We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't recommend ALDive”

ALDive & W.A.T.E.R Sports
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Dominica's newest marine operator. Underwater walls and topside waterfalls. Under sea and over land tours, children welcome, small groups only, specials for cruise passengers. R U wet yet?
Rogers, Arkansas
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Can't recommend ALDive”
Reviewed April 26, 2012

The morning started off a little rough with we had to make a hike to Samantha's pickup. Because of the time of day, she parked away from the cruise ship pier due to the traffic. That was completely understandable, but we had all our own gear (except tanks) and it was too heavy for me to carry that far. Thank goodness my husband is a strong man and could handle both our equipment bags. After completing all the paperwork and payment process, we're told to don our wet suits prior to getting in the boat because it wasn't big enough to allow freedom of movement. That was an understatement! It was an old beat-up wooden boat that would only allow one person at a time to stand up in. There were two crew, Allen was our dive master for my husband and I. There was one other gentleman that would take the other two passengers snorkeling while we dove. We first dove Scott's Head which was a fantastic wall dive! Unbelievable beautiful! However, Allen was difficult to keep up with. He swam ahead of us and it was up to us to keep up with him....it felt like we were running a race. He pointed out nothing and wouldn't allow us to go slow enough to really look at anything and there was so much to see! Next we went to Champagne and it was ok. Obviously the bubbles were fascinating and Allen did make it a point direct my hand over one of the larger vents to feel the warmth escaping from the vent. Other than that, the dive was fairly unremarkable. When we were taken back to their pier, there was a really nice dive boat there. Not sure, but it sounded like in listening to their conversation that it broke free in the storm the night before and they had just recovered it. I can only assume that is the boat we should have been on. We could have forgiven all, but unfortunately our dive master was so lacking. Scott's Head alone would have been enough to have made this a great dive, but we were rushed through it. There was only two of us so there was no excuse other than he wanted to get it over with.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
4 Thank BeverlyArkansas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    114
    6
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Orange County, CA
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
56 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“Dominica Diving”
Reviewed April 25, 2012

We were on a cruise and at this stop deciced to dive. Samantha at Aldive was good and professional. I thought that the dive operation was professional in getting the equiptment fitted and us on the boat. I have to say that I was not that impressed with the diving overall in Dominica. Understand that we only had two dives and yes we saw the bubbles and seahorses but still was not that impressed and probably would recommend other things like the waterfalls and such. My only complaint was that the dive operation really did not cater to the group. Having dove around the world it is common for operations to easily evaluate the divers and cater to their needs somewhat. We were an experienced group and were pretty much dealt with as new divers. All had computers and the dives just seemed to mechanical. This was not the case in Tortola and Barbados. We had really nice dives in Tortola and would not really recommend Barbados if you are an experienced diver. Again, staff was good and the operation was professional. After the dives we did go to the waterfalls...definiately something to see and do on your trip.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank travelerOrangeCounty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette, Louisiana
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
68 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“This is a fantasic place to dive, and ALDive is the people to help you get the most out of your dives.”
Reviewed March 5, 2012

We dove with ALDive while in Dominica. Samanatha picked us up from the cruise terminat and brought us to the shop. We needed extra gear and they proviided same to us for no cost. We saw (felt) hot rocks, bubbles at Champagne Reef, a great wall dive, seahorses, a lost cannon, etc. The DM took time to allow us to get photos, pointing out pleanty of wildlife for us to shoot.

They took us to a local village during our surface interval, and we got to marvel at the "natural" hot tubs they had at the seashore. All were quite nice, helpful and professional.

Al did not have the nitrox on line yet, but showed me the facility and indicated they have it but just need the tank labels. This was great, the people are great and it is a place we plan to return to as soon as we can. Actually, we are trying to put together a return trip to Dominica, if we can get several people to join us [cf: Rainbow Divers]

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Grady S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“amazing”
Reviewed January 25, 2012

aldive took six of us on a three hour whale watching tour.They were actually refered to us by captain Jerry from island style fishing who was unavailable on the day our cruise ship was in port because he had a research group out studying the sperm whales. We were not disappointed. I contacted Samantha by email and phone prior to our arrival she met us at our appointed destination, after a short ride we arrived at their shop and boat dock. We began to see whales shortly after sailing, six in all during the tour, it is absolutely breathtaking to observe these magnificent creatures so close and to also have a captain who was very knowledgeable, and respectfull of the whales and their surroundings.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank micki225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great choice”
Reviewed January 24, 2012

Dove one day (two dives) in early January with ALDive. They were located about a minute's drive from our hotel, but they picked us up and dropped us back off since it's a busy street with no shoulder. I thought that was very nice. I was a little put off when I first got there - everything felt very rushed, and I'm a new/nervous diver. I guess they have to rush because others are on a cruise ship schedule and ALDive had a boat going out once we returned.

Once we were on the boat though, everything was fine. They will do everything for you - setting up and putting away all the gear. The guide made everyone feel comfortable, and let our group dive according to our level. So that meant that one pair went up early (went through their air too fast) - the dive master made sure they went up safely then continued the dive with the rest. And another advanced couple was allowed to do their own thing, swimming deeper and longer than the rest (there were six of total in the group).

All in all, it was a great experience.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank travel186
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed ALDive & W.A.T.E.R Sports also viewed

Roseau, Saint George Parish
Roseau, Saint George Parish
 
Portsmouth, Saint John Parish
Salisbury, Saint Joseph Parish
 

Been to ALDive & W.A.T.E.R Sports? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing