We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth the trip”

Middleham Falls & Ti Tou Gorge
Book In Advance
More Info
$62.99*
and up
Half Day Jeep Safari
Ranked #1 of 33 things to do in Roseau
Certificate of Excellence
Eagle, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Worth the trip”
Reviewed April 3, 2014

Great but water is COLD. Wore a flotation device which was great as I couldn't catch me breath, must be a swimmer as water is quite deep.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank kcdivediva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

366 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    277
    76
    12
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tallahassee, Florida
2 reviews
“Day with nature”
Reviewed March 26, 2014

Physical but great fun and beautiful, the falls were a wonderful way to spend a beautiful day. The Gorge was chilly but once you got moving wonderful.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Janet S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbridge, Virginia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Unmolested Beauty”
Reviewed March 11, 2014

It's just a beautiful place to take a very brisk swim. Clear, fresh water. Fun waterfall to swim around and little ledges to jump from if one is so inclined. Don't miss it.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank ChadP70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
baltimore, maryland
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Other-worldly.”
Reviewed March 8, 2014

We only went to Ti Tou Gorge, so I can't speak to the Middleham Falls experience, other than second hand accounts - which were all good. Ti Tou Gorge itself is a fantastical place where you swim into a cave that is dimly lit - but passable - for about 30 meters, then the roof disappears and you are looking up into the jungle canopy above. The water is cool - refreshing - probably about 70 degrees. The water is clean and clear. Eventually you approach a low waterfall that is passable for the athletic and adventurous. I am told that at higher flow periods - after rains - the waterfall is not passable. Highly recommend you rent a life vest, even if you are a good swimmer. It's a good place to spend about 2 hours tops.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank rumrunnerfrank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“More than 500 Steps, Down & Up”
Reviewed March 8, 2014

There's a gazebo where you could stop and have a picnic just before you arrive at Middleham Falls. If you decide to keep going and have a picnic on your way back, be forewarned: it's at least 500 steps down ... yeah, I counted. We got close to the bottom of the Falls, which I understand is theoretically possible to reach. There came a point where every path we followed ended in something dangerous (not just difficult) and we finally had to just enjoy the falls from the trail. You get a good view, anyway. The falls are very noisy and beautiful.

Then you climb your 500 stairs (count them) and have your picnic lunch! Be prepared for sudden rains. It's not a hike for unfit people of any age or small children. Like a lot of hikes in Dominica, there's a lot of walking on exposed roots through marshy lands, which is not easy. Take your hiking poles, too.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank JedJ00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Middleham Falls & Ti Tou Gorge also viewed

Morne Trois Pitons National Park, Saint Patrick Parish
Morne Trois Pitons National Park, Saint Patrick Parish
 
Roseau, Saint George Parish
Morne Trois Pitons National Park, Saint Patrick Parish
 

Been to Middleham Falls & Ti Tou Gorge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing