We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“beautiful”

Papillote Tropical Gardens
Ranked #6 of 33 things to do in Roseau
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Wander through the Papillote Tropical Gardens. Flowering jade vines of an unbelievable shade of blue, huge pink or red ginger blossoms, aroids, begonias, bromeliads,ferns, indigenous orchids and heliconias form sumptuous compositions to tempt artists, botanists, gardeners and photographers. Frogs and other creatures live contentedly with 30 kinds of bird and 19 species of butterfly amongst hot and cold waterfalls and soothing hot mineral pools.
Charleston, SC
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“beautiful”
Reviewed March 12, 2013

stayed here twice-the location is great to walk to Trafalgar falls-just right up the road. There are numerous small hot and cold natural pools on the site-the food is fabulous, and the price is low! Great views-lovely place.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank kjog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    81
    23
    6
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dearborn, Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Mixed feelings”
Reviewed March 6, 2013

I have mixed feelings about Papillote. On one hand, the gardens are beautiful, Marcel (the head gardener) is very friendly and knowledgeable, and the mineral pools are heaven to soak in. However when we checked in (we stayed for 2 nights), there were about 100 cruise ship travelers bombarding the place for lunch and the afternoon tour. After they were all gone it was a lovely peaceful place. While they were there it was everything we chose Dominica to avoid. If you stay at Papillote and can be gone during the day and do your exploring after hours, I think that is the best way to enjoy it's beauty and charm.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank calliec2442
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Fl
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Pretty gardens buy lousy food”
Reviewed February 1, 2013

We looked forward to eating at the Papillote Restaurant after touring the gardens. The gardens were lovely and fun to see, however, our meal was the worse we had in Dominica. They only serve the main course after 7 p.m. Because we had to drive back to Calibishe, we didn't want to wait that long. Took the advice of the receptionist and waitress and ordered the club sandwich and flying fish sandwich. Both were terrible and overpriced. Would not recommend eating there. Ate at many local restaurants that were wonderul so very disappointed with this one

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Monicajax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Overpriced”
Reviewed December 4, 2012

free local stream is right next to this location , go their and take a bath. I did , drove my jeep here most days , nice warm sulphur water

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank KKite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toulouse, France
Level 6 Contributor
211 reviews
74 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Exceptional Botanical Gardens”
Reviewed November 24, 2012

Did not use the hotel, but understand that some celebs stay here often. Good food and great homemade punches, peanut, cocnut and rum, try them all. The big highlight was the gardens, looked after by Marcel, not only a great gardener but guide also. For $10 USD he does a 2 hour tour with so much information on plants and flowers, it puts bigger places to shame. He also has some great cooking tips with local produce, herbs and spices, he should write a cook book. Great way to pass an afternoon, also has some natural hot and cold pools to dip in.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank TravelTrax1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Papillote Tropical Gardens also viewed

Roseau, Saint George Parish
 
Roseau, Saint George Parish
Roseau, Saint George Parish
 

Been to Papillote Tropical Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing