We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cocoa Cottages - the #1 most beautiful place on the entire island”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Cocoa Cottages

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cocoa Cottages
Ranked #1 of 21 Roseau B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Lake George, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Cocoa Cottages - the #1 most beautiful place on the entire island”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2008

Can't say enough about this place. Truly a piece of heaven on earth. We came back from Dominica in about 2 weeks and we spend wonderful time in Cocoa Cottages.

The location is great, close to a lot of attraction to explore - Middleham Falls, Freshwater Lake, Boeri Lake, and Trafalgar Falls,Boiling Lake, Scots Head, Victoria Falls,Hot Springs...etc.

After the first day we feel the place like being at home and accepted very well and warm from Richard and Iris. They do everything to make sure you feel comfortable.

Cocoa cottages is located in the rainforest which make this place paradise.We ate almost every night at wooden outdoor tables by the kitchen with the other guest. It looked like one big family. Iris and Richard are great cooks. We had always fresh fruits and juice, the famous Cocoa tea for breakfast and fresh fish, local rum and beer ( Kabuli made with spring water) for dinner . All products were local . My girlfriend and I enjoyed every single bite.

We stayed 6 nights and our room was clean, beautifully arranged with a lot of pictures of local artist , every day made service .We went to bed every night listening to the sounds of the island creatures in the forest, and woke up with the chirping of birds. Most of the time we kept the windows open because I liked the breeze so much ( don't worry for the mosquito).We have patio looking out on a rainforest and swinging bed for relaxing and enjoying the amazing view. By the way our room was Lalin Myel (Honeymoon Suite).

Richard, Iris, Charm and Jeffrey - the best hosts ever- friendly,hospitable. We had so much fun with them. They would help you with everything. Don't hesitate to ask them. We had very good conversations over the table for breakfast or dinner.

If you want to know about the flora and fauna for Dominica - ask Jeffrey he knows every single plant or animal in the island ( he is the best guyed in Dominica. No poisonous creatures).

We didn't go with Richard and Jeffrey on Canyoning tour and definitely we regret but I thing everyone has to try it. With Jeffrey we went to the famous Boiling Lake ( the only one in the world actually does boil. In New Zealand the lake is bigger but doesn't boil ). That was an amazing and enjoyable trip to see the beauty of Dominica. ( Don't be afraid to go there is hard but with the right guyed like Jeffrey it won't be hard. I wasn't prepared for such a hike but I did it).

I suggest to renting car because we didn't have car for the first 2 days and we wasted a lot of time but we had very good time with the public buses. ( Iris will help you with pleasure).

We did snorkeling in the Champagne bay ( It was my first time. I felt in the water paradise). We also went to Trafalgar falls but I like the most Victoria falls. Scot Heads is very beautiful place and has amazing view (you can snorkel too).For sure you have to try Sulfur Hot spring tubs. We spend some time in Roseau and ate in some local restaurants, shopping of course and even talk with the locals.

The people in the Island are the most peaceful, friendly and helpful people in the world ( almost no crime).

Dominican says if Columbus comes now to the island he would recognize it as 550 years ago. If you love the nature, hiking and exploring, and being around friendly people, this is a perfect place to visit. Go before it is fully touched by human hand and maid for lazy tourist.

Cocoa Cottages is hidden Gem in the Jungle of Dominica.It was precious to be in this special place. I highly recommended this place for those who know about the real life and love the nature.

You gonna have unforgettable trip like us.

Pack and go
.
Thanks a lot Iris and Richard.

  • Liked — Richard, Iris, Charm and Jeffrey
  • Disliked — None
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank dslart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    198
    30
    13
    4
    4
See reviews for
32
143
29
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Polson, MT
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2008

Although our trip to dominica and Cocoa Cottages was 4 short nights, we certainly felt like family by the time we left.
The cottage was quaint and eclectic. It also serves as an art gallery and we ended up leaving with a number of pieces from a local artist. The hosts, Richard and Iris, were warm and welcoming. The meals they served were made with fresh ingredients and as good as any of the meals we had experienced out in restaurants. Having an infant, it made it very convenient to be able to eat meals at the cottage. We certainly would stay at Cocoa Cottages again...

Stayed January 2008
Helpful?
Thank MontanaHabibi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2008

What can I say about this place? An incredible rainforest setting, rustic yet very comfortable, and with friendly hosts who will organise your life for you while you're there. We stayed for a week in the honeymoon suite which was perfect for hummingbird viewing and sharing your shower with the forest crabs. We had a great time with the guide Jeffrey -a truely lovely guy who will make sure you enjoy yourself however much it rains! If you want somewhere away from it all where you'll find total relaxation within hours of arriving then this is for you. What's more, Dominica must be just about the friendliest place on earth.

  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank YorkSandT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange, Connecticut
Level Contributor
73 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2008

Just back from our 3rd trip to Dominica, my wife and I spend at least part of every trip at Cocoa Cottage, outside of the capital, Roseau. We've always been treated like family there. Richard, Iris, Charm and the staff were all wonderful as usual. The rooms are lovely and the food is very good. The activity level goes from relaxing around the house to a 6-8 hour hike to Boiling Lake with many options in between. Dominica is a great place with good people and Cocoa Cottage is a good central location from which to explore the island. Highly recommended.

Kevin and Barbara

  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank millhann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, Maryland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2008

Cocoa Cottages combines the excitement of travel with comfort and ease of the favorite room in your own house. It is very much a family-style operation, which was perfect because I was traveling with my wife and three teenage daughters. The proprietors, Richard and Iris, are extremely knowledgeable on all aspects of this wonderful island, and they are extremely generous with their time in helping their guests to make the most of their time Dominica. By all means go canyoneering and walk to the Boiling Lake. You will remember it forever, regardless of how much you may have traveled.

To me, Cocoa Cottages has an 18th century, almost Dickensian feel to it, despite the tropical setting, in which travelers share their experiences over glasses of rum punch. It is an extremely convivial setting--a place where you make friends--but with no sense of being forced together. Everyone has plenty of their own space--and the spaces are gorgeous. The rooms are dramatically situated in the rugged, volcanic topography. The beds are comfortable. Only a curmudgeon could find fault with anything. A+ rating in all respects.

  • Stayed December 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anonymuncule
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2008

Wow this place was awesome!!! If you are looking for a nice, friendly, relaxing environment Cocoa Cottages in Dominica would be my #1 pick. What I loved most was the laid back, very genuine atmosphere and demeanor of the hosts. It’s such a nice change from the hustle and bustle of say the US. Not to mention the beautiful rooms, each one unique in its decorations and special features. Also great is the Extreme Dominica package they offer. If you are an outdoorsy, curious type, this is a great choice because you get to see all of Dominica’s cool niches that you can’t get from the surface. Definitely all ages, single, married, alone, groups, doesn’t matter, you can’t be disappointed.

  • Stayed December 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank alwayzfun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio, US of A
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2007

This is one of the coolest places I have ever stayed. The lodge is beautiful, the rooms are fantastic, and the food is excellent and fresh. What else needs to be said? I highly recommend the adventure package they offer. The guides are very knowledgeable, and the places they will take you offer truely spectacular views that you would be hard pressed to locate on your own. On top of all of this it's an excellent value for your money. If you figure out the math of the package price, you will find you won't find a better value anywhere.

  • Liked — It's an eco-lodge, and it lives up to its name in all ways possible.
  • Disliked — There is nothing to dislike, I love it!
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BrandonofSpringfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Roseau
17.4 mi away
Secret Bay
Secret Bay
#1 of 4 in Portsmouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 482 reviews
2.8 mi away
Fort Young Hotel
Fort Young Hotel
#1 of 7 in Roseau
4.0 of 5 bubbles 815 reviews
2.9 mi away
Castle Comfort Dive Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.5 mi away
Beau Rive
Beau Rive
#1 of 2 in Castle Bruce
5.0 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
14.9 mi away
Pagua Bay House Oceanfront Cabanas
20.6 mi away
Manicou River
Manicou River
#3 of 4 in Portsmouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cocoa Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cocoa Cottages

Property: Cocoa Cottages
Address: Roseau Valley | en route to Trafalgar falls, Roseau 0001, Dominica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominica > Saint George Parish > Roseau
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Roseau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Cocoa Cottage--Dominica Mind Body Adventure. Cocoa Cottage is an artistic guest house located in the heart of the Roseau Valley, only a few miles from town but worlds apart. This valley is home to many waterfalls, sulfur pools, rivers, and various trails, all within minutes' drive of the cottage. Cocoa Cottage is imaginative, earthy, rustic and whimsical, a fine gentle touch with rough edges. It is a perfect union of all that nature offers. Our kitchen provides food for the soul, using the plentiful offerings of our island. At any time you'll find yourself deep in lively conversation with someone you just met, connecting, sharing, inspiring and being inspired. We adopt eco- friendly daily practices as a way of connecting with ourselves, with one another, and with the world around us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire and Hotel.de so you can book your Cocoa Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cocoa Cottages Hotel Roseau
Cocoa Cottages Dominica/Roseau

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing