We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location for business and personal travellers!”
Review of Fort Young Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Fort Young Hotel
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Roseau
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 27, 2014

I stayed in this hotel for much of January and February 2014 as a business traveler in one of the deluxe oceanfront rooms with a great view. Super location and good mix of local and international food. Great use of meetings rooms for our important meetings. My wife also joined for a weekend, and was a great location to start exploring Dominica with good use of spa, gym and swimming pools. Staff made my wife and I feel at home! My hotel of choice for all future visits to Dominica!

Room Tip: Oceanfront Deluxe, great view on waterfront side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ciaran B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (876)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

529 - 535 of 876 reviews

Reviewed February 26, 2014

I took my husband to Dominica for the first time last weekend. I was quite anal about going there and sent a barrage of emails to Fort Young because I didn't have a clue what we would be in for and no one I knew had gone before. From the get-go the staff at the hotel were quite responsive and extremely willing to assist whether it had to do with the hotel booking, assistance with arrangements to celebrate my husband's birthday and generally anything Dominica that I enquired about.

Check-in was fast and without fuss and then we got to our Ocean Front Room on the south side of the hotel and that was it!!! The room was impeccable and the view from our wrap around porch simply mind blowing!!! My husband and I plan to go back and we wouldn't hesitate to make Fort Young our home a second time around.

Room Tip: The Ocean Front rooms on the south side are the newer rooms in the hotel and affords an undisturbed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kalana P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2014

Stopped here for lunch and beverages on a warm day in Roseau. We had been exploring the streets of the city as the preparation for Carnival were well underway and the Fort Young Hotel restaurant looked like a welcoming place. The service was patchy initially, but fortunately the head waiter noticed and tended to our table. The Kabuli beer kept flowing and the chicken dishes were quite delicious. The picturesque views of Scotts Head to the south from our waterfront perch were outstanding. We stayed and relaxed for a couple of hours before moving on.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank JChB64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2014

If you are looking for somewhere to stay in Dominica which is both comfortable and accessible this is it. The Fort Young Hotel is built in and around the remains of the old English Fort Young. Rooms vary greatly in price and luxury. We stayed in one of the simpler rooms in the main section of the hotel and could not find anything to complain about. Perhaps the WIFI signal was a little weak, but we were trying to escape from our devices here! The location of the hotel is ideal and allows you to wander about the city withour having to worry about getting a taxi back or anything like that. Located across the street from the President's mansion, the local Anglican church, and only three blocks from the Catholic cathedral, you just can't beat the location.

The staff were the definition of welcoming. From check-in (with cool, wet towels to clean off after some brutal travel) to check-out, everything was beautiful.

I could not recommend this hotel more highly.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kkimtis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FortYoungHotel, General Manager at Fort Young Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2014

We are happy that you were satisfied with our service and amenities. We are constantly looking at ways to improve and we appreciate the feedback.

We look forward to hosting you again sometime in the future.

Marvlyn James

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2014

This hotel offers Dominican hospitality at its best. When even the cleaning staff stop to chat as if you were a family member, you know you are somewhere special. Stayed here for a night on our wedding anniversary and wished we could have stayed longer. Sipped rum punch and watched the sun disappear into the Caribbean from our room veranda; then had dinner overlooking the bay at the hotel's restaurant. What a treat to find a chef with the talent to create such memorable dishes using local produce. Never realised sweet potato could taste that good. The restaurant would be booked out months ahead in London or New York. This hotel has resisted the temptation to ape the mutinational chains and gives a true local feel without skimping on service.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JandC284
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2014

This is the best locale to stay at in Dominica. It is built in a real fort that has been around for 300 yrs or so so things Aren't shinny new but the character is great. We passed thru Dominica twice during our vacation and stayed here and stayed here both times. The first room had a balcony with a wonderful view. The room was wry nice. The second time the room was much larger but the view wasn't as great but we still had a view. The staff was very accommodating. On Monday nights they have a buffet and music which we really enjoyed. You can enjoy breakfast on an upper terrace restaurant and watch the cruise ships dock. They will arrange tours for you. I really enjoyed our stay there. If you are mobility challenged there are many steps. There is an elevator but you might have trouble getting to some parts of the hotel, other than that it should be your first pick if you are in Dominica.

Room Tip: I would ask for the 5th level if steps aren't a problem
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alice M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2014

My husband and I wanted to get married in a beautiful area away from the drama of having a big wedding and at Fort Young we did just that. They helped us plan everything to the "T". From the moment we got there we were blown away with polite and curteous service. The location is amazing, with it being right on the ocean. We had 2 rooms. One was ocean front room, which we absolutley loved because the wrap around balcony. The second was the ocean front suite , becuase it was included in our wedding package, this room was also amazing but would have been better there was more people in our party. The food and drinks were great, we got to know the servers really well. We were a little upset with the lack of promptness, but it seemed like the whole island was on another time, than we were. The hotel offered a whole bunch of amazing hikes to go on. They used Khatt tours, which had very informative guides, and safe well serviced vehicles. Our wedding was also beautiful. The package provided us with so much, decore, food, free night, free upgrade, dinner, breakfast in bed the next day, couples message and other great things. We were married on the Forts peir at sunset by the supreme courts magistrate. They provided us with a 2 teir wedding cake of our choice, and a 5 course dinner, in a private room. We trully felt like celebrities since the staff all knew who we were. The island itself was gorgeous, and a must for any adventure seekers. The city of Roseau was a cute little city. My husband enjoyed haggling with all the locals, and we only came across 2 beggars. All and all the people of dominica were great and were like any other area of the world, just trying to get by. GREAT PLACE AND GOOD EXPERIENCE! We will be returning.

Room Tip: rooms 408 and 308 are the best! they are on the corner and are ocean front rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laura R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Roseau
18.5 mi away
The Champs, Hotel, Restaurant & Bar
18.3 mi away
Secret Bay
Secret Bay
#1 of 4 in Portsmouth
502 reviews
17.4 mi away
Pagua Bay House Oceanfront Cabanas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.8 mi away
Calibishie Cove
Calibishie Cove
#1 of 3 in Calibishie
225 reviews
1 mi away
Castle Comfort Dive Lodge
1 mi away
Anchorage Hotel & Dive Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fort Young Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fort Young Hotel

Address: Victoria Street | P.O. Box 519, Roseau, Dominica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominica > Saint George Parish > Roseau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Roseau
Price Range: $259 - $382 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Fort Young Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
First built in 1699, the Fort Young has been at the heart of Dominica's story for several hundred years. Travellers from across the globe have stayed within our walls from the very beginning, all sharing the same breath-taking setting that our guests do today. Today our site on the capital's main quay is still the focal point of the capital city, with the main market and ferry port connecting island hoppers to neighbouring islands just a minute's walk from our entrance. The Fort Young Hotel is a 3 star property with historical ambience and the most recognized name in quality hospitality services in Dominica The Fort Young marries traditional elegance with breath taking views of the ocean. Our 71 guest rooms and suites are ideal for both business and leisure travellers. All rooms are fully air-conditioned, with free wi-fi throughout and all feature a terrace or balcony offering the most dramatic sea and sunset views imaginable. The Fort Young is perfectly situated to discover all this island's treasures. You can dive or go whale watching directly from our jetty. Hike the rainforests and waterfalls that stretch up behind our hotel. Whatever you desire to do, Fort Young is The Key to Dominica ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Fort Young Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Fort Young
Fort Young Roseau
Fort Young Hotel Dominica/Roseau

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing