We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fun place to tour” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fort Shirley

Fort Shirley
Book In Advance
More Info
$187.50*
and up
Dominica Day Trip: Indian River Rowboat Tour, Fort Shirley Ruins and Purple...
Ranked #15 of 109 things to do in Dominica
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This English colonial fort is among the ruins found at the Cabrits Historical and Marine Park, which preserves remnants of the islands tumultuous history.
Jacksonville, Fl
Level Contributor
66 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Fun place to tour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2013

Hiked the trails and toured the fort. Hiked to Douglas Bay area and the ruins and wall. Trail was ungroomed and lots of weeds but we were glad we went. Great place to explore.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Monicajax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    30
    17
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Interesting Piece of History”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2012

Fort Shirley is a must see for those who enjoy historical sites. The views alone from the Fort are also worth the hike up the hill. Visit the welcome center to gather information on the history and formation of Dominica. The building restorations are also very interesting.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank SuumerGirl59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbados
Level Contributor
57 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A magnificent view”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2012

This fort has a mirad of history behind its location. Currently renovated and used as a tourist attraction, I found the uphill climb to see this place definitely worth my while. It allowed me to have some super pictures with awesome scenery and a too die for view. Would recommend it for magnificent backdrop in pictures and for those interested in history of the island!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Lici J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Level Contributor
99 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Nice little hike”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2012

Spent a morning on the trails and although the map was somewhat confusing, we had a nice little hike.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank mcleod15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vänersborg
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Renovation going on”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2012

They were renovating the fort which made the hole experience a little less interesting.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Lena O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fort Shirley also viewed

Morne Trois Pitons National Park, Saint Patrick Parish
Morne Trois Pitons National Park, Saint Patrick Parish
 
Dominica, Caribbean
 

Been to Fort Shirley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing