We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Fort Young Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Zen Gardens(Mahaut)
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sunrise Farm Cottages(Castle Bruce)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (898)
Filter reviews
899 results
Traveler rating
351
379
116
37
16
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
351
379
116
37
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsocean frontbuddy divetour deskthe activities deskdive shopcruise shiplarge bathroomenjoyed my stayan ocean view roommain restaurantcaribbean seascotts headrestaurant staffvisit dominicabeautiful islandferry terminalrum punch
Filter
Updating list...
512 - 517 of 899 reviews
Reviewed June 2, 2014

I had the opportunity to enjoy this Hotel while visiting for a wedding. The wedding and reception was held at the fort young hotel and the experience was great. My family and i would definitely stay there during future visits. The staff was great at organizing the ceremony and reception for the wedding and during our stay afterwards. Weddings tend to be very hectic sometimes but at this hotel we could relax as everything was taken care of. The organizers of the ceremony was wonderful and the room attendant miss Julius made it her priority to make sure that everything was on point in the room and that we had everything we needed and also helped us in fixing a very much unexpected issue with our dresses. Wonderful service, great personalities. I would definitely recommend this hotel for these occasions and otherwise as this is a great representation of The nature isle i have heard so much about. I am glad i can now share my experience.

Room Tip: Ocean deluxe rooms are great you get to enjoy the view of the beautiful caribbean sea and the mountains.
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ethanie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2014

Our first time diving in Dominica and what a GREAT trip it was! From the moment we stepped into the reception area the service was exceptional. The reception staff greeted us with a big smile and a cold peppermint towel to cool off with. A gentleman helped us to our room and gave us the low down on what was what at the hotel. The room was a nice size with a balcony that overlooked the ocean. It also had a fridge where we put the champagne we bought at duty free :) to celebrate our friends first dive later in the week. That evening we ate at Bala's Bar and enjoyed some Kabuli beer. Alan and Selwyn were wonderful barmen and could not do enough for us. Next morning we went to the restaurant for breakfast and what a treat. Again the staff could not do enough for you - smiles all around. After breakfast we headed to the dive shop for our first dives in Dominica. Ken took all the necessary info and Ivan (one of the nicest people you will meet) helped us down the dock with our gear - thanks Avan we loved your stories and knowledge of the Island. The boat arrived and we jumped aboard. Brad (dive master) and Mano (the captain) gave us the lowdown and within 25 minutes we we're in the water. Mano was really helpful both exiting and entering the boat and Brad worked really hard to find cool things. Brad was also wonderful with our friend Tracy who was a new diver - thanks to Brad, Tracy got her buoyancy down pretty darn quickly. Thanks Brad! Back to the hotel after a couple of wonderful dives - the shape of the coral was pristine and barrel sponges I could physically fit in. We saw a frog fish within 10 minutes of our first dive AMAZING! As it was Sunday and most places closed we headed to the hotel restaurant for lunch. We we're greeted by TALITHA who had the most welcoming smile imaginable and told us they had some darn good snacks on the menu for lunch. I had the chicken jerk wrap and my husband had a burger and it was excellent! Talitha kept filling our water glasses and was very attentive the whole time we wee there. She was there most days and made us feel so welcome. Albert was there a few days and he also looked after us we'll. keep smiling Talitha and Albert. We went to the Trafalgar Falls one afternoon with Martin - he was great and took very good care of us. We asked if he would stop for a drink on the way back and he brought us to the Rock City Cafe YOU MUST GO!! Dennis's rum punch is to die for and he had great music in a very scenic place. What a great afternoon. The diving for the remainder was great and I must mention the other dive masters that made our trip great - Imran and Reggie. Imran you convinced me to do Champagne again and made a promise to me that I would see things I have never seen. You were so right - best dive of the trip THANKS! Your knowledge of the ocean critters is amazing. I hope to dive with your again. The pool area was great especially to watch sunsets and Glen was helpful when we wanted to put up an umbrella to get a little shade. After all the comments above you would think I should have rated this trip a 5 but there were a couple of annoying things that must be mentioned. 1) Dive Dominica would not let us dive in the afternoon even though the hotel said it would be no problem booking it when we got there. There was a private party that booked a boat so they would not take us out even though they had many other boats. Tis was our big dive trip for the year so it was very disappointing. The communication between the hotel and dive shop needs to improve otherwise they will continue to disappoint. We will definitely be going back to Dominica and Talitha if you ever want a job in e US you have one - customer service at its best! Cheers, Wendy

Room Tip: Get a balcony
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Wendy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2014

Warm welcome as usual. Excellent facilities and good food. Very helpful staff at reception. the view from the room was to die for particularly at sunset. Had to ask for assistance from Glen the carpenter and maintenance man for something. He was excellentin his help.

Room Tip: Ifyou can go for it oceanview deluxe room
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2014

We had the opportunity to return to the Fort Young Hotel in Roseau recently and this last stay was the best so far. The stay started with an excellent reception from the front desk staff. The upgraded room was large with good a/c and a wrap around balcony. Food was exceptional at the restaurant and I recommend the Lion Fish as an app or entree. The best place to stay on the island if comfort is on your priority list.

Room Tip: oceanfront balcony
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Captun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2014

Located overlooking the sea. Luxurious rooms with a fabulous bed with soft pillows. A large bathroom area, complete with bathrobe and slippers. The rooms had a balcony, tea and coffee making facilities, fridge and safe.

The complex had a range of facilities, pools, jacuzzi. One thing to be aware of is the welcome room punch is extremely strong!

The hotel is close to the town, botanical Gardens and ferry port.
Good quality snacks are are available at the hotel. Plenty of local cafes and restaurants are also available nearby. If you want to sample local cuisine, it's worth trying Pearl's (limited choice on Saturday lunch, but the local fish or meat broths are served).

We didn't have breakfast at the hotel. We walked to the local market then had breakfast in a local cafe.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank damselflyspotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews