We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Caribbean experience the way it should always be!”

Rodney's Wellness Retreat
Book In Advance
More Info
$125.00*
and up
Morne Trois Pitons National Park Hiking Tour to Boiling Lake
Ranked #8 of 8 Nature & Parks in Roseau
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Rodney's Wellness Retreat is an unspoiled nature sanctuary nestled in the valleys of Kanawa in Soufriere, South Dominica. Rodney’s Wellness Retreat can offer you a tranquil and intimate experience with nature. Our services include:  CarRod's Gardens Visit our beautiful botanical garden and enjoy the various plants and fruits trees! Fruit picking is also allowed.  Big Banana Pool Come to cool out for the day at our pool and enjoy the mountains and the stars by night.  Kanawa Restaurant and Mayan Bar Dine on tasty local Dominican cuisine prepared by our fabulous chef Augustine. Also, make sure to try our famous Kanawa rum punch at the bar.  Guided Tours and Hikes Our friendly certified tour guide and a son of the soil will be pleased to take you around for a tour or a hike. Rodney’s Wellness Retreat is only a short hike away from a number of interesting sites. We are just 15 minutes from the end of 1st segment and start of the 2nd segment of the Waitukubuli National Trail.  Special Events Come join us at our Full moon Karaoke night, GrownFolks Party or any other event you want to organize (weddings, receptions, conferences, group retreats, etc.). We are here to assist you!
Useful Information: Food available for purchase, Wheelchair access, Bathroom facilities, Activities for young children
Florence, Italy
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“The Caribbean experience the way it should always be!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2012

My husband and I stumbled on Rodney's Wellness Retreat as we were looking for a place to have lunch in Soufriere. We were warmly greeted and welcomed.The grounds are extremely well kept with lush vegetation and fruit trees. The dining area is pleasant, simple, clean and welcoming. The first thing that was offered to us was a complimentary refreshing glass of coconut water, followed by roasted coconut as a small appetizer. The menu was interesting and it offered many options. Once the food arrived, it was plentiful and tasty. The Retreat offers camping accommodations as well. The bathrooms were new and clean. We will go back!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank AngelicaMdS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RWR273, Owner at Rodney's Wellness Retreat, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Thanks for telling the world of our nature sanctuary. It was a pleasure having you with us. You would be happy to hear that the garden is now in full bloom. We look forward to your return to Rodney's Wellness Retreat
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    4
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“best kept secret”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2012

Wonderful, serene and hospitable. Absolutely great food. Seeing milky way framed by the high peaks of soufriere mountains, walking through mango, cashew and "sugar apple" trees, bathing in sulfur springs and cristal clear sea, taking a trek in the forest is priceless. Thanks Bevin and Lucilla and everyone working at Car Rod's! Highly recommended.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank NYC_me_123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RWR273, Owner at Rodney's Wellness Retreat, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Thanks for recommending us. It is our greatest pleasure to look after you and ensure that you enjoy your experience at Rodney's Wellness Retreat. We are happy that we succeeded and invite you to come again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Amazing and authentic "luxury camping" in the wilderness”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2012

Me and a friend were staying in three different hotels in Dominica and I have to say that Rodney's Wellness Retreat was the most authentic Caribbean experience. If you are going to Dominica - do NOT MISS it!

First of all, the owner (a very friendly, helpful, a bit older man) gave us a warm welcome and coconut water. He sat down for 20 minutes with us to discuss our plans etc (that's what I call a personal check-in ;-) ). A free garden tour is also offered. Make use of it and let him tell you about all the plants on his property (avocado, mango, passion fruit, lemons and a loooot more!). The garden is beautifully arranged and there are hammocks everywhere.
Also the tents are equipped with huge, comfortable mattresses. The bathrooms are really ok with running water (shower almost cold though). Bring mosquito spray ;)
The dinner was unexpectedly very fine. The food was typically Caribbean and his service was very friendly and elegant. You can try local food such as igname, plantains, fish in banana leaf,... Loved it!

He offers also mud baths, which we didn't try.

Brief, I really enjoyed the stay. Anyway, if you are staying in Dominica for a longer time, I would recommend to try out also other hotels. The retreat was perfect for one night, anyway if you want to have some more privacy and luxury after an exhausting day of hiking change your hotel after some days. Also the location is not ideal unless you stay at Scott's Head etc.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Marisa_Mapusa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RWR273, Owner at Rodney's Wellness Retreat, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
We appreciate and thank you for sharing your experience at Rodney's Wellness Retreat. Just letting you know that the mosquito spray is no longer necessary! come find out! We look forward to having you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
37 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“A hidden gem! Worth the trip!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2012

On our way to the national park hot springs just inland from Soufriere (south of Roseau) we passed the turn to this place and decided on a lark to head in there for lunch. We are very glad we did!

The dining is surprisingly elegant for such informal looking grounds in such a secluded area. We were pleasantly surprised!

The dining is in a large outside covered patio overlooking the grounds of the retreat.

I had the goat curry and my wife had chicken. Served local style with loads of root vegetables.

We loved it!

If you did an excursion to Scott's Head, Champagne Beach and the nearby hot springs national park, it would make a great day trip!

The restaurant is about 5 minutes inland from Soufriere and 3 minutes from the national park hot springs.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank love2pedal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RWR273, Owner at Rodney's Wellness Retreat, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Thanks for your kind review of the dining experience at Rodney's Wellness Retreat! We invite you to return for the complete experience including a night or two on our campground
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rodney's Wellness Retreat also viewed

Roseau, Saint George Parish
 
Roseau, Saint George Parish
Roseau, Saint George Parish
 

Been to Rodney's Wellness Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing