We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice and inexpensive”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Clarion Hotel & Suites Curacao
Ranked #27 of 32 Hotels in Willemstad
Reviewed January 12, 2012

Nice and quite. I stayed in the new wing of the hotel which wasn't that well occupied so that's why it was so quite. The only complaints I had was the bathroom and the bed. The shower would flood the floor if you wasn't careful, the way the tub/ shower was constructed made it easy for the water to run on the floor. There was also traces of hair on the bathroom floor from previous guest (yuck). The beds where very low to the floor because there where no box-springs or frames. I tried to get on the internet but the told me it was down. I had lunch at the hotel cafe which was pretty good with there brink oven pizza.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the ocean!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mrgeemoney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (106)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

33 - 39 of 106 reviews

Reviewed January 4, 2012

The moldy smell is strong and there is no water pressure in the showers. The rooms are clean, the beds are small, but overall you get what you pay for.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ulik3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2012

“Welcome to the 4th World.”
I work for the cruise lines, they put me here I have no choice, but you DO!
Here’s the positive; the restaurant is real good. I found the front desk staff to be nice but it’s like they’re representing the “1962 Mets”, so where do you go after that?
Here’s the rest; the mattress, horrible, springs digging into you. They should consider upgrading to nails if they’re going to torture the guests, do it right.
Internet; only by the front desk and you sit on hard, hard chairs. (Again the “nail option” should be considered here too.)
The maids, while good at their job, are staging a “Bat Mitzvah” in the hallway while you’re trying to sleep, then the maintenance guys come by to give their opinions, it DOESN’T STOP!
Finally the water, I was already paranoid before I checked in after reading that there is no hot water. It was ok not horrible, maybe 103 degrees.
In summation; bad bed, bad Internet, bad manners. Avoid this place!

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank brucevodka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2011

We had a 24 hour layover in Curacao. I chose the Clarion because it had a good rate. The hotel was fine, though the room was a bit worn. It was clean and the beds were very good. The bar had a nice wood burning pizza oven and the pizza was great! Our only serious complaint was that there was absolutely no hot water to take a shower. I have traveled extensively in the tropics and know that you have to sometime let the water run for quite a while before it gets hot. Our shower never did.

The view from our room was nice: if you looked to the right we had a great sea view. Unfortunately, to the left there is a large factory, though it is fairly far away and didn't bother me. The grounds are nice. We didn't use the pool, but it looked good. There was a hot breakfast, which was quite nice. If it hadn't been for the cold shower, I would give a higher rating.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sngcanary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
guillermo o, Director of Sales at Clarion Hotel & Suites Curacao, responded to this reviewResponded November 21, 2011

Dear guest.

thanks for your comments, we will consider your valuable opinion.
we are currently optimizing the service hot water in the showers
hope you visit us again

thank you for choosing the clarion hotel & suites curacao

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2011

my staying was comfortable the rooms it's ok.
and all foods in the restaurant are delicious all pizzas.
general the hotel is very nice!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank victor m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2011

we are local people here on curacao and we stay 1 night there , they don't work with reservation , they obligate me o give them my i.d for warranty ( i don't know for what is the first hotel that do that) and the front desk service was useless they dont have a smile and they dont help you for me they need to upgrade their old system that they r working with :(

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Brandico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
guillermo o, Director of Sales at Clarion Hotel & Suites Curacao, responded to this reviewResponded October 12, 2011

good afternoon Mr. Brandico

Thanks for your comment, and so we can continue improving our services. respond to your request our staff always request the id when a check in the copy appended to the file room.
thank you for choosing clarion hotel & suites curacao.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2011

What one can imagine bad about hotel can be found in this hotel: dirty bed sheets, mold in the bathroom, leaking air conditioners with water dripping just on to the floor in the middle of the night. And the most disgusting was the smell. The smell mold was unbearable. Shower water is cold, internet is horrible. The only good was hotel restaurant’s food.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ClarionSurvivor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Willemstad hotels
1.8 mi away
Bayside Boutique Hotel
Bayside Boutique Hotel
#20 of 32 in Willemstad
72 reviews
1.3 mi away
Holiday Beach Hotel and Casino
2.0 mi away
Curacao Suites Hotel
Curacao Suites Hotel
#7 of 32 in Willemstad
203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Floris Suite Hotel - Spa & Beach Club
2.3 mi away
San Marco Hotel and Casino
San Marco Hotel and Casino
#24 of 32 in Willemstad
224 reviews
2.1 mi away
Otrobanda Hotel and Casino
Otrobanda Hotel and Casino
#23 of 32 in Willemstad
99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Hotel & Suites Curacao? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Hotel & Suites Curacao

Address: World Trade Center Piscadera Bay z/n, Willemstad 6199, Curacao
Location: Caribbean > Curacao > Willemstad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 32 Hotels in Willemstad
Price Range: $106 - $265 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Clarion Hotel & Suites Curacao 3*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
CLARION HOTEL & SUITES CURACAO is located at the world trade center curacao complex in the beach area, equiped with 17 meeting rooms, ballrooms, auditorium and exhibition hall, everything your need for vacation or business. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Clarion Hotel & Suites Curacao reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Hotel And Suites Curacao
Willemstad Clarion
Clarion Hotel Curacao
Clarion Willemstad
Clarion Hotel & Suites Curacao Willemstad

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing