We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Even though can be congested with cruise group, worth it!”

Emerald Pool Nature Trail
Book In Advance
More Info
$187.50*
and up
Morne Trois Pitons National Park Day Trip from Roseau
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Waters from the 50-foot Emerald Falls plunge into this swirling, fern-filled basin, giving hikers a cool respite after a leisurely hike to this sight.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
58 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Even though can be congested with cruise group, worth it!”
Reviewed September 15, 2012

Don't just go to look, you must get in! The water was cold and refreshing. Be careful as you navigate the rocks, it can be slippery. After our 20 minute swim we felt great! Its a pretty good walk down with 98 stairs I think our guide told us. I was 7 months pregnant and still able to make it down and up with no problem. The hike was humid and it rained on us, but still worth it for the refreshing swim and beautiful view.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank flysaab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

380 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    195
    131
    44
    7
    3
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
63 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
Reviewed August 23, 2012

Beautiful place to exercise by walking trails that take you to the waterfall. To enter you have to pay money (I think $ 5) in addition to taxi ($ 20 per person) and probably as much a point of interest, this congested from other tourists as you cruise. As expected of a tropical forest the road is dirt and stone, you can say it is a moderate exercise, so it is not for a person recomenble severely diseased joints of the legs. I recommend you bring a bottle of water per person, before starting the walk. At the entrance you can buy water or snacks. The nature around you and the view is beautiful. Being a tropical forest waterfalls back after'll probably have thirst. The temperature is pleasant and the atmosphere is humid. The water is pretty cold, but if you go, do not forget to bring your towel and a change of dry clothes, it might inspire you to get in the water and you'll lose a good experience if you're not prepared.


The bathrooms are no better and no access for the disabled.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Ana1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Varnamo, Sweden
Level Contributor
85 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Amazing!!!”
Reviewed July 11, 2012

As close as paradise as you can come.
We were all alone when we visited, and it was amazing to have a bit of paradise for your self!
Dont miss out on this one!!!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank P-Freddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adamstown, Maryland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Emerald Pool - Dominica”
Reviewed July 9, 2012

My family and I absolutely LOVED this attraction! This is by far the best attraction we've seen! This is a very beautiful island, very relaxing! Not too much for those who want the nightlife, but for those who enjoy nature at it's best. The Emerald Pool was AMAZING! A little bit of a hike to the Emerald Pool, but once we saw how beautiful it was, it didn't matter how far we hiked. We were able to get into the Pool also which felt wonderful. The Emerald colored water is breathtaking! If you do visit this attraction, please wear sneakers/water shoes and carry flipflops/sandals once you're there at the Pool. You may want to take extra clothing/towels also. Upon arriving to the Emerald Pool, we went through a rainforest which our kids loved! Also, there are vendors before entering the Pool, make sure you purchase some sugar cane sticks and pineapple....very very good! Too bad we couldn't bring some back with us! This is a MUST SEE attraction!

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
3 Thank Chantel213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma
Level Contributor
87 reviews
43 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
Reviewed June 16, 2012

We visited the Emerald Pool as part of a cruise ship shore excursion. It is a 103 irregularly shaped steps down to the pool and an even more difficult 103 steps back up. If you don't want to climb down to it, there is a beautiful overlook not far from the trail entrance. You can swim in the pool if you wish. It is said to be the fountain of youth.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank okiesooner09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Emerald Pool Nature Trail also viewed

Morne Trois Pitons National Park, Saint Patrick Parish
Morne Trois Pitons National Park, Saint Patrick Parish
 
Dominica, Caribbean
 

Been to Emerald Pool Nature Trail? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing