We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great dinner even though some minor issues”
Review of Cocorico Cafe

Cocorico Cafe
Ranked #2 of 52 Restaurants in Roseau
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $14
Cuisines: Caribbean, French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Outdoor Seating, Takeout
Description: Located on Roseau's Bay Front, Cocorico successfully blends food & drink with a kaleidoscope of color. Accompany your meal with freshly made fruit juice, a cocktail, an espresso or a homemade rum punch while gazing out across the Caribbean sea, either from inside the restaurant or outside on the terrace. Fresh produce, fish and fruits are selected from the local market. Cocorico offers a selection of sandwiches, made from locally baked baguettes, baked fresh daily. Breakfast items include eggs, omelets, bagels and french toast. Lunchtime offers a variety of crepes, pizza bread, salads, sandwiches, pastas, as well as main course entrees like our coconut curry chicken, served with rice, beans, local salad & provisions. Wireless internet access is available.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
111 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Great dinner even though some minor issues”
Reviewed January 4, 2014

We came here for a late dinner. Unfortunately we came just after a large group. Instead of finding a new place we decided to stay anyway but the only seats left where outside next to the street. The street is quite busy even at late evening so that was a bit disturbing. However the food and service was good so we didn't mind the noise. Of the 5-6 dishes on the menu the most was already out for the day so we all ended up with the same course a pork jerky. It was really good, flavoured and lots of spices so we didn't mind that either. The chef came out afterwards and presented himself and the food. We stayed for a few more drinks and we were probably there to some time after closing but they didn't mind. A really nice place, maybe a bit on the tourist side.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank soffis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donald W, Owner at Cocorico Cafe, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Thank you for trying us for dinner. We recently started serving dinners on Friday and Saturday evenings only. Our dinner menu is completely different from our breakfast / lunch menu, and it changes monthly. I am so glad you enjoyed your meal(s) even though your preferred seating was not available at the time. Reservations are always appreciated, and they help to have sufficient quantities of each entry available.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    82
    18
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good food, reasonable prices, great waterfront location”
Reviewed November 13, 2013

My wife and I dined at Cocorico with our tour guide on our visit to Roseau. We just stopped for a quick bite and a beer and found the food tasty and the beer cold, which was all we were looking for. The property overlooks the waterfront which was nice, but the traffic did its best to spoil the picturesque views. Overall, good food at a good price.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tmcintire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donald W, Owner at Cocorico Cafe, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
We are always striving to provide good food at reasonable prices. We want everyone to enjoy their meal at Cocorico Cafe. Thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
88 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Just Average”
Reviewed October 4, 2013

I ordered coconut curry fish October 1st. It was about 25 EC. It came with some rice and provisions. It was just average. It lacked some flavor and spices. The lime juice was good and was about 5 EC.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Steve C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donald W, Owner at Cocorico Cafe, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Thank you for your review. We appreciate all feedback. I especially appreciate the precise date, so I can address the lack of seasoning with the appropriate cook.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antigua
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good Location, Lousy Service”
Reviewed September 23, 2013

We are frequent visitors to Dominica and so we decided to visit one of our favourite breakfast/lunch spots, Cocorico on the Bayfront.
We arrived 15 minutes after the deadline for breakfast of 11am. We were the only paying customers in the restaurant and our request for breakfast was declined which wasn't a great start to our visit. The waitress did not want to make any kind of eye contact, was very terse when dealing with us and was only happy to make conversation with her friends and co workers in the bar. The overall impression that we got from here was that she had better things to do than her job and that we were interrupting her conversations. The food was average, the place itself was hot (which we expected) but the service was poor at best. We have heard that the management has changed which would explain the service going downhill.
Sadly, after frequenting Cocorico on several occasions in the past, we will not be coming back.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank canu1761
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donald W, Owner at Cocorico Cafe, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
I am so very sorry you had a bad experience at Cocorico Cafe. Our customers are our number one concern, especially during the very slow month of September. There are logistic reasons why breakfast is only served until 11am, however during our slow seasons, it is normal practice for the wait staff to check with the kitchen before declining a breakfast order. I am sorry this did not happen in your case. Your review is a perfect reminder that we must always put our customers first, and I am thankful for the opportunity that you have given me to bring about some positive changes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
74 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Nice for lunch, drinks”
Reviewed June 6, 2013

Nice for quick meal, lunch, drinks or relax. On the waterfront near the ship terminal. Wifi available.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank neko888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donald W, Owner at Cocorico Cafe, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review Cocorico Cafe. Needless to say, we agree that Cocorico is a great place for a quick and delicious meal, or to just relax & have a drink while enjoying the Bayfront. We hope you will return with your friends and family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cocorico Cafe also viewed

Roseau, Saint George Parish
Roseau, Saint George Parish
 
Roseau, Saint George Parish
Roseau, Saint George Parish
 
Roseau, Saint George Parish
Roseau, Saint George Parish
 

Been to Cocorico Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing