We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (278)
Filter reviews
278 results
Traveler rating
90
112
50
19
7
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
90
112
50
19
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sister hotel floating bridge eco pool village style antique furniture biting insects beautiful hotel free shuttle deep cleaning hotel rooms are quiet at night maintenance issues breakfast staff queen emma rooms are nice on premises renting a car
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 278 reviews
Reviewed May 13, 2019

I would recommend to anyone considering staying here that they read the story of the transformation of this property by Jacob Gelt Dekker. He transformed a slum into an interesting and unique place. The hotel is made up of 60 some odd old buildings (200+ years old) to resemble a small, late 18th century village. The cobblestone alleyways, courtyards, pools, and statues make it seem like a time warp. It is in the bustling city and yet it seems removed from the outside world. On Saturday morning, we walked out of the entrance and smack into a street market...The location of this property is excellent within walking distance of everything of note in Willemstad. One thing to remember, these buildings are old and you are in the Caribbean...things may not work (the staff is very prompt in addressing any issues) and the pace is slow. If when on vacation away from the US, you find yourself saying "this isn't how we do it at home" this might not be the place for you.

Room tip: no elevators for 2nd story rooms, but first floor rooms may not have as good internet service. The internet in the courtyard was fine.
Date of stay: April 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank George S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yoycegoilomendez, Manager at Kura Hulanda Village & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 24, 2019

Dear George,

Thank you for your valuable review! We 're so happy that you did enjoy your trip.

Hope to welcome you soon again at our Kura Hulada Village & Spa.

Warm regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2019 via mobile

The property is nice but you can see the age and the room was very moldy and I got a cold staying in that room.
No hot water either.
Breakfast was included in the rate it was just bread, egg and a muffin with tea or coffee.
But the people working try their best to give a good service.

Date of stay: December 2018
Trip type: Traveled solo
Thank Mvacat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yoycegoilomendez, Director of Sales at Kura Hulanda Village & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 25, 2019

Dear guest, thanks you very much for your review we want to clarify our options at the buffet. Everyday we offer a breakfast buffet with the following items: Orange juice,Coffee, tea, herbal tea, milk and hot chocolate
Three kinds of cereals and oatmeal as well.
White bread, whole wheat bread, bagels and plain butter croissants.
Scramble eggs, Hard boiled eggs and poached eggs
Sausage, Hash brown potato, pancakes.
Specialty of the Chef
Cream cheese, peanut butter and Assortment of jams
Yogurt, almond, fruits, shredded coconut to make a parfait.
Tuna Salad and Crab Salad.
Fresh fruit including bananas, papaya, pineapples and apples.
Cold cuts, Cheeses and Smoked Salmon.
We offer omelette options too.
We work hard to deliver an exceptional guest experience.
Regards,
Yoyce Goilo Mendez

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2019

Customer service is really good, people who work there are very very attentive and always looking for ways to help you!
The hotel is very nice and big, you feel like you are walking in a small old style town, with statues and very nice art decorations. My room was about 5-7 min walk from where you can park the car. I didn't like that the floor is made out of small rocks, so carrying the bags could be difficult because you can't roll them. The room had a very small, old-dated tv (most of the time it didn't work), other than that the room was nice, clean, towels smell sooooo good, and they clean and organized the room daily! The whole "little town" hotel had wifi, it was awesome! I didn't use the pool but it looked clean at all times.
Breakfast is a buffet with a lot of options, different types of bread (slides, croissant, pancakes, etc), butter, peanut butter, cream cheese, jam, honey. Eggs (scramble, poche, boiled), bacon, ham, cheese, fruit, yogurt, cereal, salads (tuna salad), orange juice, coffee, chocolate, milk, parfait.
The location of the hotel is great, you are 5 min walking distance to the floating bridge, and fort.

Date of stay: April 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Viviana_8891
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yoycegoilomendez, Manager at Kura Hulanda Village & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2019

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your feedback regarding your stay!
Also, thank you for the kind words regarding the breakfast. We are continually trying to improve the variety and quality of food items that we offer.

Thank you for staying at the Kura Hulanda Village & Spa and we hope that you will consider us for your next trip!

Warm regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2019 via mobile

My family and I stayed here for a week. Its location it’s great, I dont think youre going to find a better one and is so beautiful because it keeps the old curacao town colors and arquitecture. The rooms are a little bit old but they are clean.
Next to the hotel is the Kura Hulanda museum, small but worth visiting to learn more about slavery history. If this hotel get its rooms renewed, I think it can be the best one in downtown Willemstad. We rented a car and visited a lot of beaches and at night, we walked through Emmas Bridge to have dinner or an ice cream. If youre not the resort type of guest and like to go out and get to know around, this is a good option.

Date of stay: April 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank Giovanna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yoycegoilomendez, Manager at Kura Hulanda Village & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2019

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review.
We are happy to hear that you had a great time.

We are looking forward to see you again.

Warm regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2019

One of the most unusual hotels we’ve stayed in during our travels. The hotel is indeed an old village situated in the Otrobanda area of Willemstad. Given how close it is to the main tourist area of the city it is amazingly quiet. The whole place felt a bit like a film set awaiting the arrival of the crew and reminded us of Port Meirion in north Wales. It is stuffed with interesting art work and sculptures.
Our accommodation for our three-night stay was in a huge property with a lounge, the bed on a mezzanine level and a bathroom that was enormous. (Sadly the giant Jacuzzi wasn’t working!).
The breakfast included in the hotel rate was a buffet with a range of items but with a surprisingly limited range fresh fruit.
Unfortunately, there were biting insects around the property and we both came away with multiple bites despite being smothered in insect repellent. I suppose we should have been alerted by the iguanas that ‘guard’ the waterfall swimming pool – they must eat something!. I’m not sure if the hotel sprays for mossies, but if they do, it’s not working well enough.
One other concern was some particularly dodgy look electrics in our property. Our advice would be not to leave anything plugged in when not in the room.
Overall, we enjoyed our stay at the hotel and would return. It’s quirky and quiet. We hope the management will continue to update facilities.
TOP TIPS Make sure you explore the property, there are all sorts if interesting nooks and crannies with loads of interesting sculptures and murals
You really should visit the museum contained within the village. A fabulous exhibit about slavery and African culture. US $10 entrance (no reduction for hotel guests).

Date of stay: February 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Travlintone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yoycegoilomendez, Manager at Kura Hulanda Village & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2019

Dear guest,

Thank you for sharing your feedback regarding your stay!

Thank you for staying at Kura Hulanda Village and Spa, we hope that you will consider us for your next trip!

Warm regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews