We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Place to Stay”
Review of Garraway Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Garraway Hotel
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Roseau
London
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great Place to Stay”
Reviewed May 28, 2008

I stayed at the Garraway Hotel while I was in Dominica on holiday.

The staff were polite and extremely helpful. They booked excursions to Champagne Pool, Trafalgar Falls, Scott's Head and even organised scuba diving.

The restaurant has interesting fresh breakfasts including fresh fruit, local dishes such as saltfish and flying fish and the banana bread was amazing! The restaurant in the evening has a wide range of dishes the lobster being my favourite! This dosen't include the bar snacks that are great too.

The room had two double beds and was kept clean and tidy. And we could even borrow beach towels when we went out on day trips.

All in all it was a great stay and the island is so beautiful and untouched. It does mean it takes time to see this wonderful island as the roads wind round the mountainous terrain but it's worth it! I hope to visit again it was awesome!

  • Liked — Convenience
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kgroover78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    19
    15
    11
    7
See reviews for
6
9
4
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Vienna
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2006

This is what I would describe as 'great value'. I am a frequent business traveller and found everything I needed in this hotel in order to peacefully eat, sleep and work.

The staff were excellent. Very friendly and always willing to help. The restaurant had a limited menu but it was good, cheap food. The rooms need updating but I had a view of the harbour which made up for the dreary room.

There is free internet in the room (bring your own ADSL cable) and a business centre. No problems in this area at all.

The location is great. Near shops and near downtown. I would highly recommend this hotel especially if you are looking to save some money on your travel budget.

  • Liked — Staff
  • Disliked — Rooms
  • Tips/Secrets — Bring your own ADSL cord and ask for harbour view rooms
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
7 Thank tonyfudge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
U.S.A
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2006

I stayed in this hotel for one night and I was not at all impressed with the room. It was old and looked like one too many people had stayed there. This hotel is comparable to a less than one star motel in America. Like a previous poster stated, there is no pool and no balconies. The only thing that was good about the hotel was that the staff was very friendly and the food at the hotel's restaurant was good.

  • Stayed June 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank ellie0916
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Roseau hotels

A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed February 24, 2004

We were in Dominica on business but, left the hotel after a week. There were no hotel ammenities to be enjoyed. The staff were very nice however, no pool & no balconies left little to do in the evenings.

Helpful?
11 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed June 15, 2003

I stayed at the hotel for business/holiday and found both the accommodation and staff excellent. Located in the heart of Roseau its in the perfect location to mix business and pleasure. I recommend that you stay there if in the country

Helpful?
11 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Roseau
0.1 mi away
Fort Young Hotel
Fort Young Hotel
#1 of 7 in Roseau
4.0 of 5 bubbles 826 reviews
1.1 mi away
Anchorage Hotel & Dive Center
1.1 mi away
Evergreen Hotel
Evergreen Hotel
#5 of 7 in Roseau
3.5 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.2 mi away
Secret Bay
Secret Bay
#1 of 4 in Portsmouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 483 reviews
1.2 mi away
Castle Comfort Dive Lodge
9.8 mi away
The Tamarind Tree Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Garraway Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garraway Hotel

Property: Garraway Hotel
Address: Place Heritage | One, Dame Eugenia Charles Blvd., Roseau, Dominica
Location: Caribbean > Dominica > Saint George Parish > Roseau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Roseau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Garraway Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Garraway Hotel is perfectly suited for the business and leisure visitor who wish to have easy access to the city of Roseau and its environs. It is strategically located on the historic Bay Front named after the Caribbean's first female Prime Minister,the late Dame Mary Eugenia Charles. Comprising 31 rooms with 20 single/double standard rooms and 11 suites (all air conditioned plus having standing fans), it provides comfortable accommodation for singles, doubles and families who wish interconnecting rooms. We have added wifi services to our free internet service. Our local cuisine caters for a variety of food choices for breakfast, lunch, dinner and snacks. We offer karaoke entertainment every Friday evening and can arrange tours to the many natural sites and attractions which have made Dominica well known as the Nature Island of the Caribbean. Please come stay with us! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Expedia and Orbitz so you can book your Garraway Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garraway Hotel Roseau
Garraway Hotel Dominica/Roseau

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing