We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“About the Park, not the Mount !”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Mount Christoffel

Mount Christoffel
Book In Advance
More Info
$99.00*
and up
National Park Jeep Safari in Curacao
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: At 1,200 feet, the mountain is home to many deer.
Luxembourg
Level Contributor
109 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“About the Park, not the Mount !”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2014

We came in a bit late. OK. So we were told that we can only make one of the 2 different parts of the park. OK too. But, they have no problem charging you for both! That's not correct and they did probably know it. Never-less, the drive itself was very nice, beautiful scenery. Do it, but do it in the morning!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank simigag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

413 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    201
    145
    48
    13
    6
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kosice, Slovakia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“YES”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2014

the trip is ok, not too long, but go early in the morning and then be back at 9-10 am at the closest beach. Great views and definitelly different look of the island from up there!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ivana S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. John's, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Big climb, great reward”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2014

My wife and I enjoy hiking, so we decided we would hike Mount Christoffel during our trip to Curacao. The park's website says somewhere that you aren't allowed to hike the mountain after 11 am - they are very strict on this. We arrived at 10:30 and were told that we could not do the full walk (i.e. from the parking lot) and instead had to drive to the base of the mountain to do the hike. Recommend you show up no later than 9 am if you want to hike the full trail + mountain! The mountain itself was a good hike; moderate grade for the first 80% or so, then turned into a lot of climbing/scrambling over rocks and trees. It really goes fairly steep towards the end, but there are lots of handholds on the rocks, and a number of tree branches so it's quite doable. In keeping with previous posts, really do recommend real footwear (not sandals) and bringing at least 1 L of water per person. The trail is fairly shaded, which does keep it a bit cooler, and is appreciated. The view from the top was incredible; you can see the ocean on both sides of the island. Bit tricky coming down, but all in all, totally worth it and a great hike. Depending on your pace, doing the mountain component only will take between 1.5-2.5 hours (they suggest 2). If you enjoy a good hike, make sure you rent a car and make your way to Christoffel Park!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great Outdoor Scenery and Adventure”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2014

My wife and I recently climbed Mount Christoffel and found it a fun challenge and a great workout.

We went to the Christoffel Museum to buy the token that you need to drive into the park. You cross the road from the Museum and insert your coins into a dispenser that opens the park gate. It's a 10-15 min drive to the parking area where the trail starts. Roads are a bit steep in spots so you're not driving very fast.

Once parked we set out on the trail which gradually get stepper and more challenging. You don't need any climbing equipment however good hiking boots help. Water is a must, as it's physically work and it's hot, especially if you climb later in the day.

There is lots of wildlife and plants to view on your journey, take your time and as many rests as you need. The path was pretty busy the day we climbed (Sunday) so you have to stand at the side of the trail to let people pass by as it's a narrow path.

Once at the top the views are breathtaking, and well worth your efforts. Depending on your age and physical condition, the walk down is also hard on the knees, so make sure you save a bit of energy for the decent.

Enjoy the climb !

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jeff G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willemstad, Curacao
Level Contributor
91 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“challenging climb, great view”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2014

the climb itself is though; depending if you start on the closer car park the return will take around 2.5-3 hours, and when starting from the car park at the visitor center it will take around 3.5-4 hours. The climb itself is difficult, so take lots of water (at least 1 liter per person), good walking shoes and preferably long trousers (as one has to climb over rocks at the end). the last part of the climb is the most challenging, however the view from the top is very rewarding.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Servaas H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mount Christoffel also viewed

Willemstad, Curacao
Willemstad, Curacao
 

Been to Mount Christoffel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing