We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel in Need of Some Repairs with Good Restaurant”
Review of Evergreen Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Evergreen Hotel
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Roseau
Reviewed June 2, 2013

This is the 2nd year in a row that I traveled to this stretch of Dominica for diving. The hotel is like most on Dom, in need of some repairs. This road has lots of noisy motorcycles and cars, so bring your Leight 33db ear plugs and a noise machine would not be a bad idea too! It does not matter which of the 4-hotels you pick in this area they all are close to the road. Some have beach front rooms with a lot less road noise, but at a much higher price. The restaurant had very tasty wraps for lunch, chicken, or mahi mahi, or marlin. I had the marlin for dinner and it was a long line chew. Pass on marlin,unless you need chewing exercise. Now if you get a chance to have Lion Fish, go for it! I had it 3-times this trip. I would recommend the restaurant and their pool.

Room Tip: The farthest from the road-Beachfront room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank airebornranger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (73)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

37 - 43 of 73 reviews

Reviewed February 24, 2013

This was our second stay in 5 years and the wonderful staff is still present. We had rooms on the 2nd floor and despite exercising our leg muscles, we each had a lovely balcony with ocean view.
The food is top rate. You can order a big breakfast including a local one (night before) with salt fish and johnny cakes! We also ate several lunches and dinners and all were excellent. The pool is well maintained.

Room Tip: We love the 2nd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank glesn001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2012

We were made very welcome and soon settled in. We thought that $155 US was a little expensive for a room that was in need of modernisation. On the plus side, the shower was strong and the water hot, we were right above the sea, the Mahi Mahi dinner was excellent. We get the feeling that the staff will go out of their way to make your stay enjoyable. So if there is anything you need changing, etc just ask.

Room Tip: Check that the air con is working well and your mosquito nets on the windows are intact.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank QuaySmithTravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2012

Stayed at the Evergreen Hotel from 3-7 April 2012 having moved from another hotel in Roseau.
I had not heard of the hotel before and I had some reservations but I really shouldn't have had. My son, my sister and myself were treated like family. If we mentioned something that we would like to eat - it was there the next day.

The staff were friendly, helpful and warm
The rooms were comfortable and clean and our air con packed - the electrician was there with click of finger. He was unable to fix - we were moved into another room and he came the next day - Good Friday. How's that for service?

Everything is cooked from scratch s expect a wait. At lunch or dinner and breakfast if you so wish - do try the rum punch - what a kick!

Only one negative - would have liked a kettle in the room.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Gabriella45London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2011

beautifull rooms with some of them with nice seaview, tidy rooms, lovely food, however one lady was not helpfull at all, quite arrogant, a pity, I loved the pool and enjoyed our stay! this was maybe the only hotel with airco in the room...

Room Tip: take a room on seaside
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Karin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2011

We picked this hotel to end a 10 day stay in Dominica. Even though we read the reviews about noise, we were not that concerned as we stayed here a few years ago at the end of a previous trip to Dominica, and had a good experience.

Unfortunately, our experience this time was not the same, and ended up putting a damper on an otherwise great trip to Dominica where the Evergreen could not compare to the wonderful experiences at the two other inns we stayed at prior to arrving at the Evergreen. The only reason why we did not leave and go somewhere else was because we had only booked in two nights here this trip, and it took us the first night to realize that the quality had gone down hill, and we then felt it wasn't worth the effort to move to a different hotel for our one remaining night in Dominica.

First, the good things about the hotel--the main thing is it is totally convenient to going to Champagne Bay, Scotts Head or Roseau. The views, and the food, in the restauarant are good. In fact, it seems like they have put way more effort into maintaining the restaurant than the hotel. And the staff that we encountered were pleasant and helpful.

Now, the problems. When we walked into the room, it smelled incredibly musty. The decor in the rooms is garish, and anywhere there is white paint, it is yellowed as it has not been painted in many, many years. The linens are all threadbare, faded, and yellowed, and not particularly comfortable. There seems to have not been any maintenance done in the rooms as screens, if they are present in a window are ripped, on some windows the handles are broken, and in our room we had two patios but one of them the door did not open, and when we finally forced it open, the curtains fell off:) Because of the situation with the windows, we could not sleep without running the air conditioner. This was because there are mosquitos present and also because at least in the ocean view rooms, which are the more expensive ones there, while we did not hear noise from the outdoor nightclub, there was noise from the road and also music from the hotel's restauarant. We also did not have any hot water for the entire time we were there.

It was a disappointing experience as opposed to a truly miserable one, but it is not something you want to happen when going on a vacation when you have great expectations and limited time. And the Evergreen is not cheap for a room in Dominica, and what you get is so lacking in quality compared to many of the other wopndeful places to stay there, that we felt it just not worthstaying there.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank SaoNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2009

This was our first trip to Dominica. My husband is a diver, while I tag along to relax and enjoy the beautiful scenery. We were not disappointed with any aspect of this trip. Dominica is a beautiful island, with very friendly and gracious people and stunning scenery. We chose this part of the island because my husband wanted to dive with Nature Island Divers in Soufriere, which he would highly recommend to everyone.
Our second story sea view room at the Evergreen was directly over the ocean and we went to sleep every night with the calming sound of the ocean waves. The sunsets from our balcony were to die for. The rooms and bathrooms are clean and spacious enough. The swimming pool is private with great ocean views. The restaurant is located right on the ocean, had a nice menu, very reasonable prices, friendly service, and live entertainment on Friday evening.
Other reviewers had mentioned excessive noise from a local bar, but it was only on one weekend night that we heard music into the morning hours. The hotel owner, Jennifer has been working on resolving this issue, and seems to have gotten favorable results.
We would absolutely recommend The Evergreen Hotel to anyone traveling to Roseau, although if it's the large resorts that impress you, look elsewhere. For an intimate, friendly boutique type inn, look no further.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mjnnj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Roseau
1 mi away
Fort Young Hotel
Fort Young Hotel
#1 of 7 in Roseau
877 reviews
19.4 mi away
The Champs, Hotel, Restaurant & Bar
17.7 mi away
Pagua Bay House Oceanfront Cabanas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Castle Comfort Dive Lodge
10.8 mi away
The Tamarind Tree Hotel & Restaurant
19.2 mi away
Secret Bay
Secret Bay
#1 of 4 in Portsmouth
505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Evergreen Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Evergreen Hotel

Address: Castle Comfort, Roseau, Dominica
Location: Caribbean > Dominica > Saint George Parish > Roseau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Roseau
Price Range: $72 - $140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Evergreen Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Evergreen Hotel is a charming sea-front inn located along Dominica's west coast, only one mile south of Roseau, Dominica's capital city. This boutique hotel affords perfect sunset views and cool ocean breezes and has been described as "Petite and Charming... A Serene Blend of Island Beauty and All the Comforts of Home..." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Evergreen Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Evergreen Hotel Dominica/Roseau

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing