We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chilled diving!”

ALDive & W.A.T.E.R Sports
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Dominica's newest marine operator. Underwater walls and topside waterfalls. Under sea and over land tours, children welcome, small groups only, specials for cruise passengers. R U wet yet?
st helens, uk
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Chilled diving!”
Reviewed November 23, 2013

The reefs of dominica are as nice as we have seen anywhere in the world and al dive know just how to help you enjoy the whole experience. We were lucky enough to have exclusive trips on all six of our dives, with bobby as our cheerful captain and Thomas as our great dive master! A really personal service, managed by Samantha and billy, and we cannot recommend them highly enough. Enjoy!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank smullys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    114
    6
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City, Kansas
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“ALDIVE, the BEST Dive Experience on Dominica”
Reviewed October 20, 2013

My first experience with ALDIVE occurred over 8 years ago during a visit to the island and subsequent trips after that; our first and continued experiences have alway been very positive. After visiting the island several times we had the opportunity to live on Dominica for 3 years during which time my family got to know owner Billy Lawrence, his wife Samantha and his family very well. Though my son and I did make a couple of dives with other shops during that time, we made dozens of dives with ALDIVE for a reason... the experience was always SAFE, the dives fun and Billy, Samantha and the rest of the ALDIVE team were/are always helpful and full of underwater and local knowledge that they readily share. ALDIVE is a small, family owned, business catering to singles, families, and small groups... NOT large "cattle herd" dives. Everyone on an ALDIVE boat and dive gets the personal attention expected, needed and hoped for. ALDIVE is also accommodating to cruise ship visitors and will pick you up at the dock for the quick 5-10 minute ride to their shop. Their equipment is well taken care of and there is a small restaurant on the premises that serves good local food. Expect to be treated fairly and honestly. You will be very pleased with your discovery of ALDIVE!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank limestone9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
110 reviews
70 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Great dive group”
Reviewed June 28, 2013

Our family was down in Dominica in early June. Even though we stayed at Ft. Young, we booked with AlDive, and we're very glad we did. The staff is incredibly personable, they take pride in their island their operations, and they are attentive guides.

They even showed a great deal of flexibility when one of our divers couldn't make one of the days due to illness, which wasn't necessary but truly was appreciated.

One of the biggest positives was how small the groups are they take out. Much more personalized than other, larger dive outfits.

Again, great experience overall, I'd definitely recommend

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Cmud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marathon
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Couldn't ask for more”
Reviewed May 13, 2013

Excellent customer service from start to finish. Equipment and boat were top notch. There were only 5 of us on the boat and on our way to the dive site we passed several "cattle" boats with way to many divers. Dive master was very professional and entertaining. He checked our buoyancy prior to the first dive and then took us on several relaxing dives, pausing frequently as he pointed out eels, turtles, lobsters and other beautiful creatures. My son had asked to see sea horses and they even found us a couple of these. What really sets them apart is all the little things they do for divers. Carrying all your gear to the boat, providing snacks and stories between dives and just making you feel welcome. After returning to the dock they even picked some almonds for us from the tree on their patio. We're very pleased we found ALDive and wouldn't think of using anyone else on our next trop to Dominica.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Barnettmi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alabama
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great experience”
Reviewed April 22, 2013

Billy, Bobby, Samantha, and Rudy provided exceptional service to us during our recent vacation and scuba diving in Dominica. Billy and Samantha are locals who own the dive operation, Billy is an exceptional dive master, assisted by Rudy and Bobby. They were careful to assure we had great dive experiences with interesting sites. I am an anxious diver, and they were especially attentive to safety. We had our own equipment, which they stored overnight for us since we spent multiple days diving with them. I would highly recommend this group for a great, personalized diving experience. I especially like the small group experience.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Vicki K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed ALDive & W.A.T.E.R Sports also viewed

Roseau, Saint George Parish
Portsmouth, Saint John Parish
 
Roseau, Saint George Parish
Roseau, Saint George Parish
 

Been to ALDive & W.A.T.E.R Sports? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing