We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Remember to check your Nitrox” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ocean Encounters Diving

Ocean Encounters Diving
Book In Advance
More Info
$74.98*
and up
Snorkel with Stingrays and Feed the Sharks at Curacao Sea Aquarium
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Welcome to Your One Stop Shop to SCUBA dive, boat dive trips, snorkel boat trips, and sail all of Curacao. Ocean Encounters Diving Curacao - a Five Star PADI IDC Dive Center. ONE LIFE...DIVE IT!!!! Let us take you on a wonderful ADVENTURE on one of our beautiful and well maintained CUSTOM DIVE BOATS. Snorkel, SCUBA dive, swim, sail, with Ocean Encounters. Ocean Encounters has all the quality equipment and supplies you need to help you get the most out of your CURACAO vacation. Visit our WELL-STOCKED Shops. Take a PADI SCUBA diving course at one of our Dive Schools. We are one of the few dive schools who teach you to use DIVE COMPUTERS during your SCUBA course. Our RENTAL EQUIPMENT is high quality, replaced every 18 months. All our regulators have integrated computers!! Come and Dive with us at OCEAN ENCOUNTERS DIVING CURACAO!!!
Useful Information: Lockers / storage
Horsens, Denmark
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Remember to check your Nitrox”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2013

We stayed at Lions Dive and Beach Resort for 8 days, and was using the Ocenan Encounters diving center located right next to the resort. We brought our own gear, and just rented tanks and weights. The staff is very friendly. We're all using DIN, and only some of the Nitrox tanks at the dive center had DIN. Because of this there were not enough Nitrox tanks at the dive center, so we had to dive on normal air some of the time. Even worse was when ordering 30% Nitrox we would get different mix - ranging from 30% to 34%, We all know you should always check the Nitrox yourself, and this is the reason why. You can not be sure, that the Nitrox has the content you expect.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank ThomasPetersen8700
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

750 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    534
    137
    40
    15
    24
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Great Dive shop”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2013

I've dived all over the world with tons of different operators. They run a nice outfit that is efficient. The dive guides were excellent and I felt sorry for them having to pick people off of the reef. I think people should have to pass basic buoyancy control before getting a PADI card. They were very understanding about refunding us when my wife didn't feel well one day and also when the hotel staff didn't show up on time for our babysitter. Even though the boats can be crowded with people, the boat is big enough that it doesn't feel overwhelming and they divide the groups up so it's reasonable and let you do your own thing. The boat is fast and stable, plus they do the surface interval either at the shop or cove where it's protected. I got 60 minutes of bottom time routinely by going in first and coming out last while the more air hungry went in. I would highly recommend them. It isn't as flexible as doing shore diving on your own with a rental car or a smaller operator but there are nice advantages being picked up at your hotel dock and jumping in without lugging your equipment from the car to the shore and struggling to find parking.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank LWFPS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
1 review
“Great staff & great installations”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2013

I enjoyed a lot diving with them !!!
All their suggestions and tips as well as all the dives sites where awesome.

Lisa; Thank you so much for drawing a daily smile and enroling me daily even though my carelessness ... ;-)

Flor; Keep so sparkling !!! Besides the experience that's a must to became the great DiveMaster you'll be.

Lion Fish Dive was great.
Knowing about that matter is a moral requirement and erradication assistance it's a must.
Great idea guys !!!


Bernat Giral

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Pepe P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Diving with Ocean Encounter in Curacao”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2013

The staff of Diving encounter in Curacao (specialy Sunscape resort and lion dive resort) are the best. they took us diving around Curacao, Mushroom Forest, Porto Mari ,the blue room and also the catamaran excursion to Klein Curacao all booked thru Ocean encounters (feeding sharks and sting rays) all of this in our vacation in curacao rates are very good, people are nice and a blast to dive with thank you to all from Ocean Encounter cant wait to dive with all of you again in the near future I hope

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Shirley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
upstate ny
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Choose this dive operator”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2013

Just got back from an amazing week in Curacao, diving with Ocean Encounters. Our group of 10 divers had an excellent experience. This dive operator rates as perhaps the best one we've encountered as we dive our way around the Caribbean. All the staff, from the equipment and repair centers, to the dive shop, and especially to the dive boat crew, were professional, accommodating, friendly and super-knowledgeable. Capt. Adriaan, dive masters George and Pol (who we dove with all week), along with Alex and Julianna, all are top-drawer. They were attentive to each diver and led consistently great dive profiles all week. I can't say enough good stuff about these people. Do yourself a favor and dive with them. Maybe you'll get lucky and Pol will find a tiny Frogfish for you to photograph.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank upstatenygary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
baporkibra, Owner at Ocean Encounters Diving, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Thank you for your review!
We are glad you had such a good time diving with us. Keeping our divers safe while having fun is our priority.
Hope to see you soon and maybe we will find another mini frog fish for your dive albums.
With best regards,
The Dive Team at Ocean Encounters
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ocean Encounters Diving also viewed

Willemstad, Curacao
Sabana Westpunt, Curacao
 

Been to Ocean Encounters Diving? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing