We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful views, lots of wildlife, unfortunate litter problem”

Dominica Botanic Gardens
Book In Advance
More Info
$56.25*
and up
Roseau City Sightseeing and Beach Tour
Ranked #3 of 33 things to do in Roseau
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The forty acres of garden include orchid trees, bottle palms, the Carib Wood tree and an unidentifiable no-name tree.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful views, lots of wildlife, unfortunate litter problem”
Reviewed June 29, 2014

Lovely spacious gardens. I took Jack's Walk to the top of the hill which gives great (almost 360degree) views of Roseau and surrounding area. I saw so many birds, lizards and even a possum! The only thing is that there was quite a lot of litter along the paths which was very sad to see.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank RaHuUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

321 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    126
    104
    24
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Cod, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful Gardens”
Reviewed June 29, 2014

A beautiful place to spend sometime walking around in the early evening. It's free, nicely cared for, but be sure to pack some bug spray.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Captain_J_1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Potter Bar, Herts (near London), England
Level Contributor
368 reviews
142 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 299 helpful votes
“The Showpiece of Roseau”
Reviewed June 11, 2014

Well if visiting you will find some 40 acres of Botanical Gardens.

The planning of the gardens started way back in 1890 on land previously used to grow sugar cane. As the gardens are in a reasonably sheltered area and as they benefit from:-
1. A tropical Climate and
2. Rain falling at least 3 times more than that in London
They flourish and will give you an idea of what else grows on the Island if you do not have time to explore very far.

The garden i split and had an economic section and ornamental section.

I spoke to one of gardeners who informed me that the gardens have been used as a cricket ground and visited a few times by H.M. The Queen and Price Philip.

This is well worth a visit and claimed to be one of the Caribbean's premier gardens.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Wacky the Wizard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stevenage, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
51 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Wet and Wild day out around Roseau.”
Reviewed June 8, 2014

The botanical gardens were vast and interesting yet not on a par with those of St Vincent to my mind. I had already seen much of the same flora there. The layout was more picturesque and neat. The washrooms there were inadequate for the amount of space and people, involving a lot of queuing for the Ladies with steps up, so not appropriate for wheelchairs, that may have improved by now though.
Roseau has food and craft markets, and fine examples of Creole architecture and Georgian buildings housing the Court House and Government House.
We went on a Wild wet tour of Dominica later, involving snorkelling at a beach of dark volcanic sand, a walk into Morne Trois Pitons, ( 3 peaks) the national park, or hike rather, into the rainforest to admire the Mama, short and wide, and Papa, tall and narrow, waterfalls, and jump into and swim in a freezing cold river. Surprising given the the talk of the Boiling Lake! We then went elsewhere, can't remember exactly, may have been near Trafalgar falls, to enjoy muddy sulphur hot springs which were too shallow and difficult to approach over the rocky terrain to enjoy to the full. Also, our party was quite big, so it was a squash to actual find room to squat in the snug pools.
I would not recommend this trip to people unsteady on their feet with an aversion to mud, water or getting wet under falls!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Vyvienne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincolnshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
124 reviews
47 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 210 helpful votes
“Lush and lovely”
Reviewed May 31, 2014 via mobile

It's about a 20-25 minute walk from the cruise ship harbour, and remember you are climbing in elevation, but it is definitely worth the effort for the views back towards the sea, and to be surrounded by such lush green vegetation.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank L0tusBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dominica Botanic Gardens also viewed

Roseau, Saint George Parish
 
Morne Trois Pitons National Park, Saint Patrick Parish
Morne Trois Pitons National Park, Saint Patrick Parish
 

Been to Dominica Botanic Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing