We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location in City of Roseau”
Review of Sutton Place

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sutton Place
Ranked #13 of 21 Roseau B&B and Inns
Reviewed April 22, 2011

My friend and I Visited Dominica for a week in April 2011 to experience the myriad hiking and scenery. We stayed for Four days at Sutton Place in Roseau, then moved up north to Portsmouth for three days.

Sutton Place is in the heart of Roseau, which, unless there is a cruise ship berthed at the dock, is a quiet little town that you can navigate easily on foot. The staff at Sutton place was extremely friendly and very helpful with suggestions about what attractions to visit both in and outside of Roseau. We had a suite with two queen sized beds, a little kitchen, and a bathroom. The room was well appointed with A/C, cable TV, hot water, and heavy curtains that you could pull to close out the noise, heat, and sounds of the city. We also had a full-length balcony, although it overlooked an alleyway. Surprisingly, maybe because of the time we visited, we didn't have any issues with mosquitoes in the room or in the city.

The location of Sutton place is very convenient. We rented a car (best choice we made) from Best Deal Rental car, which is right behind the hotel. Because the city is rather quiet, it can be difficult to find restaurants that are open late, so we usually ended up eating at a little joint called The Garage, which is only a block away. We always felt safe in the hotel since they close the front gates at night and have a security guard stationed at the front. We also parked our car for free directly in front of the hotel.

Also, the staff at the hotel was good at trying to connect us with guides who could drive us around to the different waterfalls, hikes, etc. However, we found that it was much, much more efficient and economical to rent a car and visit these ourselves. We did use Peter Green (Bushman Tours) to take us to Boiling Lake. He is an amazing guide, fair-priced, and well worth it. Roseau is a great base camp for all of the major hikes and waterfalls. Morne Trois Pitons National Park (Boiling Lake, Middleham Falls, Trafalgar Falls, etc) is only a 30 min drive away, and we were able to explore the entire south-eastern portion of Dominica during an afternoon trip.

I would definitely recommend staying a Sutton Place. During our search for lodging, we considered some of the eco-lodges that were farther up in the mountains, but were very glad that we decided to stay in the city of Roseau; that is not to say that the eco-lodges aren't great - we stopped by one and it was gorgeous, but very secluded and quiet (probably good for a romantic getaway where you're fine with staying cozy in a lodge). We were looking for more eating/drinking/nightlife options, which the city afforded (sort of). Finally, we did not eat or drink at the hotel - we always went out, but the dining area looked quite nice. There is also a Cellar Bar, but like I said, Roseau is a quiet town and the bar never opened while we were there.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RongoBongo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (40)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

29 - 35 of 40 reviews

Reviewed May 11, 2010

I was never to dominica staying at the sutton place hotel made me feel welcomed that I could even say it felt likie home.its perfectly in a tourist zone a super market is two minutes walking distance,restaurant on premises with lots of others around the area,shopping all around and very clean.The only two things I was concerned about but not too much was that there was a kicthenette in my suite with pots and pans and no stove,and the airconditioning could have been alittle colder in the day.Other than that its great !!!

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Terance01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2010

Our Room (#2) has french doors opening up over the street. Room #1 is larger but with smaller shower. The breakfast buffet is very sparse but good; fresh local fruit (one or two types), two types of fresh local fruit juices, coffee, tea, toast (white and wheat), butter and jam. The staff is very friendly.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank naniboujou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 24, 2009

Big, clean and attractive rooms. Complimentary breakfast. Friendly service.

The only downside was that the receptionists on different shifts did not seem to talk to each other - our taxi was sent away, and we nearly missed our flight as a result.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank xme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2008

I have been in Roseau 2 times for short business visits and found Sutton Place a good choice. The standards in Dominica are not very high but they try to be the exception. The suites are much more comfortable than the standard rooms and not that much more.

A basic continental breakfast is included in the price but you can upgrade it by ordering eggs, cheese at a small fee.

It is clean and the staff is friendly. When I come back in Roseau I will stay there again.

When you come to Dominica for a nature stay, you may want to spend some time in the ECO lodges as well.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank GourmetFanatic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2007

A comfortable hotel right in the middle of Roseau with friendly staff and good facilities by Dominican standards. Apparently it has been in the same family for many years. It was particularly nice to have free internet access in a quiet little alcove on the first floor. Our room was spacious and the bed comfortable. The ensuite wasn't fully separated off (ie the walls were a partition that didn't quite reach to the ceiling) but that didn't matter. A basic continental breakfast is included in the price, but you could pay for more if you wanted to - we didn't. Unfortunately the cellar bar was closed for refurbishment (though it probably meant we got a quieter night!)

  • Stayed: November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank SV_and_JM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2007

If you are looking for a small, comfortable and unique hotel with friendly and personal service located right in the heart of Roseau, the Sutton Place Hotel is probably for you.

The hotel is very nicely furnished and the staff were very friendly and welcoming. A computer is available to guests.
Though the hotel is quiet, its location allows you to really experience the day-to-day life of Dominica.

I have fond memories of my stay and would definately go back to the Sutton place.

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank JohnGuyD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Roseau hotels
0 mi away
Fort Young Hotel
Fort Young Hotel
#1 of 7 in Roseau
876 reviews
0 mi away
Sea World Guest House
Sea World Guest House
#5 of 21 in Roseau
40 reviews
0 mi away
Narakiel's Inn
Narakiel's Inn
#14 of 21 in Roseau
71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Mr. Clean Bed & Breakfast
Mr. Clean Bed & Breakfast
#11 of 21 in Roseau
4 reviews
0 mi away
Castle Comfort Dive Lodge
0 mi away
Symes Zee's Villa
Symes Zee's Villa
#19 of 21 in Roseau
13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sutton Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sutton Place

Address: 25 Old Street, Roseau, Dominica
Location: Caribbean > Dominica > Saint George Parish > Roseau
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Roseau
Price Range: $113 - $151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sutton Place 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Sutton Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sutton Place Dominica/Roseau

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing