We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A really special place”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Roseau
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Papillote Wilderness Retreat
Ranked #2 of 21 Roseau B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Burlington, Vermont
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A really special place”
Reviewed August 13, 2011

You should stay here, esp. if you're a fan of hot mineral pools, waterfalls, and gardens. There are 4 hot water pools, one of which is next to a gorgeous waterfall, which feeds into the cold water pool that's next to the hot. The rooms are homey and great if you want to get away from TV and A/C. Fans and mosquito nets do the trick. The restaurant food is excellent, if a bit pricey. One really good feature of this place is Alfred, the guy who organizes tours for hotel guests. He knows just about everything about Dominica and he'll take good care of you.

Room Tip: Room #6 has a good cross-breeze
See more room tips
Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank VermontToucan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    37
    16
    4
    3
See reviews for
30
76
13
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Willemstad, Curacao
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2011

This is a lovely place to stay, in a big, beautiful garden with ' private' waterfalls and hot pools. We never experienced anything like this before. How soothing to sit in the hot pools after a tiresome hike or day! The first night we stayed at the Hummingbird Suite which is ok but smallish for the 4 of us (2 adults, 2 kids),and we were relieved to be moved to the very spacious Breadfruit suite the next day, which felt like a real home to us, where the kids could run around and where we had a real living room and even a refrigerator. In short, the perfect place for a family of 4-6! There were 2 hot pools right around the corner. The rooms are airy, wooden shutters all around. Small balcony, and a terrace behind the building. Here in Roseau Valley it's ideally located for trips. Trafalgar Falls is right up the hill, Roseau city, 15 minutes car drive, and it's not far from Freshwater Lake, and Middleham Falls and Titou Gorge. Everything was doable by car. From here it's also a 30-40 minute drive to Champagne Beach and Soufriere, depending on the traffic! We did get lost occasionally but residents are always kind enough to help out. One could well spend a day or two just enjoying the beauty of the gardens and relax a bit. We were there in the off season and tremendously enjoyed the tranquility. Anne, the owner is very kind and she always responded to mail and questions the same day. The staff was very helpful too. We highly recommend this retreat. When we go again, we'll probably want to stay here again - the combination of the falls and the hot pools is quite unique! The restaurant is also good - the quality of the food is fine, but the menu was sometimes a bit limited due to the low number of visitors. Whereas there is a fridge, there is no opportunity to cook a (quick) meal, which is the only thing we missed a bit. In the first suite we had to go outside to catch WIFI signals. IN the Breadfruit Suite the internet connection was perfect.
Thinking of it again, we were in paradise...

Room Tip: Take one of the more spacious suites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BellFamilyCuracao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2011

Everything about Papillote is exceptional, from the delicious, traditional Creole cookery to the utterly serene surroundings and the charming staff. The extensive tropical gardens provide a mystical escapism; their creative design blends seamlessly with the natural landscape and attracts much wildlife. The numerous hot mineral springs provide welcome comfort after a day's hiking in the surrounding hills and forests. The freshwater pool situated against the backdrop of Papillote's own waterfall is just wonderful.
Anne, who has owned the retreat for 50 years, is a fascinating, warm host and a complete inspiration!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SarahinStalbridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2011

On a recent business trip to Dominica I stayed many nights at the Papillote Wilderness Retreat. As a photographer I grew to appreciate the creative vibe and uniqueness of Papillote. The location is stunning in a steep geothermal valley with rainforest vegetation and two waterfalls. The rock work and tropical gardens fit in perfectly with the natural surroundings.

The hotel, restaurant and gardens were started many years ago by Anne Jno Baptiste as an eco-retreat long before being green was fashionable. Anne and her staff went out of their way to be helpful to me with many special needs for my assignment. Anne is the exception to the rule that all expats are either missionaries, mercenaries or misfits. Anne has dedicated her life to helping the people of Dominica and she has become as much a part of the island as the heliconias and Trafalgar Falls. To her, Papillote is as much a philosophy as a business, a way to employ local people as well as provide travelers with an alternative to the standard resort or business hotel.

Papillote is different, and perhaps not for everyone. The rooms are clean and comfortable, but not five star deluxe. My room had handmade furniture and original art on the walls. At different times I was visited in my room by crabs, bugs, birds and even fireflies. This may freak out some people, but it just made me feel how close nature was to my surroundings. The garden with the natural mineral pools is outstanding. Anne has lovingly nurtured the garden over the years and there are many outstanding examples of the native vegetation from throughout the island. I used the hot mineral pool near Room 12 many times and it was the perfect remedy for sore muscles after a long hike.

The food in the restaurant is fabulous. I particularly enjoyed the fish cooked in bamboo leaves, the chicken and papaya salad and the rum and raisin ice cream, but everything is tasty with a local flair. If you don’t stay at Papillote, I would still recommend highly to visit for dinner and/or to take the garden tour.

On one of my last days at Papillote I was relaxing in the hot mineral bath looking at a large purple and red flower on a bromeliad a few feet away. A crested hummingbird floated over to the flower for several seconds, pollinating the nectar with its beak, and then silently floated away. I thought this must be paradise. Well, maybe not quite, but it still was a magical and memorable moment.

Peter, Atlanta, Georgia

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Peter60898
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashington, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 18, 2011

This exotic destination cannot be defined with star ratings as it is totally unique. The setting is out of this world and the ambience charming. The staff are friendly and courteous and the food is absolutely delicious creole and international cuisine from locally sourced organic farms. It is a place where one can truly find oneself again, and is a sanctuary for the soul. The waterfalls and hot pools, together with the truly spectacular tropical gardens, captivate and inspire even the most exhausted traveller and the hospitality is marvellous. I thoroughly recommend Papillote and strongly advise holidaymakers to make it a 'must do' destination when visiting Dominica.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ARWENNE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herndon, VA
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2011

We chose to spend a few days at Papillote to explore the Roseau area. They are as conveniently located as anywhere else and the gardens are a nice experience. I think the hotel was once a better experience. The rooms are quite dated. The linens were worn and furnishings a bit aged. The restaurant was a disappointment with limited choices. One would assume breakfast would include an array of tropical fruit from the plethora of fruit trees in evidence. It was hard to find and not part of the normal fare. We actually ate in town the second two nights. Papillote has the makings of a neat experience. It just needs a bit of updating. The road from town is under construction making the trip a little difficult. It will be an improvement when finished. Two nights here is plenty to explore the area.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 2BeachGoers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Takoma Park, MD
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2011

This hotel is rated as the most elegant in the Roseau Valley, which is four miles east of the capital of Roseau. We did not stay there but took a tour of the gardens -$10 and well worth it- and had dinner there, after the concierge claimed that it was "the best resteraunt" on hte island nation of Dominica. FALSE. The meal was pedestrian at best with small portions and way too pricey. We spent a month in Domicia and and dined at several places that were much better and cheaper Also the room rate there seemed exhorbitant ,since we were staying down the road a bit for $60 less per night. .

Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank roadskolar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MagicBarbados, General Manager at Papillote Wilderness Retreat, responded to this review, March 16, 2011
Papillote Rainforest Restaurant has been recognized through the years as one of the best restaurants on the Nature island of Dominica by professionals of the industry, International and Caribbean Media, the majority of our guests, visitors and Dominican people

Our Rainforest Restaurant offers for lunch a wide selection of delicious local dishes such as callalou soup, flying fish platters, dasheen puffs and our famous steamed fish wrapped in banana leaf.

Our full dinner includes a soup, salad, main course and dessert for only US $33 (+taxes and service charge). Our guests enjoy our M.A.P for only US $45 (+taxes and service charge) per day and start each day with a full breakfast and dinner with a different menu choice each night.

We offer four acres of natural trails and amazing botanical gardens, private natural hot and cold pools and waterfalls and have been called "the epitome of a nature retreat". Our price range for charming rooms, spacious suites and many features that are included is absolutely reasonable!

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Roseau
17.8 mi away
Secret Bay
Secret Bay
#1 of 4 in Portsmouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 483 reviews
0.6 mi away
Fort Young Hotel
Fort Young Hotel
#1 of 7 in Roseau
4.0 of 5 bubbles 824 reviews
1.5 mi away
Castle Comfort Dive Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.3 mi away
Manicou River
Manicou River
#3 of 4 in Portsmouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
16.8 mi away
Pagua Bay House Oceanfront Cabanas
1.4 mi away
Anchorage Hotel & Dive Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Papillote Wilderness Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Papillote Wilderness Retreat

Property: Papillote Wilderness Retreat
Address: Trafalgar Falls Road | Box 2287, Roseau 811, Dominica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominica > Saint George Parish > Roseau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Roseau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A small secluded hotel at the head of the beautiful Roseau River Valley with comfortable charming rooms overlooking gardens, mountains, waterfalls and pristine rainforest wilderness.Dine in our Rainforest Restaurant on fresh caught fish, prawns or chicken prepared with all the fabled spices of our Island's rich cultural heritageWander through four acres of nurtured wilderness amidst a world class collection of bromeliads, begonias, gingers and aroids. Bathe in our natural hot mineral pools. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Papillote Wilderness Retreat Hotel Roseau
Papillote Wilderness Retreat Dominica/Roseau

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing