We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Easy to find and helpful staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Cocorico Cafe

Cocorico Cafe
Ranked #2 of 52 Restaurants in Roseau
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $14
Cuisines: Caribbean, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: Located on Roseau's Bay Front, Cocorico successfully blends food & drink with a kaleidoscope of color. Accompany your meal with freshly made fruit juice, a cocktail, an espresso or a homemade rum punch while gazing out across the Caribbean sea, either from inside the restaurant or outside on the terrace. Fresh produce, fish and fruits are selected from the local market. Cocorico offers a selection of sandwiches, made from locally baked baguettes, baked fresh daily. Breakfast items include eggs, omelets, bagels and french toast. Lunchtime offers a variety of crepes, pizza bread, salads, sandwiches, pastas, as well as main course entrees like our coconut curry chicken, served with rice, beans, local salad & provisions. Wireless internet access is available.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Easy to find and helpful staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2013

We visited here twice. First stopped in for a cool refreshment, a Kubuli beer and a Ginger Shandy, and to use the wi-fi. The wait staff was friendly and helpful with directions. After shopping around the town, we came back for a very late lunch - a wide variety of selections on the menu. We sat inside because the outdoor tables were full. The service was fast even with most of the tables filled. The location on the water front street is just around the corner from the fresh market and near many cute little shops.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank PndaM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donald W, Owner at Cocorico Cafe, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Dear A.H. - Thank you for the very nice review. We do strive to serve customers as quickly as possible. Since everything is made to order, this can sometimes be very challenging (like when all the tables fill up at the same time, and the kitchen gets orders for all the tables at one time). We try our best to serve the food quickly, and to advise our customers if any delay may be expected. I hope you will return in the future and please tell your friends to come check us out.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    78
    18
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great breakfast”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2013

Really great little cafe. Brilliant food ( though a bit greasy at times) and service. Roseau needs more of these types of cafe's!! We ended up having breakfast here a lot. Good value.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank A H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donald W, Owner at Cocorico Cafe, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Thank you for your review! I am sorry some dishes were a bit greasy to your liking. I hope this was pointed out to our staff at the time, so they could be aware and not to do it again. Feedback from our customers, good or bad, is always appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK and Lefkada
Level Contributor
68 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Great little cafe!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2013

Cocorico is a friendly, welcoming cafe with indoor and outdoor seating on the waterfront in Roseau. A wide range of food is available, from baguettes and pancakes to traditional local stews, prepared to order. There are coffees, teas, and fruit punches, as well as rum, of course. On the walls are some interesting local artworks which are for sale, and it's worth visiting the giftshop downstairs. A great place for a drink or snack in Roseau.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank kyklamina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donald W, Owner at Cocorico Cafe, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Thank you so much for your review! We love to hear from our customers. We are new to this TripAdvisor site, but learning how reply and respond to our customer reviews. We are glad you had a good experience at Cocorico Cafe and Duty Free Shops. Please come again, and spread the word about our little cafe.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
78 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Great Stop for Good Food and Wifi”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2012

The restaurant provided yummy Creole food - we had the chicken coconut curry and it was scrumptious! It came with lentils, coleslaw, and rice... my husband and I devoured it within minutes! They also have a good selection of crepes and sandwiches.

They serve the local beer (Kubuli), which was much more worthwhile than your typical pop.

The atmosphere was quaint, although full of travelers and workers from cruise ships. The artwork decorating the restaurant was also very warm and cute. The restaurant is right on the main street where the port is, so it faces the vendors/shops that are catered to tourists.

The wifi is available at a charge, but possibly can be waived if you order food. Overall, a great stop for food and wifi.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank hollyholz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dominica
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great stop:)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

I love the omelet for breakfast and the chicken caesar for lunch! It's right on the bay front for people watching; always has fresh juice, cold wine & beer, wi-fi, clean bathrooms and friendly service.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank The-Island-Life
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cocorico Cafe also viewed

Roseau, Saint George Parish
Roseau, Saint George Parish
 
Roseau, Saint George Parish
Roseau, Saint George Parish
 
Roseau, Saint George Parish
 

Been to Cocorico Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing