We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Did not disappoint”

Nature Isle Explorer Day Tours
Ranked #2 of 28 Tours in Roseau
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Nature Isle Explorers offers some of the best Dominica tours, Cruise Ship excursions and hikes at the Most affordable rates. We cater for all the different visitors to Dominica…No matter who you are, we have a tour to suit your needs... What time is it? Its Exploring time !!!
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Did not disappoint”
Reviewed January 2, 2014

We booked this tour after reading all the great reviews and Nature Isle Lived up to its reputation.The communications via email were excellent,all our questions were answered promptly and instructions regarding meeting place and recommended attire were completely accurate.Our guides Alvin and Simon were so informative and helpful ,making our private 8 person tour ,a great experience.Alvin helped us conquer Titou Gorge and Simon guided us through the trails of both the Emerald Pool and Trafalgar Falls. Anyone looking to enjoy the highlights of Dominica for an extremely reasonable price need to look no further!!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Zeetina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

310 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    270
    24
    5
    2
    9
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great day tour-Titou Gorge brilliant”
Reviewed January 1, 2014

We wanted to make the most of the cruise ship stop in Dominica, and the Dominica Most Captivating tour promised to deliver so much; we were not disappointed. We started with a walk through rainforest to Middleham Falls, this includes some steep and muddy sections ascending and traversing the hillside, and took our group an hour going and 45 mins returning. There is a restroom at the carpark. Guide and driver Alan and Alvie were great, despite narrow roads and precipitous drops we felt safe throughout the day. The chilly swim up Titou Gorge was truly memorable, the scramble up the final short stretch of falls is worth the effort, if only for the fun of jumping back down. A waterproof camera would have been useful... The hot and cold falls at Trafalgar were lovely; lots of treeferns and the hot pools were very welcome after Titou. We stopped on the drives at a couple of view points, including one where local sweets were available (an acquired taste I suspect). The retail opportunities are limited so take food, it is a fairly strenuous day.
The communication with Nature Isle Explorers seemed fine; but our (small) cruise ship berthed at the container port so we got a transfer up to the main port to meet as agreed. Once there it transpired the tour company had gone to the container port to meet us. Not a problem, and we spent a pleasant time sitting on the market hall steps watching the bustle of Roseau while the reaminder of the group arrived.
Overall we loved the whole day.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Traveldoc25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
183 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“A day in Nature Well Spent”
Reviewed December 31, 2013

Dominica is an impressive lush island and there is lot of natural environment to see (bays, beaches, rain forests, springs, volcanic formations, etc). While on a cruise, we booked this off-ship excursion with Nature Isle and had an all around good time. Our almost full-day experience included a nice snorkel on a clear day to Champagne Beach; followed by a drive through the Botanical Gardens and then a scenic picture stop. From there, we ventured to Ti Tou Gorge, and plugged into its cool waters..swimming between shear cliffs. This really cools you off and wakes you up. The afternoon included a leisurely visit to Trafalgar Falls and its hot pools, where we relaxed and enjoyed the heated waters.

Our guide - while very enthusiastic and knowledgeable - wasn't great about keeping the group of 10 or so together when snorkeling or hiking to the Falls. Ideally, because of the need to navigate steps or boulders, it would have been better if the guide had kept us more together to provide assistance. Otherwise, a great day and the driver was super.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank kaylaartt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tennessee Ridge, Tennessee
Level Contributor
70 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Nice tour but with some advice”
Reviewed December 26, 2013

We booked this tour independently from the cruise ship we were on. We felt we could get more for less money and we did. Overall, we got to see four attractions in five hours where the ship's tour saw only one in three hours. On our tour were Champagne Beach (snorkel), the Botanical Gardens (a short drive through), a view of the city, Trafalgar Falls and hot pools, and the TiTou Gorge. That was a lot of driving on narrow and winding roads. If you get car sick, don't go.

Our driver was very good and friendly. He met us at the end of the dock outside the security fence - that took a bit of walking to discover where it was. There were two couples on our trip. We paid a $16 deposit and then $90 on the day of the trip - there was a bit of confusion about whether the $16 counted toward the $90 - but no big deal. Email communication with Nature Isle ahead of the tour was spotty, but it's the islands where everything is a bit more casual.

The snorkeling was a big disappointment. There is a 500 ft. walk to the beach. It is all stones and there it is a bit awkward getting on flippers and getting into the water. You get a life belt (not a full preserver) and are pointed to a buoy and left to swim out and back on your own. If you tell them you are a poor swimmer at the change station where you enter, you might get someone to come with you. What you will see is not much and not really worth the effort in my book.

The Botanical Garden is just a little park, but it has its charms. You drive through, not a walking tour.

The Falls are impressive after about a 1/3 mile walk on uneven stairs and paths. You have to navigate steps and boulders to get down to the hot pools by the falls. They are not large, but then again, there was no crowd. If you are not agile, the pools would be a tricky trek. Because the Falls have been given a special status for tourists, the cruise ships get to visit first during the day which means your tour will get there in the afternoon.

The TiTou Gorge is neat. However, the water (Dec. 21) was COLD! The guide calls it "refreshing." If you like swimming in Lake Michigan, this is for you. The swim up through the narrow rock passage is fun. As you get near the end, the current picks up and you have to fight it hard to reach a ledge where you then must climb up to a higher chamber to see some small falls. We could not muster the energy to get that far. On the bright side, when you come out there is a hot spring beside the entry pool where you can rinse off and warm up.

Two notes: Take a rain poncho. The weather is unpredictable with regular showers and it can get cool temporarily. There are limited restroom opportunities so take advantage when you can. They are at the Beach and the Falls only.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank MrTopDawg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
Level Contributor
43 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Best day ever!!!”
Reviewed December 21, 2013

We visited Dominica by cruise ship. We booked this trip to avoid the cruise ship crowds and inflated prices. This tour did not disappoint. Our tour guide AL was the best!! He was very knowledgeable and funny. We visited Champaign reef and it was the best snorkeling we have ever done. We also visited Ti Tou Gorge, Trafalgar falls, and the botanical gardens. This island is beautiful. This tour is probably not good for those with mobility issues as the terrain is very rocky. It is definitely worth it for those who get around well. Do not be afraid of the cold water at the gorge or you will miss out on something spectacular. I would recommend taking a floatie to help with the current.. I would highly recommend this company and tour. It was just as described and the pick up point was close and easy to get to from the ship.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank jen0187
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nature Isle Explorer Day Tours also viewed

 
Roseau, Saint George Parish
Roseau, Saint George Parish
 

Been to Nature Isle Explorer Day Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing