We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Highly Recommended”

Castle Comfort Diving Lodge/Dive Dominica
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Castle Comfort Lodge is the epitome of a small intimate Caribbean dive lodge, located one mile south of the capital Roseau.We are a 14 room dedicated family owned and operated dive resort and also home to Dive Dominica.We are Dominica´s first dive center and lodging.Castle Comfort and Dive Dominica is your one stop shop to create your own Dominican experience Hikes, snorkel, whale and dolphin safaris and deep sea fishing excursions. Let us make your Dominican island experience treasurable !
Chickamauga, Georgia
1 review
“Highly Recommended”
Reviewed November 27, 2012

First but not my last visit!!!
Dive staff: 10++
General Staff: 9+
Accomodations: 8 (Simple but clean, what else matters, who is going to spend time in the room anyway)
Food: 7 (a 9 when you compare it to your options)

This trip was our dive certification and what a wonderful experience. The dive staff took time to assist and ensure a safe experience while yet allowing us the chance to truly enjoy the natural beauty.
We logged 12 dives
The general staff assisted in any way possible through arranging tours and transportation.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Ben H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    13
    3
    0
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Wow,wow,wow! Not to be missed”
Reviewed April 1, 2012 via mobile

Fabulous day out, great views, friendly staff, tasty food and compliementary rum punch. We couldn't have had a better start to our holiday in Dominica, the reviews were accurate... The guides under promised and over delivered. We saw both dolphins and school of whales .... Just amazing would highly recommend as a great way to appreciate all the island has to offer. Natasha, London, England.

Helpful?
Thank Natasha H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
the Bronx
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A great week at Castle Comfort/Dive Dominica”
Reviewed March 17, 2012

I have been back a week from my trip to Castle Comfort/Dive Dominica and I'm still feeling it. This was our second trip there in two years, and it is nice to be remembered. It is not a sprawling resort but the rooms were nice, the food was good and the staff was excellent. Dive Dominica operations are second to none, every dive had something special to see in spite of the fact that "it's the ocean, not a zoo". We saw seahorses, multiple frogfish and some of the smallest drums I have ever seen. Big ups to Brad, Imron, Thomas and Stinger ! We did inland excursions and a whale watch as well. I don't know if we will wait another two years before we return. Nice work Dan !

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank ktdiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Treasure Island, Florida
Level Contributor
43 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Diving and Pina Coladas”
Reviewed July 27, 2011

Castle Comfort is a great destination for divers who want to experience Dominica, above and below the sea. Their accommodations are modest, but very nice, clean and have everything you need. There is too much to do in Dominica to spend much time in your room anyway.

Dive Dominica is based out of Castle Comfort, and provide diving and whale watching. Their boats are probably the nicest on the island, and their staff were excellent. Our only complaint was that their boats are quite large, so they tend to have large number of divers on board. If you don't like crowded boats, there are other operators on the island that specialize in smaller groups, so read some of my other reviews.

Castle Comfort also coordinates tours of the island, including attractions like Boiling Lake, Emerald Pool, some of the numerous waterfalls, with local tour guides. They also have a terrific restaurant at the hotel. While you are there try the codfish acra, the fish roti, and the seafood salad; all excellent. They also make the best Pina Coladas on the island.

I would definitely recommend Castle Comfort to any divers interested in Dominica, and I would highly recommend Dominica to all divers.

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
3 Thank Jeff M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lima, Peru
Level Contributor
42 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Would recommend Dive Dominica”
Reviewed March 26, 2011

Enjoyed two dives with Dive Dominica today. Boat captain Francis and DM Brad did an excellent job with accurate descriptions during the pre-dive briefing, attentiveness under the water with a slow and detailed 50-75 ft wall dive first followed by a pleasant and relaxed 40 ft reef approach into hot bubbling water. Good sealife, many lobsters and small critters, a beautiful and relaxed turtle who just posed for pictures from every direction. The dive boat was spacious, good stearn deck with twin well-constructed ladders. Captain readily participated in entries and exits. Would definitely recommend.

Visited March 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank ssteinfort
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Castle Comfort Diving Lodge/Dive Dominica also viewed

Roseau, Saint George Parish
Roseau, Saint George Parish
 
Roseau, Saint George Parish
 

Been to Castle Comfort Diving Lodge/Dive Dominica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing