We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice for lunch, drinks”
Review of Cocorico Cafe

Cocorico Cafe
Ranked #2 of 52 Restaurants in Roseau
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $14
Cuisines: Caribbean, French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Outdoor Seating, Takeout
Description: Located on Roseau's Bay Front, Cocorico successfully blends food & drink with a kaleidoscope of color. Accompany your meal with freshly made fruit juice, a cocktail, an espresso or a homemade rum punch while gazing out across the Caribbean sea, either from inside the restaurant or outside on the terrace. Fresh produce, fish and fruits are selected from the local market. Cocorico offers a selection of sandwiches, made from locally baked baguettes, baked fresh daily. Breakfast items include eggs, omelets, bagels and french toast. Lunchtime offers a variety of crepes, pizza bread, salads, sandwiches, pastas, as well as main course entrees like our coconut curry chicken, served with rice, beans, local salad & provisions. Wireless internet access is available.
San Francisco, California
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Nice for lunch, drinks”
Reviewed June 6, 2013

Nice for quick meal, lunch, drinks or relax. On the waterfront near the ship terminal. Wifi available.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank neko888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donald W, Owner at Cocorico Cafe, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review Cocorico Cafe. Needless to say, we agree that Cocorico is a great place for a quick and delicious meal, or to just relax & have a drink while enjoying the Bayfront. We hope you will return with your friends and family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    84
    18
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brasilia-DF, Brazil
Level 5 Contributor
33 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“For Unawared Tourists”
Reviewed May 27, 2013

I read some good reviews about Cocoricó food and decided to try it. the place is very simple, as most of the restaurants in Dominica are. There´s no AC, only one fan on a stool. I asked for the shrimp with coconut sauce. What was my surprise when the place arrived. First of all, the coconut sauce was green (I thought maybe they used the outside of the fruit) and one could taste the seasoning as it has not dissolved completely. There were only 5 overcooked medium size shrimps, rubbery as chewing gum. I could stand only couple of bites. I promised myself never to return there.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank PCCHAVES
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donald W, Owner at Cocorico Cafe, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
I am very sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your shrimp. Our coconut sauce is made to order for each plate. We use only the freshest herbs for seasoning. This dish has fresh minced parsley, celery, chives and seasoning peppers (very small green peppers). Finely chopping these herbs can give a green tint to the coconut milk which is the base of the sauce. Apparently the shrimp was over cooked if it was chewy, however we would have been happy to correct it for you. Also, for the comfort of our customers, we do have two large ceiling fans, plus 3 wall fans, in addition to the one floor fan that you mentioned.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Easy to find and helpful staff”
Reviewed April 14, 2013

We visited here twice. First stopped in for a cool refreshment, a Kubuli beer and a Ginger Shandy, and to use the wi-fi. The wait staff was friendly and helpful with directions. After shopping around the town, we came back for a very late lunch - a wide variety of selections on the menu. We sat inside because the outdoor tables were full. The service was fast even with most of the tables filled. The location on the water front street is just around the corner from the fresh market and near many cute little shops.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank PndaM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donald W, Owner at Cocorico Cafe, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Dear A.H. - Thank you for the very nice review. We do strive to serve customers as quickly as possible. Since everything is made to order, this can sometimes be very challenging (like when all the tables fill up at the same time, and the kitchen gets orders for all the tables at one time). We try our best to serve the food quickly, and to advise our customers if any delay may be expected. I hope you will return in the future and please tell your friends to come check us out.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great breakfast”
Reviewed March 16, 2013

Really great little cafe. Brilliant food ( though a bit greasy at times) and service. Roseau needs more of these types of cafe's!! We ended up having breakfast here a lot. Good value.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank A H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donald W, Owner at Cocorico Cafe, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Thank you for your review! I am sorry some dishes were a bit greasy to your liking. I hope this was pointed out to our staff at the time, so they could be aware and not to do it again. Feedback from our customers, good or bad, is always appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK and Lefkada
Level 6 Contributor
68 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Great little cafe!”
Reviewed February 6, 2013

Cocorico is a friendly, welcoming cafe with indoor and outdoor seating on the waterfront in Roseau. A wide range of food is available, from baguettes and pancakes to traditional local stews, prepared to order. There are coffees, teas, and fruit punches, as well as rum, of course. On the walls are some interesting local artworks which are for sale, and it's worth visiting the giftshop downstairs. A great place for a drink or snack in Roseau.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank kyklamina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donald W, Owner at Cocorico Cafe, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Thank you so much for your review! We love to hear from our customers. We are new to this TripAdvisor site, but learning how reply and respond to our customer reviews. We are glad you had a good experience at Cocorico Cafe and Duty Free Shops. Please come again, and spread the word about our little cafe.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cocorico Cafe also viewed

Roseau, Saint George Parish
Roseau, Saint George Parish
 
Roseau, Saint George Parish
Roseau, Saint George Parish
 
Roseau, Saint George Parish
Roseau, Saint George Parish
 

Been to Cocorico Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing