We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Historic, picturesque, affordable, unique,”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Fort Young Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Fort Young Hotel
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Roseau
Certificate of Excellence
Sugar Mtn, NC, USA
Level Contributor
58 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Historic, picturesque, affordable, unique,”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2013

When you visit Dominica, and you Must, a great place to stay in the capital city of Roseau is Fort Young Hotel. It is actually an old fort, with walls 4 feet thick and some fo the old rooms actually still have the bars on them. It's right on the water front and has a dive shop on site. The beach is to rocky to swim in but the infinity pool is amazing!!! Two restaurants in the hotel, one casual bar type and one formal dining with option to sit on deck overlooking the beautiful Caribbean Ocean!!! Breakfast buffet is delightful. Also located close to cruise ship docks and town so plenty of shops near by and other restaurants. The staff is always friendly and willing to help.
PS I left me cc at the desk when checking out, rushing away to airport, they sent it with driver and he delivered to me at airport in line to board! Needless to say they go overboard to help.

Room Tip: It's not the Ritz NY, but it's the Ritz of Dominica!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank naturalcouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

812 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    308
    352
    103
    35
    14
See reviews for
113
277
55
204
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (208)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
La Crosse, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
409 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2013

I traveled here with a group of 14, some who were scuba divers, some who were not. This is the perfect hotel for both! Fort Young is located in a wonderful spot within walking distance of great restaurants, shopping and tourist sites. The staff is very good and the accomodations are great, too. However - the room I was in - #522 is not a relaxing room as the others are. #522, while a nice room with a very slim view of the ocean, it is on the corner of the hotel - so you hear constantly the screeching traffic on one side and the hotel kitchen and laundromat noise on the other. I slept with ear plugs, which helped.
The breakfast was astounding - so many delicious choices!
Love the Bath & Body Works ammenties and the maid we had was superb! The pool was a great hang-out area and the historic walls and cannons of the original fort lend a nice, historic touch to the place. Would definitely stay here again, would just make sure not to get room #522.

Room Tip: Go for direct oceanfront.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank christine102262
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
midwest
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2013

The hotel is very nice and is located at the edge of Roseau. It is kept up very nicely. The ocean front rooms are the best as you are right on the Caribbean. Turn on the ac on during the day and off at night. Just listen to the waves right below. Very low humidity in March and no bugs! The pool is very nice, just a little cold. Breakfast was included in our package and is just awesome. Omelettes cooked to your liking and a lot to go with them. Open air, so you can see the dolphins. Dinner is served at the same location in the evening. A little pricey, but very good. Had the mahi mahi and red snapper. Ate lunch in the bar area. Not on the ocean, but open air and a nice location. Food prices are reasonable, but the service is very slow.

We would definitely stay here again. Close to the scuba diving and everything is just easy. The staff are attentive to your requests. It is very clean and the beauty of the island is carried out with the waterfall and vegetation at the hotel. We ventured out to eat but found the food better at the hotel and not much difference in prices.

Not too many tourists staying at the hotel, but a number of business people. It never seemed like the hotel was too busy, and that is a good thing for vacationers. Never had to worry about getting a spot at the pool, waiting in line at a restaurant, etc. This is an island that I would return to and would stay at this hotel.

Room Tip: Pay the extra to get an ocean fromt room. You won't regret it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carib_Joe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Onalaska, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
179 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2013

Hotel is neatly integrated into the remains of the original Fort Young. Right at the edge of downtown Roseau and within step of good dining and just a couple blocks to grocery stores for snacks and refreshments. Very good breakfast served over looking the ocean. We spotted whales swimming by from the patio overlooking the cruise ship pier. Very friendly and helpful staff. They were always asking if everything was OK and quickly attended to any request.

Room Tip: Some of the original rooms may be lacking in scenic views due to growth of trees and the addition on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank davcur12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgetown, Saint Michael, Barbados
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2013

My friend & I spent six wonderful days at Fort Young Hotel in March. It was my friends' birthday and we wanted to visit the rain forest. Our check in was early morning so we did not expect the room to be ready, but after waiting fifteen minutes, the manager Hazel came over to let us know our room was ready. We had an ocean front room which was very comfortable and clean. It was wonderful to get up in the morning, sit on the patio, have coffee and see the cruise ships come in. The staff were all very friendly and helpful. The breakfast was ok but lunch and dinner when we ate in was good. The chef always came over to ask if we were enjoying our meal. Service overall was great. You must visit the tour desk and meet Sonia. She took care of all our sightseeing tours and has a wealth of information on the island. Our driver Martin who met us at the airport as we had arranged a pick up on our arrival was also very friendly and took time to show us the sites. We never felt rushed on our tours.What was nice was we were able to walk around Roseau, visit the craft markets, and also found a nice little restaurant called The Old Stone Grill. The dinner was excellent we actually went twice for dinner. If we went back to Dominica we would definitely stay at the Fort Young Hotel.

Room Tip: The ocean front rooms are very quiet. Many night we did not need to use the a/c as we opened the doo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Zeanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2013

Hits - service and food. On the whole we found the food better than anywhere else in Roseau and it was incredibly good value. Misses - room was in need of updating and cleaning, breakfast was awful and expensive, drinks were diluted and Friday's so called 'happy hour madness' which apparently attracts 'locals and tourists from the surrounding area' was almost non-existent. As was the 'live music' that as meant to accompany it. Overall it is a good base to explore the island from and probably the best you are going to get. Our top tip is to make sure you don't book any of your tours through the hotel's tour company KHATTs. Ours were a total rip off US$200 for a couple of hours for two people when we know a taxi would take you there for less that $20 dollars and entry fees were only a couple of dollars a pop. In the end we felt really resentful and found it difficult to enjoy our tours.

Room Tip: Definitely choose an ocean view room they are much much nicer and better value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FortYoungHotel, Sales and Marketing Manager at Fort Young Hotel, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Hi

We thank you for your review and feedback. We are happy that you enjoyed some aspects of our service and have investigated some of your not so good experiences. I have taken the opportunity to speak to our Food and Beverage Manager in regards to the Breakfast and to Housekeeping in regards to the cleaning of rooms. I can assure you we continuously strive to provide the best service and to ensure that our guests are comfortable.

In regards to the Tours I have spoken to the Manager who apologizes for your experience and would have love the opportunity to provide you with a complimentary tour.

Once again we apologize for not meeting your expectations and look forward to serving you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tobago
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2013

I travel to many islands on business and this hotel differed from all the others I’ve stayed at before. It’s an old military fort which has been converted into a modern day hotel. True some parts of it need refurbishing and updating but having to stay in such a historic building does not happen often. The hotel is centrally located, a short walk away from the main hub of everything, including shops, market and businesses. It was nice to come back after a day out and see the smiling faces of the staff. Even better was that incredible view off the pool deck. These were probably some of the most beautiful sunsets I’ve experience whilst living in the Caribbean. One negative would be the food provided on property. So much potential but so disappointing fare being served. Thankfully there are several restaurants within walking distance. Internet service is available but be warned that in some places you can't pick up a signal. Go for the view, the convenience, the hospitality, but don’t expect to be wowed by everything, notably the food.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gourmetiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Roseau
18.3 mi away
Secret Bay
Secret Bay
#1 of 4 in Portsmouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 479 reviews
17.4 mi away
Pagua Bay House Oceanfront Cabanas
18.5 mi away
The Champs, Hotel, Restaurant & Bar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Castle Comfort Dive Lodge
1.0 mi away
Anchorage Hotel & Dive Center
9.9 mi away
The Tamarind Tree Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fort Young Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fort Young Hotel

Property: Fort Young Hotel
Address: Victoria Street | P.O. Box 519, Roseau, Dominica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominica > Saint George Parish > Roseau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Roseau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Fort Young Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
First built in 1699, the Fort Young has been at the heart of Dominica's story for several hundred years. Travellers from across the globe have stayed within our walls from the very beginning, all sharing the same breath-taking setting that our guests do today. Today our site on the capital's main quay is still the focal point of the capital city, with the main market and ferry port connecting island hoppers to neighbouring islands just a minute's walk from our entrance. The Fort Young Hotel is a 3 star property with historical ambience and the most recognized name in quality hospitality services in Dominica The Fort Young marries traditional elegance with breath taking views of the ocean. Our 71 guest rooms and suites are ideal for both business and leisure travellers. All rooms are fully air-conditioned, with free wi-fi throughout and all feature a terrace or balcony offering the most dramatic sea and sunset views imaginable. The Fort Young is perfectly situated to discover all this island's treasures. You can dive or go whale watching directly from our jetty. Hike the rainforests and waterfalls that stretch up behind our hotel.     Whatever you desire to do, Fort Young is The Key to Dominica ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fort Young Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Fort Young
Fort Young Roseau
Fort Young Hotel Dominica/Roseau

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing