samana, we hopped onto a tour bus and we went to a village where we learned about the local products there and even got to try some of them! They also have a hand-rolled cigar shop there where you can try a cigar for free and even buy some cigars for reasonable prices if you wish.

At the same location, you then put on mud boots and helmets and walk down the road to meet your horses and horse guide for the 30-45 minute ride to the waterfall. I will say that the horses were rather small for the most part, looked older and thin...and sometimes they did put people on these horses that were WAAAY too heavy. It is also questionable if the trails are appropriate for horses, as they are rocky, hilly and muddy. I do see that some people have noted animal cruelty...and yes, in the USA this would probably be considered animal cruelty...but we also need to remember that things are a little different in the D. Republic in terms of how people live and make a living. These horse guides own these horses and we found out that they ONLY make money from the tips that you give them...to both live and feed the horses. This is how they make a living! We tipped them the equivalent of 12-13 USD, but if we had known before that they only live on tips, we would have given at least $20. These guys work hard! Please tip them well! Did I feel bad for the horses, yes, but at least tip well in hopes that it will also go towards the care of the horses.

The waterfall itself was amazing and huge! Very beautiful. We then rode the horses back to the ranch/village and continued our trip to Cayo Levantado...which was great also but outside of the immediate El Limon area, so would need to go on a different review.

I definitely recommend this excursion, but if you feel too bad for the horses or are rather heavy for the horses, you have the option to walk the trail instead. Bringing a treat for the horses is also recommended and I wish that we had known that and brought them a treat.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank shannon18v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Limon also viewed

Samana Province, Dominican Republic
Samana Province, Dominican Republic
 
Samana Province, Dominican Republic
Parque Nacional del Este, La Altagracia Province
 

Been to El Limon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing