We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice resort-style place with beachfront”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sunset Bay Club & SeaSide Dive Center
Ranked #4 of 21 Roseau B&B and Inns
Victoria, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
315 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 178 helpful votes
“Nice resort-style place with beachfront”
Reviewed December 10, 2010

We enjoyed staying here because it was a nice break from the very basic local food and simple accomodation we had found elsewhere. The meals were really fine. The proprietors are Belgian and there were lots of European people staying here so the atmosphere in the restaurant was relaxed and elegant. Staff were friendly enough.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank klimazz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sunsetbayclub, Public Relations Manager at Sunset Bay Club & SeaSide Dive Center, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    44
    11
    5
    7
See reviews for
21
46
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2008

While looking for a dive package to Dominica we found this location through our travel agent. The website shows a pretty little beach front property and has some photos and information about the meal plans and packages. Unfortunately it does not accurately describe the room accommodations which are simple to say the least. Our room also had no air conditioning and we woke to no hot water. The resorts excuse was that it was all on the website. The property caters to larger families and very small children could be seen and heard at all hours. When we booked we paid for boat diving, after we arrived they informed us the dive operation would be closed one day. We were told we could shore dive instead, which is free and unlimited. No credit was ever offered or received for the cancellation. We travel and dive extensively and never have we been so disappointed and felt more cheated after a vacation. The accommodations were not as advertised and were entirely unacceptable. If you are paying for budget you expect budget. In this case you pay a premium and leave feeling completely cheated.

  • Liked — The Island of Dominica where it is located
  • Disliked — everything else
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank CaboSeaHorse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sunsetbayclub, Sales & Marketing Manager at Sunset Bay Club & SeaSide Dive Center, responded to this review, October 18, 2009
As the new Sales & Marketing Representative for Sunset Bay Club, I was very concerned regarding the bad reviews we were receiving regarding our "all-inclusive plan". I have worked with the owners and we have now added many more daily choices to our all-inclusive menu. We will also be offering daily specials, including more local food.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London/Surrey
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2007

We stayed 8 nights in this hotel. It is definitely a place that grows on you the longer you stay. The owner/managers are very sincere in their dealings with the guests, ensuring you get to do what you want. They have their eccentricities [imagine running this place for 12 years!] but they are mostly positive ones. As for the hotel itself I would summarise it as follows:
Positives
1/ Value for money is outstanding. So we were thinking of things in £ terms but even so, for a family of 4 on full board basis, we paid £110 per night.
2/ Sincerity of the owners - in a quirky way they will help however they can. You only feel this as you get to know them better!
3/ Location is great. Okay, so you do not have a golden beach but instead you get a real experience - grey sand, pebbles and small rocks just offshore - all of which means it has not been manicured and prettified, but does mean lots of tropical fish if you take a look.
4/ Wildlife: great to have the lizards and iguanas roaming around as well as the humingbirds [3 species], bananquits and the bullfinches coming to the tables. [No doubt some will not like the occasional "iguana pooh" on the walkways...]
5/ Rooms and cleaners are excellent. Even the waiting staff, at first morose and crotchety, become more friendly as time went on. By the end we found them very decent indeed!
6/ The lobsters we ate. Yum. We had them twice [took a bit of pestering to get them twice as they are no so much rarer than before]. You would pay £20+ for one fresh[ish] lobster in the UK. At Sunset my wife and I ate 8 between us each time.

Things to work on:
1/ The meal / manu variety needs more input. We heard many complaints [mainly from the guests from Martinique nb French] that the meals were not up to it. I have to say chicken drumsticks were in abundance - where the breast meat went I do not know!
The evening meals do need a bit more variety / imagination, but I will say that what I ate was always tasty and good quality.
2/ Swimming pool was just about ok. Not that clean and one or two sharply cut tiles made for a hazard.
3/ Rooms nice and clean but could have been a bit larger and more sympathetically made [more use of local timber / set diagaonally to give a more individual feel].
So on balance I would give the place a thumbs up.

  • Liked — Individuality
  • Disliked — Lacklsutre menu
  • Stayed August 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Valueseeker13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sunsetbayclub, Public Relations Manager at Sunset Bay Club & SeaSide Dive Center, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Thank you for your review. We do hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
175 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 281 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2007

We had booked the Sunset Bay Club based on a recommendation from a fellow diver that we had met on another trip. Since then the dive staff has changed. The diving in Dominica is some of the best and the shore diving in front of the hotel is excellent. However, we did have problems with the shore diving arrrangements at the hotel. The hotel listed the diving as "unlimited shore diving". Based on our previous experience at other islands, unlimited shore diving usually meant 24 hour diving. This was not the case here. They limited the shore diving to 1 shore dive per day. We had wanted to do a night dive, but they required that a dive master be on site and the one divemaster (employee) they had did not want to come back at night. The boat diving was excellent with freelance divemasters, one of whom was a marine biologist.

The hotel is well-maintained and has beautiful landscaped grounds. The rooms are not air-conditioned and did get hot during the night, but cooled off in the early morning hours.

The food tended to be boring and monotonous. We were on the all-inclusive plan and had only a choice of fish or chicken for dinner each night. For three nights in a row, we had tuna. We did not get the lobster dinner that was part of the all-inclusive 7 night package because no lobster was available that night. If you are on this package, make sure you get the lobster dinner when you see that they are serving lobster. Lunches were some combination of ham, cheese or hamburger (though the hamburgers were quite good). The restaurant wait staff is wonderful. They are always pleasant and served with a smile! Overall, we were quite disappointed in the food. First, since this is a Caribbean island, we were expecting more local food and more fresh vegetables. Second, since the chef is Belgian, we did expect more variety and better presentation.

We felt that the hotel management treated guests differently based on the language they spoke. As this is a Belgian owned operation, French and German guests seemed to be treated better (i.e. friendlier) than we were. We were the only Americans at the resort at this time.

  • Liked — Access to diving
  • Disliked — Food and management
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 2skidivers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sunsetbayclub, Public Relations Manager at Sunset Bay Club & SeaSide Dive Center, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
Thank you for being so Frank with us. We once again would like to thank you for choosing Sunset Bay Club as your hotel of choice when you were in Dominica.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowling Green, Ohio
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2007

Sunset Bay Club was even prettier than their website gave them credit
for! The landscaping was incredible with loads of green trees, plants, flowers and even a freshwater area with water plants and lots
of crabs. They made their resort as pretty as the lush island itself and it was very peaceful. The rooms were nice and clean and the fan worked quite well - we were actually glad there wasn't any air-conditioning... the only sounds heard were from the frogs and insects
at night and all the singing birds in the morning. Around lunch time,
there were a lot of large iguanas roaming the resort and we must have
taken over 20 pictures of them.


The four of us rented a car on this second trip to Dominica as our only regret two years ago was that Dan and I didn't experience enough
of the beautiful island. Last time we swam in Middleham Falls and Tituo Gorge. This year we ventured out four times in the afternoons after diving. After we figured out driving on the opposite side of the narrow twisty roads, we hiked the easy trail leading to Trafalgar
Falls on Sunday and brought our masks and snorkels. We found lots of freshwater gobies, crabs and even a pair of sunglasses after we adjusted to the cold water. Another day we hiked into Spanny Falls and loved it. One of our dive masters, Izzy, told us to make sure we found the second waterfall that most people didn't know about. He said to look for a rope coming down the hills and pull yourself up and over. We were rewarded with another pretty waterfall to swim in. On Wednesday, we had the day off from diving and ate breakfast and drove to Boiling Lake. Wow, what an adventure that was in the rainforest!!! It rained a few times while we hiked and it felt great.
The really interesting part of the hike was going through the Valley of Desolation. It looked like a mini "Yellowstone" with all the bubbling mud and steam releasing from the ground all over the place. The colors were spectacular! Then we reached Boiling Lake and ate the
lunch the resort packed for us and enjoyed seeing the middle boil every few minutes. The steam and sulfur were everywhere up top. When the wind blew, we managed to take a few pictures showing what it looked like. Then we headed back down. It was a very fun six hour round trip hike! My calf muscles reminded me of the hike the next two days. :^) The final spot we checked out was the Freshwater Lake.

The diving pace was very easy... breakfast (watching all the humming birds) and then when everyone was done, off we went - no real schedule. The boats were very small, but did the job. We normally had
6 divers on board and one day there were the maximum of 8. The five days of two tank morning dives were enjoyable - we saw three Seahorses, lots of Ballonfish, Eels, one Turtle and tons of Channel Crabs. Rina's Hole was among the best of the week. Diving is my favorite sport ever, so I can't complain... however, the diving in the Southern part of the island at Scott's Head Marine Reserve is significantly prettier than this area was. Unfortunately, there is a lot of fishing activity on this side of the island and the marine life is much less. If you can afford to do so, I recommend paying the
extra fee to get to go to Scott's Head.


As always, our trip was wonderful and it was nice to get away from everything (no phones, tv's or radios). The only piece of information
that I think is important to note is that while Sunset Bay Club is a beautiful resort, it really is not a true dedicated dive resort. We expected to get to dive the reef off the shore and were not allowed to until we pleaded with management one day. The package posts "free unlimited shore diving from Batalie Reef" and this was not true. We would have liked to have done this more than once, but there was confusion within the dive shop and resort management. The trip was still excellent, but if someone is looking to be a "diveaholic" as we normally are, it won't happen here. But hopefully that won't prevent anyone from coming since there are plenty of other activities
to do in the rainforest!

Another interesting tidbit is that they are filming Survivor Dominica
right now!!! We even have pictures! Ha! Two years ago it was the Pirates of the Caribbean II & III. Dominica is becoming a name people
will know! My advise is to get there before everyone finds out about this jewel of an island.

Thanks,
Traci Bash

PS. one last thing to consider is the "All inclusive plan" - breakfast is good (fresh fruit & juice every day), lunches were great
with many choices, but the dinners were below average. The soups were
wonderful, but the meal choices were the same EVERY night all week - chicken wings/thigh, a thin steak or one type of fish. The menu for the non-inclusive had many more choices that would have been nice.

  • Liked — Remote location, scuba, hiking
  • Disliked — dinner
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bashduo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sunsetbayclub, Public Relations Manager at Sunset Bay Club & SeaSide Dive Center, responded to this review, April 13, 2013
Thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2007

5 of our 10 day trip to Dominica was spent at the Sunset Bay Club. We felt it was2 days too many at this hotel. The Dive shop and dive staff are firet rate. The diving is easy and beautiful. The hotel is immaculate. What we were dissipointed in is the so called "all inclusive" plan. If you choose this know that you will have a different menu from everbody else. The way we found out was on the first night we were there, the people on the table next to us were dining on a big pile of lobsters the people on the other side of us had big swordfish steaks. We were told we could not have these choices because were on the "All incl "plan and if we did it wld be an extra charge. We had a choice of chicken or steak and a salad. The chicken was one small dried out piece of thigh and the salad was a couple of leaves of lettuce with a pile of shredded carrots in the middle, one slice of tomato, one slice of cucumber, one slice of christophene. The main entre choices are the same every night for the all inclusives. The real menu is varied and interesting and the prices are reasonable. Weactually would have saved money by paying for each meal.The only good thing about "all inclusive is all the alcohol you can drink.

  • Liked — the cleanliness
  • Disliked — the "all inclusive
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank sunnyislanddiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sunsetbayclub, Public Relations Manager at Sunset Bay Club & SeaSide Dive Center, responded to this review, April 13, 2013
Thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CONNECTICUT
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2007

This resort is a little bit of paradise with old world ambiance. The owners, Roger and Marcella (Madame), are from Belgium and were very friendly and solicitous of our every need. While this resort isn't luxurious the ambiance and the service of the owners and the staff pushed my rating up to the "excellent" level. The resort is meticulously maintained and beautifull landscaped with a wide variety of trees, bushes, flowers, etc.

We were four gentlemen in our 50's/60's who came here specifically for scuba diving. The diving is very good with healthy reefs full of color and a blend of wide angle/macro opportunities for u/w photo and videos. This was the first time I got video of an octopus "inking" me when it was trying to avoid my dive buddy and blundered into me. Also got footage of sea horses, squid, flying gunards, turtles and many colorful reef fish. The house reef excellent for shore dives and night dives. Location of resort allows dive trips to both the north and south ends of the island for the best diving in volcanic caldera's.

We are used to "roughing" it but others may be a little uncomfortable with wading into the water thigh deep on fist sized,rounded rocks and loading their dive gear onto the back of the dive boat. The two boats are "six packs" and, while not spacious, are adequate and fast. Entry is a back roll, exit from water on rear ladder. Dive shop, rinse tank, and hanging rack are onsite by the beach. Gear can be left there safely overnight.

We enthusiastically recommend the all inclusive plan. Roger is a gourmet cook and you will not find better food on the island. Many locals come there for evening dinners.

We will never forget the lobster tail night when we stuffed ourselves with perfectly prepared and seasoned tails. Don't pass up Roger's soups for even one night.!!! Oh, did I mention the desserts!!!

The food and drinks were all first rate and we enjoyed them every day while sitting in the open air restaurant watching the humming birds or on the patio under the almond trees watching the Caribbean and the magnificent sunsets.

On the last day Marcella arranged a whole day tour of the island for us. (She furnishes lunch coolers for longsightseeing, dive, snorkling or whale watching trips.) We visted the emerald pool, beautiful falls, rainforest, hot springs and the town of Rousseau. Excellent trip, but be prepared for narrow, bumpy roads up through the mountains.

If you want luxury go someplace else. If you want a jewel of a small resort and personallized catering to your every need make reservations here!!!!

Thank you Roger and Marcella for a truly unforgettable vacation!!

Stayed February 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank scuba7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sunsetbayclub, Front Office Manager at Sunset Bay Club & SeaSide Dive Center, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
Thank you for your review. Customer satisfaction is our motto here at Sunset Bay Club and we will continue to do everything to keep you our valued customers satisfied.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Roseau
3549.3 mi away
Secret Bay
Secret Bay
#1 of 4 in Portsmouth
488 reviews
3565.7 mi away
Fort Young Hotel
Fort Young Hotel
#1 of 7 in Roseau
855 reviews
3566.9 mi away
Castle Comfort Dive Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3549.9 mi away
The Champs, Hotel, Restaurant & Bar
3566.7 mi away
Anchorage Hotel & Dive Center
3556.8 mi away
The Tamarind Tree Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunset Bay Club & SeaSide Dive Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Bay Club & SeaSide Dive Center

Property: Sunset Bay Club & SeaSide Dive Center
Address: Batalie Beach | P.O. Coulibistrie, Roseau, Dominica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominica > Saint George Parish > Roseau
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Roseau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A cozy, beachfront hotel conveniently located in the center of Dominica's west coast. We offer all-inclusive or bed & breakfast plans to suite your needs. Our dive center, located on our private beach, offers morning boat dives, snorkeling and whale watching or relax at our pool and sauna located in our tropical garden. Come and enjoy a relaxing experience you will never forget. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Sunset Bay Club & SeaSide Dive Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunset Bay Club And Seaside Dive Center
Sunset Bay Club & Seaside Dive Hotel Roseau
Sunset Bay Club & SeaSide Dive Center Dominica/Roseau

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing