We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Diving sunset bay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sunset Bay Club & SeaSide Dive Center
Ranked #4 of 21 Roseau B&B and Inns
Reviewed April 20, 2014

Good little dive centre, excellent dive master who made every dive instructive and informative nice hotel but a remote location but on the plus side very quiet and relaxing .The owners Rodger and Marcella always on hand tom assist with any problems.

Room Tip: Car required if you want to explore the island after diving
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Williethehobo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (100)
There are newer reviews for Sunset Bay Club & SeaSide Dive Center
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

11 - 17 of 100 reviews

Reviewed March 20, 2014 via mobile

Our preferred dive club was having a student day, and arranged for us to have a day with sunset. The place is nice enough from what I saw, but having paid, I was told we were shore diving on the house reef.. It may be a lovely dive (it could equally be poor), but I didn't bring my own gear half way round the world to then pay 86 USD for a 2 tank dive, to then walk in from the hotel beach.. Nor to be talked about behind my back, in French, by the Divemaster (just cos I'm a Brit - don't assume I don't speak French). I dived elsewhere..

Stayed: March 2014
1  Thank Rollingstoppie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sunsetbayclub, Dive master at Sunset Bay Club & SeaSide Dive Center, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2014

Sir, diving is diving, from boat, shore or what you want... In Sunset, we satisfy 100 % of our divers.
Our home reef is an amazing dive, with 3 kinds of reef, (1 from big stones, the second as a pure reef and the third is a pinnacle), we used to see barracuda, alone or in school, turtle, sting ray, carribean batfish and sea horse... In the same 90 fts dive.

I informed you that three of my clients were french and i never spoke behind your back except to explain to them what your dissatisfaction was.
I reminded you, i was diving for 5 days with my clients and one of them was finishing this day. Everything was on schedule already and it was not possible to dive one more time on a same site.
If one day you want appreciate diving, be free to come by us, you'll be welcome.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2014

We stayed at Sunset Bay Club recently and very much enjoyed the excellent food, the Brazilian lobster is extraordinary. Note they charge extra for the butter and lemon sauce to dip the lobster which is rather odd. Marcela, one of the owners is very nice and accommodating. Roger, her husband is always lurking around the restaurant and is well know for being abusive to the staff and his wonderful wife. I plan to return to Dominica and will come for dinner to Sunset Bay but probably not stay there.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank WorldClassBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sunsetbayclub, Owner at Sunset Bay Club & SeaSide Dive Center, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2014

Thank you so much for your review. Please be informed that my husband lurking around is to ensure that staff is working to their best of their abilities and to ensure that all customers are given proper service as is required. We look forward to your return with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2014

Went to the Sunset Bay Club restaurant on two occasions, once in November 2013, and the second time in January 2014. The owner really goes out of his way to treat you like family. Greets you at the table with an aperitif - a shot of Schnapps! Had the pan fried lobster both times. The first time it was a plate of 5-6 smaller lobsters, accompanied by french fries and salad. Best lobster I have ever had - pan fried to perfection - sweet and delicious.

The second time we were there, in January, we were at first heart-broken to learn upon our arrival that they were out of lobster. The waitress offered to us that some local guys were coming, and if we were patient, lobsters would arrive. So we decided to order some beers and a bucket of mussels. The mussels were fantastic - sautéed in white wine with garlic. About 40 minutes later, much to our delight, a truck pulled up and two local fishermen came walking in with a large burlap bag full of lobsters! These unlucky lobsters had been swimming happily only hours before, and now they made their way to the kitchen. As these lobsters were larger, we "only" got three of them - each. Again, they were perfect and delicious.

I would highly recommend this dining experience. It is most easily reached if you are staying in the Roseau area, about a 40 minute drive. I can't really comment on the hotel side, other than to say the location is beautiful, right on a small sandy beach facing west to delightful sunsets.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rumrunnerfrank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sunsetbayclub, Public Relations Manager at Sunset Bay Club & SeaSide Dive Center, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2014

Thank you so very much for taking the time to review our Lobster Palace Restaurant. We are indeed elated that you were satisfied and you enjoyed dining at our restaurant. Thanks for sharing photos as well. We hope to see you some other time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2014

The husband owner is not a very approachable person. He seemed more like a tyrant to his employees while trying to appear cordial to his guests. I was at their beach area and he was yelling at his employee(s) and slamming the door (a few times) in front of us and some other people. Very unprofessional. When we tried to complement the staff, he made it sounds like they were only good because he was "The Boss".

The diving area was great. This place though does not have the best dive boats...in fact, their dive boats are minimal. Very crowded and not very easy to get back on after a dive unless you are in good shape. The dive masters were great and helpful. They need to upgrade their boats...not suitable for a large dive party. They advertise unlimited shore dive, but when we did the shore dive by ourselves it seem to be a contentious issue. Not sure why.

The rooms do not have air conditioning (which was not a real problem for us since it was cool). But I could see this being a problem if it was hot evenings. The towels seemed to be the original towels since the place opened...stiff and like sand paper.

The staff was very nice and accommodating. Food was good as well. The grounds are very nice. Spacious grounds with nice plants, a beach area, and a nice pool area.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank D0wnNDirty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sunsetbayclub, Owner at Sunset Bay Club & SeaSide Dive Center, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2014

Thank you for your review. At Sunset Bay Club we try our best to keep customers satisfied. At the time of your stay if you experienced an altercation between the manager and a staff member that's because that staff was not working in accordance with the policies that we have set at our establishment, he was refusing to take care of one of our most expensive diving equipment . We are sorry that you were able to witness that but it is not something that happens here frequently. We management try to give 100 % service to our customers as VIP's. We do hope that you accept our apologies for the inconvenience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2014

Our dive group stayed here and this place has some problems.

DIVING
They advertise as a dive resort but don't have a full time dive staff. When they have divers, they contract with some freelance Divemasters to do the dives. The boats are very small and slippery. One of our divers slipped getting into the boat and was hurting for both dives and missed the next day. The two Divemasters we had were very good but without organized procedures for gear storage and rentals it's a sloppy operation. They don't have any large shore rinse tanks for gear or an onboard mask bucket.

ROOMS
The rooms are very small with only beds, a closet and a nightstand. They do not have air-conditioning so you must sleep with the windows open. They do have a ceiling fan. Other than a small soap and toilet paper, there are no other toiletries.

SMOKING
Because you have to leave your windows open for ventilation, the smoke from smokers sitting outside their rooms blows through yours. Most guests are European and they tend to do a lot of smoking.

DINING
Some staff isn't very swift at getting orders correct. My cheeseburger came without cheese and my tuna salad came without tuna. One night they were hosting some private parties for the locals and the all-inclusive guests were mostly ignored. We never got desert that night.

CHECK IN STAFF
It doesn't seem like they know what they are doing. They wanted our passport numbers and wrote them all on one piece of paper with no names. Our group had four rooms and they took us around and let us pick from the four rooms. As a result, they had no idea who was in what room.

MANAGEMENT
We had a problem booking transportation to the airport. The owner/manager/wife got upset, yelled at us and never even mentioned that she was sorry. AS a result, one guest had to get up a 4AM and then sit around the airport until 10:15AM.

SANITATION
The restaurant has lots of birds flying around. If the staff sits a drink on the bar, a bird will perch on the rim and drink from the glass. This happens almost all the time. The tap water has silt in it after a rain.

HOT WATER
Hot water for a shower is hit and miss since each building has solar water heating. Better be first to take a shower.

WI-FI
Wi-Fi seemed to work OK one the office was occupied. Sometimes it didn't work overnight.

CLEANING STAFF
It's very obvious that the cleaning staff doesn't like working for the owners, Roger and Marcella. The staff is grumpy and not very friendly.

MAINTENANCE
My toilet was running most of the time.

TOWELS
The towels are very stiff from washing and then line drying. The whites are dirty from the silt in the water.

FOOD
I can't complain about the food as I enjoyed it. However without daily specials, it would get old if staying for a week or more using only the all-inclusive menu.

Room Tip: All rooms are pretty much the same. Try for being the only occupied room in a building so you have...
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JOHN G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sunsetbayclub, Manager at Sunset Bay Club & SeaSide Dive Center, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2014

Thank you for your comments about Sunset Bay Club and dive center.
We are sorry to hear your recent experience led you to give us this review.
We certainly feel that our team went overboard in catering to your group and apologize if we did not meet your expectations. We are shocked to see how badly you rated us but will only work harder to address these issues. While some comments are fair and will be addressed, I would like to address some unfair comments.

Upon making reservations, you can see what is offered at our establishment. We have never listed that we have air conditioning and so upon arrival it would be fair enough not to expect it. When we have groups coming in everything is so organized, that we have the names of clients assigned to the room numbers. In your case it was no different.

Transportation was organized with the tour operator at a group rate. Management cannot change this, and if it were to be changed transfers were to be paid separately. We offered you the choice of having it changed but you refused making it no fault of ours.

We are sorry but there is nothing that we can do about nature and the birds that fly around so beautifully. Tap water is filtered by 5 filters and 2 UV lamps to kill all germs. Our All Inclusive Menu is proposed by the chef daily and there are a variety of choices that one can choose from.

What I don't understand is that at your stay here with us you informed us that this was one of your best places of accommodation plus dive and is you told me no manager of any establishment would prepare breakfast at 4 am and to be up and awake at that time to say farewell to their customers while checking out. I don't understand the dissatisfaction now.

We try our best to provide proper service to our customers. You were no exception!

Upon your groups arrival you requested that you be allowed a shore dive. As we had never dived with you it is our policy that a DM or Instructor accompanies you on your first ever dive with us. We have three regular Instructors who work for us on a very regular basis. One of them was able to drop everything and rush over to dive with you. This was done at our expense and from all reports the dive was highly enjoyed and you even saw your first seashore of your trip.

The following two days of diving we had scheduled another instructor to dive with you. From all reports he went to considerable lengths to find sites with good visibility after the nights heavy rains, and sites that were different from what you had seen in 5 days on the South of Dominica. The second day he planned dives based around the best sites that allowed shallower profiles for your flights 18 hours later.
The group seemed pleased with the sites, happy with the quality of the diving and in general good spirits throughout. On the first day while the instructor was ensuring that all divers had all their equipment divers started heading down to the boat. At this point one diver slipped and fell and we regret this accident happened. We will advise our boat captain to ALWAYS ensure that he assists all divers onto the boat. We are not sure what caused this incident but will certainly reinforce passenger boarding procedures to prevent future incidents.

Boats: Sunset Bay club tends to deal with small groups and as such our boats are not as large and roomy as some. However our trips are short, with an average of 5 to 10 minutes by boat.
Instructors: We currently use 3 different instructors who each have extensive knowledge of all of Dominica's dive sites. Between just two of them they have 20,000 dives in Dominica. They have also worked in the past in dozens of different countries and have thousands of student certifications and speak multiple languages. This arrangement has allowed to offer us to offer extremely qualified dive leaders with the ability to please all different clientele.

We recognize that we do not have a large rinse tank, again because we do not concentrate on large groups. We will review how to make improvements here. We will also certainly look at ensuring a mask bucket is on board, along with the usual oxygen, radio, first aid kit, juice, cake and fruit that was on board every day of your trip.

To our knowledge not one of your group rented any equipment. However we do have an extensive selection of rental gear and standard sign out procedures for all rental equipment.

We allowed your group to make shore dives, with no extra charge. Our instructor supplied and cleaned lion fish for your dinner and our chef cooked it for you.
We thought we had delivered a quality experience for your visit but are now motivated to improve any weaknesses in our operation.

We wish you clear waters, good weather and safe travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2014

I stayed here on a dive and stay package, and was the only client for some nights even though it was a "high season". A bit spooky until another guest appeared.
The rooms are basic, OK beds, no hot water, but the wifi works most of the tome.
There is a sauna in the hotel, but it was not heated during my stay.

The owners do not dive, but have other people to run the dive operation. I was lucky to be able to dive with a french dive-instructor and it was excellent: long bottom dives exploring sometimes more than one dive-site, drift-diving, reefs in rather food condition. I also enjoyed having DIN-tanks.

The restaurant is famous for the lobster, which seems to attract the locals, too. I guess that is a good value while many other things were a bit overpriced.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
Thank DiverPaivi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sunsetbayclub, Manager at Sunset Bay Club & SeaSide Dive Center, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2014

Thank you so much for your review. At Sunset Bay Club we provide customers with quality service and you were no exception. Even during the high season it can get quiet at times. We're sorry if you felt a little lonely for some time. We do hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Roseau
3565.7 mi away
Fort Young Hotel
Fort Young Hotel
#1 of 7 in Roseau
874 reviews
3566.9 mi away
Castle Comfort Dive Lodge
3549.3 mi away
Secret Bay
Secret Bay
#1 of 4 in Portsmouth
499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3566.7 mi away
Anchorage Hotel & Dive Center
2.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Layton Park Hotel
3549.9 mi away
The Champs, Hotel, Restaurant & Bar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunset Bay Club & SeaSide Dive Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Bay Club & SeaSide Dive Center

Address: Batalie Beach | P.O. Coulibistrie, Roseau, Dominica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominica > Saint George Parish > Roseau
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Roseau
Price Range: $87 - $275 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A cozy, beachfront hotel conveniently located in the center of Dominica's west coast. We offer all-inclusive or bed & breakfast plans to suite your needs. Our dive center, located on our private beach, offers morning boat dives, snorkeling and whale watching or relax at our pool and sauna located in our tropical garden. Come and enjoy a relaxing experience you will never forget. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline so you can book your Sunset Bay Club & SeaSide Dive Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunset Bay Club And Seaside Dive Center
Sunset Bay Club & Seaside Dive Hotel Roseau
Sunset Bay Club & SeaSide Dive Center Dominica/Roseau

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing