We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hotel flashback to misery” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Castle Comfort Dive Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Castle Comfort Dive Lodge
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Roseau
Certificate of Excellence
new york
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Hotel flashback to misery”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2008

Be sure and check into this carefully before you stay here. I cannot believe the ratings that we have seen since our miserable trip there. One of the worse properties I have ever stayed in anywhere. Go elsewhere or beware.

Stayed August 2006
Helpful?
1 Thank adventurecraver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    54
    20
    4
    4
See reviews for
10
57
12
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2008

The diving in Dominica is really great and the dive operation is very very good - experienced dive masters, good equipment and large, new boats. On land, however, I was disappointed. The food is very overpriced - for about $15 you get a dry hamburger on two pieces of bread - no discount since they ran out of buns. Dinners were good but not worth $40. Drinks have no alcohol in them - my pina colada tasted like a milk shake

Stayed March 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank MarcieMichigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tennessee
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2008

I was pleasantly surprised to find such pristine diving on this small tropical island. Is is obviously a well-kept secret as the coral is beautiful and unspoiled. I saw only a few sharks and stingrays, but lots of eels and porcupine puffers, several turtles and seahorses, and lots of neat, small critters. The orange and purple colors on the reefs and huge barrel sponges and soft corals were incredible.

We stayed at Castle Comfort Lodge. It is small but the rooms were large with good storage. The ocean-view rooms are worth the extra cost. The food and service were excellent. The "catch of the day" was always a good choice, along with fresh salads and tasty vegetables, not to mention desserts that included homemade ice cream. The restaurant staff would find out what you wanted for lunch if you were taking an afternoon tour, so that when you returned at 12:45pm from your 2-tank boat dives, you could shower, dress and get to the table at the same time your lunch was presented. This was definitely a nice feature of staying in a small, intimate resort that did those "extra" things to make your stay more enjoyable and stress-free.

Dive Dominica is based at Castle Comfort. The dive staff was excellent...very friendly, knowledgeable and helpful. The shore diving at this resort was very good, with 24/7 access to the tanks and your dive equipment in the storage area. There were flying gurnards, small electric rays and "the almost never seen" snake eel (which is totally hidden in the sand except for his eyes and teeth) right out front of this resort.

When you weren't diving you could take a whale-watching tour (only 2 miles offshore), hike into lush rainforests to beautiful waterfalls or soak in one of the hot springs. You could walk (30 minutes) into the town of Roseau (or take the resort shuttle).

I'm sure that must have been something negative about this trip but I just can't seem to remember it. We had a wonderful experience and plan to go back and take friends.

  • Liked — view from our balcony
  • Disliked — no screens on windows
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank LindaC8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2008

Castle Comfort is a wonderful SCUBA diving destination that has the added attraction of having access to a beautiful tropical island with lots of hiking and sightseeing available.
The hotel is small (14 rooms) with a restaurant that features balcony, indoor, or waterfront dining depending on the weather. We were on a package that included breakfast with several choices: banana pancakes, made to order omlettes, fruit (when available and fresh), continental, and local food options. Food and service were excellent. Breakfast was served on a balcony overlooking the pool/garden and the Caribbean with bullfinches begging for scraps.
The rooms are fairly large with ensuite bathrooms, clean and well maintained. The rooms have air conditioning and various arrangements of windows and ceiling fans to control ventilation. We stayed in an oceanfront room with a balcony overlooking the Caribbean, two double beds and ample storage. During the runup to Carnival, a night club two properties away can be quite loud but I think this is only a problem in January. Otherwise, Castle Comfort is very laid back and quiet.
The diving operation (Dive Dominica) is exceptional. A two tank boat dive is included every morning with unlimited shore diving (off a convienient pier). The boat crew and dive masters were all friendly and efficient and very good in and on the water. Dive Dominica is based in the Castle Comfort and has 3 or 4 boats of various sizes to handle various sizes of groups of divers, whale watchers, or snorkelers. Dive trips left very promptly (not Island time) with the dive crew handling the loading and unloading of equipment. We were responsible for setting up our own equiupment and changing tanks between dives with the crew doing all the heavy lifting from boat to diveshop. If you are staying in Castle Comfort, your equipment is stored in a locked area after it is rinsed and dried. This storage area is secure but available to guests for shore diving around the clock. The diving itself is very good, mostly small critters and healthy coral. We saw very few large fish but lots of small, weird things (flying Guynards, frogfish, seahorses, octopus, electric rays, etc.)
The divemasters were very good at finding interesting things and showing them to the group. The dives were "follow the leader" type outings with a divemaster in front and behind a loose collection of buddy pairs. We were allowed plenty of space between divers and we could go as slowly as we liked. Overall a very professional and well-run dive operation.
Land tours to great waterfalls and hot springs were part of the package and were wonderful. Most of our concentration was on diving but next trip we will take part in more of the wonderful hiking oportunities. The hotel staff were great with suggestions of other places to go and things to see on the island.

  • Liked — Availability of good diving
  • Disliked — Carnival noise from a local club
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank smith1742
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2008

I recently stayed at Castle comfort on a vacation with my wife. Transportation to the Lodge was included in our package, which is a great thing based on the expense of taxi service on the island and its distance from Melville Hall airport. We arrived to two glasses of rum punch and friendly staff members giving us a tour of the facilities and our room. We had one of the rooms overlooking the ocean. The room size was adequate and comfortable. There were a variety of ways you could control the temperature to make sure you were comfortable. The beds were not the best, but were definitely comfortable to sleep on. All in all, good for the price.
Our dive package included all of our breakfasts. We had four or five choices each morning with fruit, juice, coffee and a 'main course'. I sort of settled in on the banana pancakes with bacon. Life was good. We had lunch at the lodge two days and both times it was ready within a few minutes of us getting of the boat. We enjoyed both lunches, no complaints. We did not go on their plan for dinner, but had dinner there three or four nights. We tried most of the selections on their menu over our stay and found everything to be enjoyable. Maybe a touch expensive, but not unreasonable. The lobster will nearly fill two people (get a small appetizer to share and you will both be set). The staff also told us what all the vegetables and fruits we were not familiar with were, showed us several of them. The staff was very friendly and service was quite good. Drinks were reasonably priced and potent. The rum punch is flammable, I'm convinced. Excellent pina coladas too.
The diving staff was very friendly, knowledgable and responsible. We are novice divers. They checked in with us throughout the dive to see where our air levels were and whisked us away if our time was up before other people in the group. They pointed things out for us that we would have missed. The boat captains chased after dolphins and pilot whales during our surface intervals or brought us to a natural 'hot tub' to soak. They also set us up with a rental camera that was fun to play with. The diving is great. We saw a large variety of critters, turtles, fish, everything we expected to see. The staff knew good routes at each site and did a great job of leading us through at a good pace.
If you expect five star service and rooms, I would recommend other places on the island. If you are looking for a comfortable place with very reasonable room rates, this is a great place. We definitely intend to go back. They also are very close to Roseau, trips into the capital city are quick, cheap and easy by bus. We were able to attend the opening of Carnival and dine in other restaurants because we were so close.

  • Liked — ease of excellent diving
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank JBeaber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2008

My husband and I went to Dominica on our honeymoon. We wanted to dive and had heard that Dive Dominica was the best there. Well, our stay at this dive lodge was excellent. The accommodations are not necessarily 5 star luxury, but their prices aren't either. They arranged for our transport from the airport which was really nice to not have to worry about. When we arrived at the lodge, we were greeted by the very friendly staff and some very potent rum punch.

Our room was an ocean view one. Normally in the Caribbean when you book a room that says "ocean view," you might see a tiny sliver of the ocean. This was not the case at Castle Comfort. We had a balcony that really was right on the water. We drank our rum punch while watching an incredible sunset on out own balcony. Our room was nice, and clean, nothing fancy, but perfect for our needs and budget.

The place was really quite while we were there and the staff incredibly attentive. We ate here quite a bit and the food nice and not too expensive. It is also a very quick bus ride into town (1.50 E.C. per person) or less than one mile walk although the sidewalks aren’t there the whole way.

The diving with Dive Dominica was also stellar. All of the dive masters were incredible and friendly. Bamboo definitely went above and beyond to make sure that we had a great experience and Jamie helped us rent and learn to use an underwater camera that was a lot of fun. I will be recommending this place to any friends and family that are interested in scuba diving in Dominica.

  • Liked — Friendly Staff and great diving
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank sf_kate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Collingwood, Ontario
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2008

A friend and I were there for the month of June doing medical relief. We actually did not stay at Dive Dominica as we had accomodations provided for us by the hospital. That being said we did spend a lot of time there doing tours and getting certified to dive. This was an excellent establishment. More than professional and went above and beyond to provide us with a great experience. We decided to get SCUBA certified since we were on the island for a month and after the first lesson I decided diving was not for me. This had nothing to do with the dive instruction just the fact that I didn't like it. They were completely accomodating and forgiving. They refunded me all my money. My friend continued on with the course and they allowed me to hang out around the hotel for free, snorkel and swim with their equipment for free while she took the course. When my friend did her open water dives they let me go out on the boat with them and snorkel for free. We also did some sight seeing tours with them. Their prices were great and they offered very safe and fun services. We did eat quite a few meals there. All were great.
I would highly recommend this place. All of the divers who were there and milling around had nothing but good things to say. Many of them were return customers. Dominica is a beautiful country. For all you nature enthusiasts out there its worth the trip to check it out!

  • Liked — Very professional and out to please
  • Disliked — this is a specific destination. It is a dive centre and the majority of the people who stay here are on dive vacations.
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank k8ter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Roseau
1.1 mi away
Fort Young Hotel
Fort Young Hotel
#1 of 7 in Roseau
4.0 of 5 bubbles 791 reviews
0.1 mi away
Anchorage Hotel & Dive Center
19.2 mi away
Secret Bay
Secret Bay
#1 of 4 in Portsmouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.4 mi away
Pagua Bay House Oceanfront Cabanas
10.8 mi away
The Tamarind Tree Hotel & Restaurant
0.1 mi away
Evergreen Hotel
Evergreen Hotel
#5 of 7 in Roseau
3.5 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle Comfort Dive Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Comfort Dive Lodge

Property: Castle Comfort Dive Lodge
Address: P.O. Box 2253, Roseau, Dominica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominica > Saint George Parish > Roseau
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Roseau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Castle Comfort Dive Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a small, intimate Caribbean dive lodge located just one mile south of Dominica's capital, Roseau. With true Caribbean ambiance, our traditional style guest house makes you feel like a family member - as casual, relaxed and as comfortable as your favourite pair of slippers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Castle Comfort Dive Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle Comfort Dive Hotel Roseau
Castle Comfort Dive Lodge Dominica/Roseau

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing