We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Eat Here, Not at the Fort or Garraway” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Old Stone Grill & Bar

Old Stone Grill & Bar
Ranked #3 of 52 Restaurants in Roseau
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Caribbean, Bar, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Nova Scotia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Eat Here, Not at the Fort or Garraway”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2013

Sandwiched between the Garraway and Fort Hotels, this gem is popular with the locals. Make a reservation to avoid disappointment.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank getme2abeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

274 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    92
    115
    44
    15
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bridgetown, Barbados
Level Contributor
163 reviews
113 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Not a great night!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2013

The food wasn't anything to write home about, the service was slow and the ambience average. To make matters worse there was a 'homeless type' man outside singing...and trust me this wasn't The Mighty Sparrow or Michael Buble. We had words with the guy but management didn't seem to care and he was out there annoying everybody for the whole night. When the check came I found it very high for what we had. I thought the food at Fort Young was better and cheaper.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Nicholas K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vernon, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“nice combination of flavours”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2013

I ate at the Old Stone Grill my first day on the Island. I had a very fresh salad made with local greens and grilled tuna and a lemony dressing, along with a side order of breadfruit croquettes. It was a full meal and the combination of flavours was heavenly. The waitress was friendly and the service was relatively fast.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank diggingforroots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnaby, Canada
Level Contributor
137 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Overrated”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013 via mobile

We chose Old Stone due to good reviews on Trip Advisor. It took 80 minutes to get our meals and it wasn't even full. I had the jerk shrimp which was simply small shrimps in a bottled jerk sauce (not true jerk and not BBQ). My wife had Pumpkin soup and had to drop a lot of salt and pepper into it. Our friend had the fresh snapper and it wasn't seasoned through like most Caribbean fish. Our server never checked on us to explain the 80 min wait and never asked us how the food was until we were leaving. That's typical though of the Caribbean (the service is non existent so be patient with that!). Then comically they added a $10 service charge to the order for all their great work!

Fresh juices were great, although ice melted during the 80 min wait. Don't expect much, however, selection is limited in Dominica, perhaps that's why there are so many favourable reviews.

    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank irlundee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great local food, fancy drinks”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013

This is tucked away and you have to look for it. The food is very good, and local. They prepare fancy drinks if you wish. We called ahead and ordered, because they wanted to make sure they had everything ready for us. Highly recommended.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank marnosti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Old Stone Grill & Bar also viewed

Roseau, Saint George Parish
Roseau, Saint George Parish
 
Roseau, Saint George Parish
 
Calibishie, Saint Andrew Parish
Roseau, Saint George Parish
 

Been to Old Stone Grill & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing