We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Little jewel!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Castle Comfort Dive Lodge
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Roseau
Certificate of Excellence
Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Little jewel!”
Reviewed September 23, 2011

One stop for room, board and diving plus capacity for setting up excursions. Staff are helpful and friendly. Breakfasts are outstanding and the food overall is very good. Wonderful bar on the ocean as well!

Room Tip: Room over the dive shop are the best! Definitely ask for an ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sykescreeklady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    58
    21
    4
    4
See reviews for
11
60
13
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2011

Just returned from a week at this dive lodge and really loved it! Firstly, let me say that I wouldn't stay here if I weren't diving as the rooms and grounds are average and the pool is tiny however the dive operation is great with nitrox available, though expensive at $13/tank, and the diving great. The food is average and also expensive, $27/ dinner, but it is cooked from fresh product for just those staying at the lodge. Other restaurants nearby don't have food readily available on the off chance that a diner will walk in either so it is best to call the day before with your plans to eat. The water was lovely and safe to drink right out of the tap. Day excursions were also expensive at $60-$90 each. The people, bar none, were wonderfully friendly and added to the overall experience. Also, there is free wifi.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nancyinfl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, NC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 13, 2011

This is not a huge resort, but the personalized and prompt service makes it very worthwhile. I am a very picky eater and they made each meal to my choice - even if it was not on the menu. The food was fresh and very good to boot. They greet you by name, go out of their way to help and every single one of them was as nice as could be.

Having the dive shop within a few feet of your room is very nice as is the ability to shore dive off of the dock as much as you want. I would say that the shore diving was some of the best we did while in Dominica. Your gear is locked up with resort guests able to get a key 24/7.

Like I said in the opening, we would stay again (due to the spectacular service), but outside of a newer air conditioning unit, the room really needed upgrading. The only way to keep our door closed was to lock it with the room key as there was no handle on the door. The room needed painting and newer or better blankets would be a good idea. Also, there was no clock in the room which was ok for us as we bring our own, but we have never encountered this before. It was cleaner than some rooms that we have stayed in over our years of traveling but as the other reviews mentioned, it was very basic and minimal.

Bottom line, if you want spectacular service, very close diving operations and do not have high expectations of the rooms you will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: Request Ocean View
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NCLori
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2011

We were staying in Castle comfort for a few weeks with my one year old daughter because my husband had some business in Roseau. This place is not intended for small children, however all the staff tried their best so that we can have a good time. We did enjoy our stay, the room was very basic but we were provided with everything we needed. The hotel grounds are qute small so is the pool, but it was never busy so felt ok. The hotel is quite far from Roseau and there are no sidewalks so it's very dangerous to try to walk there. I tried it once and came back after five minutes. Later on we found out there is a bus stop by the hotel, you just raise your hand and a small van wil pick you up and take to Roseau just for a few bucks. The food at the restaurand was not bad, but after a week it kind of all tastes the same.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alyona73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, PA
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2011

Our visit to Dominica started with a missing bag containing our clothes. Our dive gear did arrive, so I guess that was a good thing. We flew from St Maartin to Dominica via Windward Island Air. People told us that it is Liat's job to lose luggage, so I guess we made the right choice. The plane was very small (18 passengers), so I guess they are very tight with weight. We arrived at Castle Comfort Lodge after the 1 1/2 hour cab ride from the airport. Even though we arrived after the kitchen was closed, they made us dinner after showing us the resort. The front desk staff and bar staff was very friendly and helpful. The front desk staff was checking on our luggage until we recieved it. The bartender, Andrel, was very friendly and talked to us about the island. Although we mostly drank the local Kabuli beer, Andrel was a very good bartender when we wanted something different. Sunday, we could not dive, since we got in late, so we decided to go to town to get some clothes, since we had no luggage yet. Bad news: Everything is closed on Sunday-Sunday is for church and family om Dominica. The desk staff called around and found us a couple stores that were open and got us a cab to take us around to get clothes and some toiletries. We then went on the whale and dolphin watch, whic was great. Marcus was very knowledgable about the animals. We saw a bunch of dolphins around our boat and then we saw dozens of whales, some mothers with calves. The trip was over 4 hours and they kept us out as long as we could see whales; well woth the $57 (US).
Monday we got to go diving. The dive staff was very friendly, and helpful with equipment. Their briefings were very thorough, although extremely scipted, which is good, so they do not miss anything. There was a genuine concern for safety and enjoyment of the divers. The dive masters, Kevin and Brad, were very knowledgeable about the areas and the creatures of the sea. Kevin brought a slate and told us about differnet corals and animals. During surface intervals they and captain Stinger told us about the island. The diving was great all week. We went to differnet sites all week. We had anywhere from 3 to 8 divers on the boat, so no crowding. The night dive was the best. It was just my wife and I with Brad as divemaster. The sea life we saw was incedible; huge turtles, lobsters, octopi, huge crabs, et al.
The resort staff was all very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was always good with fresh juices and jams made there. The rooms was OK, the bed was a little hard for my liking. The first night our bathroom flooded when we took a shower, but iwas fixed the next morning. The rooms were comfortable, althought they could use some updating and repair. The pool is a small above ground pool and there is no hot tub as in their advertisements. There were only 3 other guest while we were there.
We did the hike to Middleham falls and Boiling Lake. Both were challenging and my wife and I are in pretty good shape for our age (50's). Boiling lake was in the top two for most challenging things I have ever done and number one for my wife. well worth it, but very tough. We visited a resort call Papillote, which has a nice restaurant, botanical gardens and natural hot and cold pools, which are available (for free) to non-guests of the hotel. They even have changing rooms. We sat in a hot spring pool, which had a cold, waterfall fed pool next to it in the rainforest after we ate lunch. It was heaven! A beautiful setting and very relaxing. We had some great rum punch at the bar while we waited for Felix from Faithful cab company to pick us up. Felix took us to some volcanic vents on the way back to Castle Comfort and showed us some good island sights.
In all, we had a great vaction in Dominca. Great diving, the people of Dominica are the friendliest we have encountered, the resort was good, the hiking was beuatiful and challenging or not depending which you do. Our only disapointment was food. We had a great meal at a restaurant called The Bistro in town, but we were hoping for some great seafood and were always disapointed. They apparently do not fillet on Dominica and I don't want to work that hard for a meal. The meals at castle Comfort were OK, but very expensive. The weather was beautiful all week, 80 degrees F and sunny. A littel rain in the rainforest (go figure!). The Island is so natural and the volcanic activity is very interesting. All in all a great experience.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dtchem1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romney, West Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2011

We spent a week on Castle Comfort's 'Reef & Rainforest' package and left feeling like family with the staff and other guests (from Europe, US, Australia and Asia). We are new divers (3rd year) and were so pleased with our experience. Staff member met our every request, including schedule alterations, with a genuine smile and "can do." The dive masters were excellent, made us feel totally comfortable and enlightened us about the reefs and aquatic life. Our Khatts tour guides were all bright, friendly and highly informed about rainforest plants and trees. Food was abundant and delicious, and our mouths are still watering for many combinations of blended fruit drinks. I loved not having to ever carry money as all was easily charged to the room and tips were included. Truly a magical experience.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Makanawaves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston
Level Contributor
39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2011

Brace yourself for a trip to yesteryear and a simplicity that warms the soul. Dominica a "Diamond in the Rough" that has potential to be a priceless jem. This twenty four carat dive and hiking resort located at the bottom of the mountain island provides superb dining, excellent diving and good guidance for all activities available(numerous). The "rough" is the travel by foot or auto. This experience is something of a mario brothers game of escape and avoidance. The road system is a work in progress which means "leave the driving to the locals". In addition to the roads the "Brit" traffic is opposite to the US folks. The locals are excellent drivers and the rides are an additional experience that few amusement parks could match.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank edcawthorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Roseau
1.1 mi away
Fort Young Hotel
Fort Young Hotel
#1 of 7 in Roseau
4.0 of 5 bubbles 826 reviews
0.1 mi away
Anchorage Hotel & Dive Center
19.2 mi away
Secret Bay
Secret Bay
#1 of 4 in Portsmouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Evergreen Hotel
Evergreen Hotel
#5 of 7 in Roseau
3.5 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
17.7 mi away
Pagua Bay House Oceanfront Cabanas
10.8 mi away
The Tamarind Tree Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle Comfort Dive Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Comfort Dive Lodge

Property: Castle Comfort Dive Lodge
Address: P.O. Box 2253, Roseau, Dominica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominica > Saint George Parish > Roseau
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Roseau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Castle Comfort Dive Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a small, intimate Caribbean dive lodge located just one mile south of Dominica's capital, Roseau. With true Caribbean ambiance, our traditional style guest house makes you feel like a family member - as casual, relaxed and as comfortable as your favourite pair of slippers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com, getaroom.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Castle Comfort Dive Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle Comfort Dive Hotel Roseau
Castle Comfort Dive Lodge Dominica/Roseau

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing