We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Garraway Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$341
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$75
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$107
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Beau Rive(Castle Bruce)
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (61)
Filter reviews
61 results
Traveler rating
7
19
16
11
8
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
7
19
16
11
8
See what travelers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
34 - 39 of 61 reviews
Reviewed April 1, 2013

I stay for three nights and couldn't get another hotel since there was a big cricket tournament when I went and all of the other hotels were filled to capacity. The food was very good and local dishes were offered in the morning. Didn't eat lunch or dinner there. Was out during lunch and went around the corner at a restaurant for dinner. The room was clean. The negatives were that the water turned cold whenever it was switched over from the spout to the shower and the shower curtain was slimy. We did see a good view of the cruise ships as it docked directly from the hotel. Also, it is close to the tourist market as it is along the waterfront.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank JiClipper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pestaina, Manager at Garraway Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2013

Thanks for staying with us. It was a busy time as Dominica was hosting a Cricket Test Match at the time. However we do try to ensure that all our clients are happy and given excellent service. We would have liked you to savour more of our local cuisine as we do have a varied selection of meals for lunch and dinner. We offer themed dinners every night including sea food night, grill night, barbecure night, gourmet night, Indian night which caters to the tastes of our many clients. We hope that the next time you stay with us the water will not be cold. We note your observation about the shower curtain and have taken steps to rectify this.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2013

We were forced to stay here during a travel delay due to a cancelled flight, it was one of the only hotels which would accept the airlines voucher. While the hotel itself was OK, I have no idea why anyone would actually pick it given the other choices.

It's right downtown next to the cruise ship dock. It's very busy, loud, and below average views compared to other options. The food was way over priced at the restaraunt and service was exceptionally slow. Rooms are OK, beds were comfortable but small, and bathrooms were clean but there was some problem with the water when we arrived.

I'm sure it would be fine for a place to sleep, but be prepared for noise, and traffic. I'd pick another option any day if it were available. Only really positive is it is downtown so within walking distance of pretty much anything in Roseau if you don't have a car. On the flip side because it is right at the cruise ship dock be prepared for tourist prices and treatment.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank AKGirl1883
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pestaina, Manager at Garraway Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2013

We re happy that you stayed with us and apologise for the noise which is caused by the traffic outside depending on the level of activity in the country. We would have been happy to move you to another room which we usually do to accommodate guests for their satisfaction and comfort.
Our location is very strategic and all our clients find this very convenient especially if they are business clients with limited time.
We do our best to ensure that we provide the services required to ensure that all our guests are comfortable so we look forward to your next visit so if you find anything which we can do to make your stay more memorable just let us know and we would be only too happy to help. Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Dominica unfortunately does not have any modern design hotels, Garraway is in the top 5 best on the island. Difficult to keep the noise from the city out of your room. Requires better maintenance. The hot water is lukewarm, but the cold is cold. Having stayed all over Roseau, it's a toss up really when it comes to accommodations. I usually choose fort young, anchorage or Garraway.
The wifi leaves a lot to be desired, didn't use my iPad until I got to the restaurant.

Room Tip: 5th floor has no carpeting in rooms
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ttman A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pestaina, Manager at Garraway Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2013

Thanks for staying with us. You will be happy to know that our wifi service is now operating perfectly so we apologise for the hiccup you encountered during your stay as it was just being tested at the time. We would have gladly moved you to a room away from the traffic ton ensuern that you were insulated from the outside noise which is sometimes caused by increased activity as a result of seasonal entertainment. So I hope the next time you stay with us that can be rectified.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2012

More of a business hotel than tourist, rooms are large and modern with fridge & kettle and most have a sea view. Good for sunsets, but you may wake up with a multi storey cruise ship outside your window as the dock is on the opposite side of the road. The staff were helpfull, I had not heard good things about the restaurant, so did not use it. You can get a very good breakfast from Cocorico's along the road, except on Sundays. The hotel needs a referbishment, it is on 5 floors and the bar downstairs can be very noisey late into the night. Traffic noise outside may deprive you of sleep also.

Room Tip: Go for floor 4 or 5, there are also 2 suites on each floor with good views.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TravelTrax1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pestaina, Manager at Garraway Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2013

Thanks for your observations about our hotel which does cater for both the business and leisure visitor. We do not have a swimming pool but since we are so centrally located and pride ourselves on being the Nature Island of the Caribbean, we feel that most people love to enjoy our natural rivers, sulphur spas and beaches. We are able to organise such tours for our clients and recommend that the next time you stay with us we will gladly help you to visit such wonderful sites.

The noise from the traffic is not constant but varies depending on the level of entertainment which usually takes place seasonally, such as World Creole Music Festival in October, Carnival in February or March and usually on Friday nights when Dominicans party. However, in such a case, we usually transfer clients to rooms which are further removed from the traffic once rooms are available.

As far as our restaurant is concerned you are spoilt for choice as we are well known for our local cuisine offering a range of local dishes for breakfast, lunch and dinner. In addition, our snack menu is very popular so we would encourage you to try it for yourself and don't accept what may be said which can sometimes be subjective for various reasons.

We now offer wifi services which is important particularly as most clients now use iphones or ipads. We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2012

The Garraway hotel enjoys a prime location on the Roseau waterfront offering gorgeous sunset views from its West facing aspect.
It's clean and the rooms are spacious; bathrooms are OK but could use an upgrade -however the towels were quite new when I stayed recently which was a positive.
The front desk is usually very helpful and the restaurant staff try to accommodate requests.
It's annoying it still doesn't have wi-fi and this really needs to be sorted out -especially as you can sometimes get a weak signal from the Fort Young Hotel network if you stay in the rooms nearest the Garraway's main competitor.
Like others I've stayed here several times- it's safe, the staff are helpful and pleasant and it's a good choice if you are on a short business trip (and don't mind not having wi-fi) or getting to know Dominica and the Roseau valley for pleasure.
It's a little old-fashioned style wise and a refurb wouldn't go amiss but the location, room size and well intentioned staff make it a good choice for a short stay.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BigBananaMgt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pestaina, Manager at Garraway Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2012

Thanks much for your response. While we do not yet have access to wifi we offer internet access in all rooms free of cost but are considering wifi access in the short term. We greatly appreciate your comments which have been very helpful and will convey your kind comments about our staff accordingly. We hope that our services will be upgraded by the next time you visit. We look forward to welcoming you and making your stay as comfortable as possible.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews